LibGuides: Data and Statistics: Geospatial Data

Click on a geography to jump to the right section of the page.

Canada	World	Nova Scotia
Alberta	British Columbia	Manitoba
New Brunswick	Newfoundland	Ontario
Prince Edward Island	Québec	Saskatchewan
Yukon	Countries	Regions

See also the datasets shared by Dal's GIS Centre.

GIS Centre's Internal Data
Collection of restricted datasets available to the Dalhousie community.

Canada

Health Boundary Files - GIS - Statistics Canada
"Health regions are defined by the provinces and represent administrative areas or regions of interest to health authorities. This product contains correspondence files (linking health regions to latest Census geographic codes) and digital boundary files."
NONNA - GIS - Canadian Hydrographic Service
"the Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS) offers both a complete inventory of bathymetric data free to the public for non-navigational as well as, for the first time, a collection of intensity image data products."
Water Data - Tables of Data - Canadian Hydrographic Service
Hydrometric Statistics Data Search
Bathymetry - GIS and Imagery - Canadian Hydrographic Service
Bathymetric Maps, General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans (GEBCO), Bathymetric Gridded Data
Arctic Mapping Program - Imagery - UNB
Sonar data, bathymetry, backscatter data between 2003 to 2013 for the Arctic, South East Baffin Island, and Beaufort Sea.
Soils Data - GIS - Agriculture and Agri-Foods Canada
National Soil Database (NSDB)
Geospatial Products - GIS - Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Links to the crop inventory, biomass inventory, census of agriculture, spatial density of crops, drought monitor, soil moisture data, plant hardiness zones, land inventory, and Agrimap products.
Climate Data - GIS - Environment and Climate Change Canada and partners
"ClimateData.ca enables Canadians to access, visualize, and analyze climate data, and provides related information and tools to support adaptation planning and decision-making. "
Pollution - Data and KMZ - Environment Canada
National Pollutant Release Inventory
Wind - GIS - Canadian Wind Energy Atlas
Click on "download" to download files, click on "Colour maps" and then in the map to browse tiles. "The Wind Atlas web site makes it possible to download the data files that were obtained from the simulations on the Canadian territory. "
Mines - Data - Clara Dallaire-Fortier
This database provides mine-level estimates for the Canadian mining industry with a persistent annual coverage between 1950 and 2022. (...) The information contained in this database covers 947 mines and provides information about their location (longitude and latitude in decimal), the company ownership, the principal commodities produced, and the years of operation (opening and closing dates).
Canadian Wildland Fire Information System Datamart - GIS and datasets - Natural Resources Canada
Includes fire history data and current conditions data.
Historical National Topographic System - Digitized Maps - Borealis
"This collection provides open access to digitized historical maps at the 1:50,000 scale, covering towns, cities, and rural areas in Canada over the period of 1948 to the early 21st century."
Canadian Geographical Names Database - Official geographical names data - Natural Resources Canada
"Official geographical names data are provided by the federal, provincial and territorial naming authorities of the Geographical Names Board of Canada (GNBC)."

Canadian Portals

Lunaris - Datasets
Canadian research datasets. Search by keyword and then use the map to narrow the search to geospatial datasets that overlap your area of interest.
Geobase - Basemaps
Geobase is now closed but data has been moved to the Open Canada portal. Includes roads, landcover, names, administrative boundaries, imagery.
Topographic Information - GIS and Map Data - Natural Resources Canada
Includes Geospatial Data Extraction, CanVec, National Hydro Network, High Resolution Digital Elevation Models, Canadian Digital Surface Model, and digital topographic raster maps.
CANVEC - GIS - Natural Resources Canada
"CanVec contains more than 60 topographic features classes organized into 8 themes: Transport Features, Administrative Features, Hydro Features, Land Features, Manmade Features, Elevation Features, Resource Management Features and Toponymic Features."
Canadian GIS Data Sources - Datasets - Canadian GIS & Geomatics
National datasets followed by provincial datasets.

