LibGuides: Business Research Guide: Innovation Management &amp; Entrepreneurship

Innovation Management & Entrepreneurship Research: Introduction

This guide was prepared by the Business subject specialist for the Dalhousie community doing research covering entrepreneurship, new venture creation and innovation management. Included are the most useful resources the Dal libraries have to offer covering: Getting started, Competitive Intelligence Gathering, Industry Analysis, Market research statistics & data, Finding Patents, Sample business plans, Marketing & Advertising. For further research assistance, please contact Dr. Joyline Makani

Getting started

Selected e-books to get you on the way to a successful start-up

The Startup Owner's Manual : the Step-By-Step Guide for Building a Great Company
A step-by-step how-to guide that details a process for building a successful, profitable, scalable startup.
Disciplined entrepreneurship : 24 steps to a successful startup. Summary
A summary of ideas from the book "Disciplined Entrepreneurship: 24 Steps to a Successful Startup" which provides comprehensive framework for entrepreneurs to develop and execute their business planning.
DISCIPLINED ENTREPRENEURSHIP WORKBOOK
Provides a practical manual for working the 24-step framework presented in Disciplined Entrepreneurship book

Competitive Intelligence

The following listed resources provide information that will help you understand your competitors, including an analysis of the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats (SWOT) of your biggest competitors.

MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Click on Companies to access in-depth global company profiles, including a SWOT analysis for the company. To generate fresh custom company reports featuring analytical text and charts which draw on MarketLine's company datasets, click on Company Report Generator under Databases.
Mergent online This link opens in a new window
Access to good in-depth company histories and financial statements going back 15 years. You can use NAICs codes to generate a comparative list of companies within an industry.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Use the Company/Markets Search function to access pertinent information about a company and its competitors. For quick retrieval of a list of your company's competitors, enter company name or symbol into the search box and select Peer Comparison from the menu on the left.

NexisUni: Company Info
Search for business information about specific companies, e.g., search for financial information, analyst reports, mergers and acquisitions, SEC filings.
Using the "Guided Search" choose "Company Info" in the What are you interested in? box, type company name in the "Search in all Company Information for" box, choose the part of a company profile you are most interested in viewing from the "...and show me" drop-down list, and then. click Search.
Bloomberg
Provides financial, economic and government information covering all market sectors. Offers real-time trading data, company financials, market data spanning more than 20 years, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds, commodities, and other major markets all in one place.

NOTE: At Dalhousie we have access to 12 Bloomberg Terminals. One terminal is located in the Killam Library, North Learning Commons. Ten terminals are located in the Risk Lab on the 2nd floor of the Rowe Building. Additional terminals are located in the 4th floor computer lab in the Rowe Building — you can’t miss their distinctive keyboards! Bloomberg is available to Dalhousie University faculty, staff, and students only. You must create log in credentials and a cell phone number will be necessary to authenticate a new user.

To access company information Type [ticker], hit EQUITY, and hit GO to browse main menu OR type a shortcut to go directly to specific information (e.g. ANR for analyst recommendations, BQ for equity summary and Bloomberg quote providing overview of key price data, fundamentals, and news on selected equity; and FA for financial analysis).
more...less...
To access company information Type [ticker], hit EQUITY, and hit GO to browse main menu OR type a shortcut to go directly to specific information (e.g. ANR for analyst recommendations, BQ for equity summary and Bloomberg quote providing overview of key price data, fundamentals, and news on selected equity; and FA for financial analysis). (Bloomberg is only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, JJ Stewart Room and Rowe)

Industry Analysis

For your business plan you are required to provide an analysis of your new venture's industry. Below are some of the resources that will help you with profiling your industry.

MarketLine Advantage: Industries
Type a keyword and select "Industry Profiles" from the drop-down menu OR explore using "Browse by Sector" to refine content by 19 core sectors.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to industry reports provided by Aroq Ltd. covering industry-specific business information, insight and intelligence for executives in the global automotive, food, beverage and apparel sectors. You can also access GlobalData industry forecast and sector reports In ABI.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Industry profiles by providers such as Marketline and BMI. Search by NAICS and Document Type: Industry Overview
Factiva This link opens in a new window
To quickly retrieve an Industry Snapshot, click on Companies/Markets > Industry. Select from Industry list.

Industry sector intelligence: Government of Canada
Statistics, market intelligence and business resources for each industry sector.
Industry Profiles : European Union
Provided by the Enterprise Directorate General of the European Union
Bloomberg
Provides financial, economic and government information covering all market sectors. Offers real-time trading data, company financials, market data spanning more than 20 years, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds, commodities, and other major markets all in one place.

NOTE: At Dalhousie we have access to 12 Bloomberg Terminals. One terminal is located in the Killam Library, North Learning Commons. Ten terminals are located in the Risk Lab on the 2nd floor of the Rowe Building. Additional terminals are located in the 4th floor computer lab in the Rowe Building — you can’t miss their distinctive keyboards! Bloomberg is available to Dalhousie University faculty, staff, and students only. You must create log in credentials and a cell phone number will be necessary to authenticate a new user.

