Skip to Main Content

Business Research Guide

Finance Research: Introduction

This guide was prepared by the Business subject specialist for the Dalhousie community. These resources have been selected as excellent starting points for academic research in Finance. For further research assistance, please contact Dr. Joyline Makani

Page Contents:

  1. Core Journals in Finance

  2. Dictionaries/Encyclopedias/Handbooks

  3. Searching for Articles or investment reports

  4. Stocks/Equities data

  5. Company Financials

  6. Bonds

  7. Mutual Fund data

  8. Futures data

  9. Options data

  10. Exchange Rates

  11. Interest rates

Related Guides: Finance, Company Research, Industry Research, Statistics & Data

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Searching for articles or investment reports

To retrieve the best results think about what your key words are before searching the following databases, e.g. Derivatives AND "Securities markets"

Stocks/Equities data

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Offers real-time trading data, detailed historical data, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds,commodities, and other major markets all in one place.

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

From Refinitiv, provides access to significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bond, futures, options, and economic data. The Excel add-on allows researchers to download data on multiple securities simultaneously. Also provides access to ASSET4 ESG data which includes 500 metrics on more than 4,700 global companies covering environmental, social, and governance factors.

  • Eikon

From Refinitiv, provides access to extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates.  (Access Details: Single-User license. Available only on campus on specific PCs in the Killam North Learning Commons and Rowe).

Company Financials

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Offers real-time trading data, detailed historical data, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds,commodities, and other major markets all in one place.

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

Provides access to significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bond, futures, options, and economic data. The Excel add-on allows researchers to download data on multiple securities simultaneously. Also provides access to ASSET4 ESG data which includes 500 metrics on more than 4,700 global companies covering environmental, social, and governance factors.

  • Eikon

From Refinitiv, provides access to extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates.  (Access Details: Single-User license. Available only on campus on specific PCs in the Killam North Learning Commons and Rowe).

Bonds

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Offers real-time trading data, detailed historical data, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, for stocks, bonds,commodities, and other major markets all in one place. Hint: For quick access use the GOVT or CORP yellow keys and for yield curves, type FMCI, then hit GO

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

Provides access to significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bonds & convertibles, futures, options, and economic data.To access bond yields (Yield - To Redemption), use the datatype code RY.

  • Eikon

From Refinitiv, provides access to extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates.  (Access Details: Single-User license. Available only on campus on specific PCs in the Killam North Learning Commons and Rowe).

Mutual Fund data

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Offers real-time trading data, detailed historical data, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds,commodities, and other major markets all in one place.

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

Provides access to price data (Net Asset Value) for open-end mutual funds. Closed-end mutual funds are treated as regular stocks.

Futures data

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Hit the yellow CMDTY button. The commodity sector includes all exchange listed futures and options contracts of underlying financial and physical products. You can also search for specific commodity market functions if you know the commodity’s code: e.g. GCA <CMDTY> <GO> to find information on Gold Futures. Extremely limited downloading capabilities.

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

Provides access to up to date as well as historical international data on futures. Currently has futures data from the following countries: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Russia, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK, and the United States.

  • Eikon

From Refinitiv, provides access to extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates.  (Access Details: Single-User license. Available only on campus on specific PCs in the Killam North Learning Commons and Rowe).

Options data

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Historical international data on options. Frequency varies. Intradaily data is typically kept 30 to 90 days only.

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

Select options data from the following countries and exchanges: Austria (OTOB), France (MATIF, Euronext.liffe), Germany (EUREX), Netherlands (Euronext.liffe), Switzerland (EUREX), U.K. (Euronext.liffe), and United States (AMEX, CBOE, CBOT, CME & PHLX).

Exchange Rates

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Offers real-time trading data, detailed historical data, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds,commodities, and other major markets all in one place.

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

Provides access to significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bond, futures, options, and economic data. The Excel add-on allows researchers to download data on multiple securities simultaneously. Also provides access to ASSET4 ESG data which includes 500 metrics on more than 4,700 global companies covering environmental, social, and governance factors.

Interest Rates

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Offers real-time trading data, detailed historical data, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds,commodities, and other major markets all in one place.

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

Provides access to significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bond, futures, options, and economic data. The Excel add-on allows researchers to download data on multiple securities simultaneously. Also provides access to ASSET4 ESG data which includes 500 metrics on more than 4,700 global companies covering environmental, social, and governance factors.

Commodities data

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)
Hit <CMDTY> <GO>  to display a list of submenus for commodity market functions. You can also search for the contract table menu by typing CTM and then pressing <GO> and this will give you access to multiple commodities by section.
 
  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

Provides daily, monthly and annual commodity prices data. Great downloading capabilities.

 

Major Finance Data Sources

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Offers real-time trading data, detailed historical data, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds,commodities, and other major markets all in one place.

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

From Refinitiv, provides access to significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bond, futures, options, and economic data. The Excel add-on allows researchers to download data on multiple securities simultaneously. Also provides access to ASSET4 ESG data which includes 500 metrics on more than 4,700 global companies covering environmental, social, and governance factors.

  • Eikon

From Refinitiv, provides access to extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates.  (Access Details: Single-User license. Available only on campus on specific PCs in the Killam North Learning Commons and Rowe).