To expand your search

To expand your search to Canadian census products, consult the 2021 Census - Maps and Geography section of the census page. You might also want to look at resources listed in this page under World to see if they have Canadian coverage.

Nova Scotia

To expand your search, consult the Maps and Geography box of the Nova Scotia data page.

Enhanced Digital Elevation Model - GIS - Government of Nova Scotia
"This digital product consists of a hydrologically correct 20m Digital Elevation Model for the province of Nova Scotia. (...) The input coverages include: elevation points, irregularly spaced approximately 80 meters; elevation points, representing hydrologic features (streams); open water outlines with elevation values (lakes, coastline); breakline features (cliffs); contour lines - 5 meter where applicable; spot heights - where applicable"
Elevation Explorer - GIS - Nova Scotia DataLocator
"The DataLocator – Elevation Explorer is a mapping application developed to provide an easy way to discover and download LIDAR data from the Province of Nova Scotia."
Geology - GIS - Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources
Downloadable GIS Data: databases, bedrock geology, surficial geology, hydrogeology, geochemistry, geophysics, gold districts, aggregate resources, mineral rights, mineral deposits, shaded relief, provincial scale.
Forestry - GIS - Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources
Forest inventory, wet areas mapping for Nova Scotia, forest cover type PDF map download, hurricane Juan imagery, land capability for forestry, Fernow 1912 forest cover, ecological land classification.
Ecological Land Classification - GIS - Department of Natural Resources
"An Ecological Land Classification (ELC) is a mapping tool that identifies and describes areas of similar enduring physical attributes. It is based on features such as climate, elevation, topography, bedrock formation, and vegetation."
Nova Scotia Groundwater Atlas - Imagery - Government of Nova Scotia
"The Nova Scotia Groundwater Atlas is an interactive map with information on water wells and groundwater resources within the province."
Crown Land Maps - Maps - Department of Natural Resources
Historical ownership maps in PDF format.
Halifax, Dartmouth, and Peggy's Cove Pedestrian Counts
Map and counts of pedestrians by location.
NS Civic Address Finder - GIS - Nova Scotia Government
Documentation and link to the Civic Address finder.

Nova Scotia Portals

GeoNOVA - GIS - Government of Nova Scotia
"GeoNOVA is the Province of Nova Scotia's gateway to geographic information about Nova Scotia."
DataLocator - GIS - Government of Nova Scotia
Geographic data directory, indexing system, elevation explorer, and geographic information products & services.
DataLocator Indexing System - GIS, Imagery, Maps, Datasets - Government of Nova Scotia
"Search for and locate maps, base data and indices at various available scales, and geographic areas around Nova Scotia including aerial photography, orthophotos, as well as topographic mapping at multiple scales."
Open Data Nova Scotia - GIS and Data - Government of Nova Scotia
"Nova Scotia Government's Open Data Portal"
Data Zone - GIS and Datasets - Property Valuation Services Corporation
"Access property and municipal datasets from across Nova Scotia".

Halifax

Halifax Open Data - GIS and Data - Halifax
Halifax's Open Data Portal.

Alberta

Alberta Geological Survey - GIS and Data - Alberta Energy Regulator
"The Alberta Geological Survey (AGS) Open Data Portal features a subset of GIS data related to the geology of the province of Alberta and published by the AGS. The AGS delivers geoscience in several key areas; including surficial mapping, bedrock mapping, geological modelling, resource evaluation (hydrocarbons, minerals), groundwater, and geological hazards."
GeoDiscover Alberta - Misc. Data - Alberta Government
Data Search.

Regional Portals

Open Data County of Grande Prairie - GIS and Data - County of Grande Prairie
The County's Open Data catalogue.