To access industry overviews and analysis type BI (for Bloomberg Industries) and hit GO. Find a list of industries covered on the left.

Canadian Market Research: Statistics and data

The following listed resources provide information and data for the local, provincial, and national business and consumer markets .

Market Share Reporter
A compilation of domestic and international market share reports and data. Coverage includes includes both private and public sector activities. Entries are arranged under both SIC and NAICS codes, corporate, brand, product, service, and commodity market shares.
Canadian Industry Statistics: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Canadian Industry Statistics (CIS) analyses industry data on many economic indicators using the most recent data from Statistics Canada.
CANSIM - public site
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.
Statistics Canada
Provides timely access to Canadian Statistics, including Census and CANSIM data.
Statistics Canada: Profile of Canadian Communities
Presents information from the 2011 Census of Population for various levels of geography, including provinces and territories, census metropolitan areas, communities, census tracts and health regions. Users can search for an area of interest by typing its 'place name' or by browsing a list, by entering a postal code or a geographic code.
Population projections for Canada, provinces and territories
Presents the results of six population projection scenarios by age group and sex up to 2063.
Census Profiles
Business performance and ownership statistics: Statistics Canada
Latest information on Business performance and ownership in Canada
Canadian National Polling data - Ipsos
Provided for free by Wilfrid Laurier University, in collaboration with the Ontario Council of University Libraries (OCUL), nationally significant polling data, donated by market research firm Ipsos Canada. The data includes the Canadian Corporate Reputation Monitor I-Rep series data covering brand reputation, consumer preferences and market data.
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada - Statistics
Includes demographic projections, fact sheets, population by gender and residence.
MarketLine Advantage: Industries
Type a keyword and select "Industry Profiles" from the drop-down menu OR explore using "Browse by Sector" to refine content by 19 core sectors
MarketLine Advantage: City Statistics
Click on "Browse by database", then City Statistics to access and compare the world’s most important cities data. Features comprehensive data and forecasts of key socio and macroeconomic indicators for more than 1950 cities, spread across Asia-Pacific, Europe, Middle East & Africa, North America, and South & Central America.
MarketLine Advantage: Country Statistics
Click on "Browse by database", then Country Statistics to conduct quick and easy comparative analysis of macroeconomic and industry drivers for over 200 countries. Features comprehensive data and forecasts including detailed coverage of consumer demographics, incomes, and expenditures.
MarketLine: Country Outlook and Global Risk Reports
Click on "Browse by Content Type" then under the Geography click on "Country Outlook and Global Risk Reports" to access reports assessing current trends and risks facing all major global economies.
NexisUni: Country Info
Using the "Guided Search" click on "Country Info", select your country from the drop down menu then from the "Choose Source" drop down menu select either "Country Risk Overview" or "Political Risk Overview" or "Economic Overview" and hit "Search"
EIU Viewpoint: The Economist Intelligence Unit
Combines expert political insights, policy analysis and economic assessments with cutting edge forecasts and extensive data. Included are forecasts for countries and the global economy, political and economic analysis, industry analysis and data, commodity forecasts, macro-economic indicators database and Proprietary ratings (measuring the attractiveness of the business environment).
RBC Economics Research
Provides analysis and forecasts of the Canadian economy and financial markets. Also included are the indicators for the United States and key international markets.

Market Research: International

The following listed resources provide an excellent starting point for conducting both business and consumer market research for the international markets.

Market Share Reporter
A compilation of domestic and international market share reports and data. Coverage includes includes both private and public sector activities. Entries are arranged under both SIC and NAICS codes, corporate, brand, product, service, and commodity market shares.
MarketLine Advantage: Country Statistics
Click on "Browse by database", then Country Statistics to conduct quick and easy comparative analysis of macroeconomic and industry drivers for over 200 countries. Features comprehensive data and forecasts including detailed coverage of consumer demographics, incomes, and expenditures.
MarketLine Advantage: Industries
Type a keyword and select "Industry Profiles" from the drop-down menu OR explore using "Browse by Sector" to refine content by 19 core sectors
MarketLine Advantage: City Statistics
Click on "Browse by database", then City Statistics to access and compare the world’s most important cities data. Features comprehensive data and forecasts of key socio and macroeconomic indicators for more than 1950 cities, spread across Asia-Pacific, Europe, Middle East & Africa, North America, and South & Central America.
MarketLine Advantage: Consumer Data Analytics
Click "Browse by database" for comprehensive data across a number of key industries. The Consumer Data Analytics tool is divided into separate ‘Dashboards’. Each Dashboard can be accessed by clicking the down arrow at the top left of the screen. This brings up a drop down menu listing each Dashboard.
MarketLine: Country Outlook and Global Risk Reports
Click on "Browse by Content Type" then under the Geography click on "Country Outlook and Global Risk Reports" to access reports assessing current trends and risks facing all major global economies.