City Portals

Banff Open Data - GIS and Data - Banff
"Here you may download both tabular (CSV) and spatial (KML, zipped shapefiles) datasets. "
Calgary Open Data Catalogue - GIS and Data - City of Calgary
"The Open Data Portal includes datasets from various business units and departments. These data sets are available in multiple file formats and anyone can download the data sets at no charge. "
Edmondon's Open Data Portal - GIS and Data - Edmonton
"The catalogue has grown to include a wide variety of datasets and visualizations, making data related to roadways maintenance, locations of schools, varieties of trees, municipal elections data, aggregate municipal census data and much more available to the public."
Red Deer Open Data Catalogue - GIS and Data - Red Deer
"We maintain a catalogue of datasets and APIs from various City departments to be utilized by residents and the general public."

British Columbia

Canadian Pacific Exclusive Economic Zone Bathymetry data - GIS - British Columbia Marine Conservation Analysis
"Bathymetry data (in a 100 m raster grid) showing depth information for the Canadian Pacific Exclusive Economic Zone."

British Columbia Portals

DataBC - GIS - Government of British Columbia
"The BC Data Catalogue is the place to find B.C. Government data, applications and web services. Government ministries and many broader public sector agencies publish their data resources in the Catalogue."

Regional Portals

Open Data - GIS and Data - District of North Vancouver
"Here you have access to over 170 free datasets which you can use in your printed products or online services – completely free of charge."
Open Data - GIS and Data - Township of Langley
Data categories: land and parcel information, recreation, utilities, resident information, miscellaneous, transportation.
Digital Data - GIS - Regional District of North Okanagan
"For the public we have an interactive mapping application, static PDF maps and an external GIS open data website for your convenience."

City Portals

Nanaimo Data Catalogue - GIS - Nanaimo
"from building permit and business licence searches, to geographic information in NanaimoMap and Google Earth, through to fire incident reporting and more."
PG Maps - GIS - City of Prince George
"The City's mapping service, PGMap, lets you see everything from administrative boundaries to zoning information and more. The Open Data portal lets you access dashboards, statistics, and other information related to City administration."
Surrey's Open Data - GIS - Surrey
Categories: business and economy, community services, environmental services, finance, health and safety, imagery, infrastructure, land use and development, local government, miscellaneous, recreation and culture, transportation.
Vancouver Open Data Catalogue - GIS and Data - Vancouver
Themes: business and economy, culture and education, demographics, food and housing, geography and imagery, government and finance, parks, recreation, and pets, property and development, safety, streets and transportation, sustainability, water and sewer.

Manitoba

Geoportal - GIS - Government of Manitoba
Categories: agriculture, economy, transportation, education, government, health, environment, emergency management.
GIS Map Gallery - GIS and Data - Manitoba Department of Mineral Resources
"Maps at various scales portraying the geology, geophysics, geochronology and mineral occurrences for Manitoba. Includes downloadable geophysical datasets." Also mining and quarrying, and petroleum.

City Portal

Winnipeg Open Data - GIS and Data - Winnipeg
City of Winnipeg Open Data Portal.

New Brunswick

New Brunswick Portal

GeoNB - GIS - Government of New Brunswick
"GeoNB is the Province of New Brunswick’s gateway to geographic information and related value-added applications. (...) The data catalogue contains a list of the geographic datasets that are available for download"

City Portals

Fredericton Data Catalogue - GIS and KMZ - Fredericton
"The site includes over 20 apps, which provide simple access to information and tools for citizens to understand their community. The platform also includes various datasets, including some of our own datasets to provide additional insights. "

Newfoundland and Labrador

Protected Areas - GIS - Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Environment and Conservation
Protected areas maps, ecoregion maps, wilderness and ecological reserve maps, Canadian heritage river maps, GIS data, topographical map listings, and more.
Public Water Supplies - GIS - Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Environment and Conservation
Open Water Resources Map Viewer, community water resources reports, boil advisories, public water supplies list.

Newfoundland and Labrador Portal

Digital Map Index - KMZ - Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Municipal Affairs
"Surveys and Mapping has created a number of .kml / .kmz files for our Digital Map Index and other data layers, that can be opened in Google Earth. As the indices are updated they will open in ArcGIS Online directly in your web browser."

Ontario

Geology Ontario - GIS and Data - Ontario Ministry of Northern Development and Mines
Abandoned mines information system, Ontario assessment file database, Ontario drill hole database, Ontario mineral inventory, Ontario geological survey publications database, geochronology inventory of Ontario, RPG site visits, exploration activity, bedrock geology, surficial geology, paleozoic geology, karst, aggregate resources of Ontario, and physiography.
Neptis - Online GIS - Neptis.org
"Neptis conducts and disseminates nonpartisan research, analysis and mapping related to the design and function of Canadian urban regions." Most content is related to Toronto, but other cities in Canada are sometimes included.

Ontario Portals

Ontario GeoHub - GIS - Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources
"Find and access Ontario’s authoritative geospatial data, maps and tools using Ontario GeoHub."
Ontario Open Data Catalogue - GIS and Data - Government of Ontario
"Find public data and explore 2,917 datasets published by the Government of Ontario."

City and Regional Portals

Open Guelph - GIS and Data - Guelph
"There are datasets available from all City of Guelph departments and a number of other public sector bodies and local authorities."
Hamilton Open & Accessible Data - GIS and Data - Hamilton
Categories: business & economy, city services, census & demographics, culture & tourism, environment, health & safety, infrastructure, parking & transportation, parks & recreation
Kitchener Dataset Catalogue - GIs and Data - Kitchener
"We have included data from our Regional partners to find data in the Region of Waterloo easily."
Open Data London - GIS and Data - London
Categories: base maps, budget, community, election, environment, recreation, transportation.
Data Catalogue - GIS and Data - Niagara Region
"Explore 401 datasets published by Niagara's community agencies and municipalities."
Open Data Ottawa - GIS and Data - Ottawa
Category: environment, transportation, culture and recreation, housing and infrastructure, community, health and safety, finance and city government, demographics and boundaries.
Toronto Data Catalogue - GIS and Data - Toronto
"The official source for Toronto open data from City divisions and agencies."

Prince Edward Island

Reconstruction of long-term hourly sea level data for Prince Edward Island, Canada - Dataset - Tianze Pang et al.
"The Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) only has one permanent tide observation station running in PEI, which is the Charlottetown Tide Station (ID:1700). This reconstruction is to break through the limitation of the lack of long-term high-temporal-resolution regional sea level record around PEI, which applies to 7 more different locations with historic short-term records of temporary tide stations across PEI."
Aerial Photo Index Map - Imagery - Prince Edward Island
"The Aerial Photo Index Map displays multiple years of land images from the Corporate Land Use Inventory Project." Years range from 1935 to 2000.

Prince Edward Island Portal

GIS Data Layers - GIS - Government of Prince Edward Island
Free GIS products.

Québec

Québec Portal

Données Québec - GIS and Data - Government of Québec
Collaboration between cities and the government of Québec.

City Portals

Jeux de données de Gatineau - GIS and Data - Gatineau
The city of Gatineau's datasets.
Portail de données ouvertes de Montréal - GIS and Data - Montréal
Datasets from the city of Montréal.

Saskatchewan

Saskatchewan Portal

Saskatchewan Statistics and Government Data - GIS and Data - Saskatchewan
"Find maps and web mapping applications used by government to show geographic information and manage spatial data related to issues of importance to residents of Saskatchewan." "The data dashboard provides easy access to the most up-to-date economic indicators including: Gross Domestic Product, Consumer Price Index, Capital Investment, Employment and Population." And includes economic and demographic statistics for the province.
OPENDATASK - GIS and Data - Open data Saskatchewan Project
"Follow me as I, Andy Dyck, explore open data using data science and machine learning."

City Portal

Regina Open Government Data Catalogue - GIS and Data - Regina
Categories: city administration, city bylaws, city policies, community & recreation, elections, environmental, freedom of information, heritage & history, land use & development, maps, roads & transportation, utilities.

Yukon

Yukon Portals

Geomatics Yukon Imagery & Data - Imagery - Government of Yukon
"GeoYukon is an interactive mapping application. It contains the Government of Yukon's authoritative and current map data."
GeoYukon - GIS - Government of Yukon
"GeoYukon allows you to search, display, print, and download the Government of Yukon's most authoritative and current digital map data."