Country Reports: EIU The Economist Intelligence Unit This link opens in a new window
Combines expert political insights, policy analysis and economic assessments with cutting edge forecasts and extensive data. Included are forecasts for countries and the global economy, political and economic analysis, industry analysis and data, commodity forecasts, macro-economic indicators database and Proprietary ratings (measuring the attractiveness of the business environment).
Country Commerce: EIU The Economist Intelligence Unit This link opens in a new window
Combines expert political insights, policy analysis and economic assessments with cutting edge forecasts and extensive data. Included are forecasts for countries and the global economy, political and economic analysis, industry analysis and data, commodity forecasts, macro-economic indicators database and Proprietary ratings (measuring the attractiveness of the business environment).

NexisUni: Country Info
Using the "Guided Search" click on "Country Info", select your country from the drop down menu then from the "Choose Source" drop down menu select either "Country Risk Overview" or "Political Risk Overview" or "Economic Overview" and hit "Search"
World Bank Data Site
Country demographic information at the national level. Provides access to the World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), Africa Development Indicators (ADI), Education Statistics (EdStats), Gender Statistics (GenderStats), Health Nutrition & Population Statistics (HNP) and Global Economic Monitor (GEM) databases.
Business and Industry statistics: US Census Bureau
From the US Census Bureau
U.S. Census Bureau
Demographic characteristics, total population, and social and economic census data for the U.S. and international locations. Useful in determining market size.

Ratios/Benchmarking Tools

Use the following resources to find out how your business measures up to others within your industry.

Financial Performance Data
Provides access to more than 1000 industries across Canada, including more than 30 performance benchmarks to help small businesses determine how they measure up to their competitors. Reports feature the number of businesses in the selected industry, statistics for profitable and non-profitable small and medium-sized businesses that includes net profits and net losses, and detailed financial data on revenues and expenses, industry average's for income statements and balance sheet items as well as financial ratios.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Use the Companies & Markets tab, click on the industry name and then “Peer Comparison” to get companies' ratios compared to industry averages.

Finding Patents

Links to useful resources are included below to help get you started with your search for patents.

Canadian Patents Database This link opens in a new window
Provides Canadian patent records from 1869 and full text documents from 1920 to the present.

Google Patents
Provides access to U.S. patents in pdf format from 1790 to the present and European Patent Office (EPO) patents from 1978 to the present.
PatentScope ((WIPO)
Provides access to iInternational patent applications from 1978 to the present.
Espacenet
Provides free access to more than 80 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO): patent database

Marketing Plan: Advertising Expenditures, Rates, etc.

CARD (Canadian Advertising Rates & Data)
Advertising Age
The leading publication of the advertising industry. Excellent coverage of current events and trends. Includes a number of useful special features, such as "Top 100 National Advertisers," "Top 100 Megabrands," "Hot Media Markets: Local Market Rankings," a
MEDIAMARK (MRI+).
Registration required but free.
AD ACCESS
From Duke University, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Search for company name or brand name AND Advertising expenditures AND Statistical data to get articles articles on expenditure rankings by brands or companies.

Publication Profiles (Print)
Available in print in the Killam Library at call number REF HF 5808 C2 C32.
Supplement to CARD
National List of Advertisers (Print)
Available in print in the Killam library at call # REF HF 5808 C2 N3

Sample Business Plans

Guide to Preparing a Business and Marketing Plan : Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA)
Provides information on how to prepare business plans or marketing plans.
Checklists and guides for starting a business: Govt. of Canada
Access guides and checklists for starting different types of businesses.
US Small Business Administration:Writing a Business Plan
MootCorp Business Plan Examples
Access to some of the best business plans submitted to the University of Texas at Austin's MootCorp competition.

SMEs, Entrepreneurship & Innovation: Selected Links

SME Research and Statistics: Government of Canada Access to small and medium enterprises statistics, research reports and more provided by the Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada .
Canada Business Network From the Government of Canada, provides access to up-to-date and relevant information for starting and growing a business.
Starting a business | Access Nova Scotia | Government of NS Information on how to to register your business, obtain licences and permits or start paying taxes...
Canadian Federation of Independent Business (CFIB) Includes news, new rulings, research reports, and items of interest on the Canadian entrepreneurship ecosystem.
Stanford eCorner As the entrepreneurship center in Stanford's School of Engineering, the Stanford Technology Ventures Program (STVP) delivers courses and extracurricular programs to Stanford students, creates scholarly research on high-impact technology ventures, and produces a large and growing collection of online content and experiences for people around the world.
Global Entrepreneurship Monitor A joint project between Babson College (USA) & London Business School (UK) that started in 1999 with the aim "to consider why some countries are more 'entrepreneurial' than others". Provides access to global, national and 'special topic' reports and data on entrepreneurial activity in many countries.

Business Research Guide

Quick links to business news

Entrepreneurship & Innovation Books

Need Help