World

To expand your search, see also links under Countries.

Please note: You may have trouble accessing some datasets hosted by the US due to recent events. Don't hesitate to reach out if you discover any outdated links. There are data rescue efforts in progress, check the Data Rescue Project and DataLumos to see if you can find your missing dataset.

Data Rescue Project
"The Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Our goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk."
DataLumos
Repository of US government data.
geoBoundaries - GIS - William & Mary geoLab
"online, open license resource of boundaries (i.e., state, county) for every country in the world. (...) All boundaries are available to view or download in common file formats, including shapefiles"
Earth Explorer - GIS and Imagery - USGS
Contains many layers including Landsat, SRTM, GTOPO (30 second resolution) and ETOPO (1 minute resolution). Click on the "i" besides a dataset to get to a download page.
EarthData Search - GIS and Imagery - NASA
"Earthdata Search provides the only means for data discovery, filtering, visualization, and access across all of NASA's Earth science data holdings."
EarthData's Find Data Page - GIS and Imagery - NASA
Browse by topic option, access by API option, and various tools to guide people to the right datasets.
30-Meter SRTM Tile Downloader - GIS and Imagery - Derek Watkins
"This interface attempts to ease the pain of downloading 30-meter resolution elevation data from the Shuttle Radar Topography Mission." A free login is required.
Esri Sentinel-2 Land Cover Explorer - GIS and Imagery - Esri
"This layer displays a global map of land use/land cover (LULC) derived from ESA Sentinel-2 imagery at 10m resolution. Each year is generated with Impact Observatory’s deep learning AI land classification model, trained using billions of human-labeled image pixels from the National Geographic Society. The global maps are produced by applying this model to the Sentinel-2 Level-2A image collection on Microsoft’s Planetary Computer, processing over 400,000 Earth observations per year."
Climate Data Store - GIS - Copernicus
"We provide climate data and information on impacts on a range of topics and sectoral areas". They focus on Europe but global datasets are also available.
Maritime Data - GIS - MarineRegions.org
Shapefiles of marine boundaries, fishing zones, ecoregions, bathymetrics, etc.
World Port Index - GIS and Data - National Geospatial Intelligence Agency
"Contains the location and physical characteristics of, and the facilities and services offered by major ports and terminals world-wide"
Bathymetry - GIS - NOAA
Bathymetry and Global Relief from National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (National Centers for Environmental Information)
Ocean Biodiversity Information System - GIS and Datasets - OBIS
"comprehensive gateway to the world’s ocean biodiversity and biogeographic data and information required to address pressing coastal and world ocean concerns." Try clicking on "Data" in the top menu and then "Mapper".
GIS Layers of Biodiversity Data - GIS and Data - Clinton Jenkins
GIS data used to create biodiversity maps for the earth, marine areas, the United States, and Brazil.
Natural Earth Data Themes - GIS - Natural Earth
"Data themes are available in three levels of detail. For each scale, themes are listed on Cultural, Physical, and Raster category pages."
Google Earth - GIS and Imagery - Google
View imagery and 3D images of the earth online (requires Chrome).
NASA WorldWind - Other - NASA
Open source API that allows developers to create visualizations with a 3D globe. The WorldWind explorer allows users to view imagery online.
Global Forest Watch Open Data Portal - GIS - Global Forest Watch
"Global Forest Watch (GFW) is an online platform that provides data and tools for monitoring forests. "
Global Canopy Height - Imagery - Tolan et al.
"Sub-meter resolution canopy height maps using self-supervised learning and a vision transformer trained on Aerial and GEDI Lidar"
CEDA - GIS and Datasets - Center for Environmental Data Analysis Archives
"The aim of the CEDA Archive is to provide a long-term home for data produced by environmental research and to facilitate use of data that research needs."

World Portals

ArcGIS Online - GIS - esri
Maps and data from submitted from users all over the world. Includes a lot of Canadian content.
Free GIS Data - Datasets - Robin Wilson
Datasets organized by subjects, and by countries and subjects.

Regions

Europe

Datahub - GIS and Datasets - European Environment Agency
"hrough our network and other institutional partners across 38 European countries, we collect, quality-assure and quality-check data on a wide set of topics and legislation related to the environment, climate and sustainability."
EMODnet Map Viewer - European Commission
"The European Marine Observation and Data Network (EMODnet) is a network of organisations supported by the EU’s integrated maritime policy."
CORINE Land Cover - GIS - Copernicus
"pan-European land cover and land use inventory with 44 thematic classes, ranging from broad forested areas to individual vineyards. The product is updated with new status and change layers every six years—with the most recent update made in 2018."
MPA Europe Map Project - GIS - OBIS
"species and habitat range maps developed for the MPA Europe project. Model fitting is now complete, and maps are available for 12,684 species."
Urban Atlas - Land Cover - European Environment Agency
"The Urban Atlas provides pan-European comparable land cover and land use information for the selected Functional Urban Areas (FUA) in Europe and the United Kingdom. The product has a six years update cycle and is available for the 2006, 2012 and 2018 reference years including the change layers."

North America

Current and projected climate data for North America - Datasets - AdaptWest
"The gridded climate layers downloadable below are in Lambert Azimuthal Equal-Area projection, at 1km resolution, and covering North America. (...) Two sets of variables are available for download. One consists of 33 biologically relevant variables, including seasonal and annual means, extremes, growing and chilling degree days, snow fall, potential evapotranspiration, and a number of drought indices. The second dataset consists of 48 monthly temperature and precipitation variables."
North American Drought Monitor - Map and Statistics - NADM
"This website provides additional maps and statistics for the NADM. The NADM is a cooperative effort between drought experts in Canada, Mexico and the United States to monitor drought across the continent on an ongoing basis."
Two Countries, One Forest - Maps and Datasets - Wildlife Conservation Society
"Two Countries, One Forest (2C1Forest) is a Canadian-U.S. collaborative of conservation organizations, researchers, foundations and land trusts working to conserve and restore the forests and natural heritage of the Northern Appalachian/Acadian ecoregion."

Countries

To expand your search, see also links under World.

Australia

data.gov.au - Data and GIS - Australian Government
"Data.gov.au is the central source of Australian open government data. Anyone can access the anonymised public data published by federal, state and local government agencies."
Historical Aerial Photography - Imagery - Austalian Government
"Geoscience Australia (GA) has developed the Historical Aerial Photography (HAP) collection in an online data delivery system. This application can be used to search and download the Commonwealth HAP collection for free."

China

China Layers - Data and GIS - Harvard
"Harvard WorldMap began in 2008 with the aim of lowering barriers for scholars to create, analyze, and share geospatial information."
China Historical GIS Placename Database interface - GIS - TGAZ API
"TGAZ API - is a read-only interface designed to search the contents of the China Historical GIS placename database."
China Historical Datasets Modern Datasets - Data and GIS - Fundan and Harvard universities
"The China Historical Geographic Information System, CHGIS, is a free database of placenames and historical administrative units for the Chinese Dynasties."
Beijing City Lab - Data and GIS
"This channel would release Beijing, or the whole China, micro-data and maps (e.g. road networks, parcels, human mobility, historical city maps) for the BCL research fellows and external researchers."

New Zealand

data.govt.nz - Data and GIS - New Zealand Government
"Data.govt.nz helps people discover, collect, manage, use, share, re-use data."

United Kingdom

data.gov.uk - Data - Government of the United Kingdom
"Find data published by central government, local authorities and public bodies"

United States

Please note: You may have trouble accessing some datasets containing US Data due to recent events. Don't hesitate to reach out if you discover any outdated links. There are data rescue efforts in progress, check the Data Rescue Project and DataLumos to see if you can find your missing dataset.

Data Rescue Project
"The Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Our goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk."
DataLumos
Repository of US government data.
Coastal and Marine Hazards and Resources Program - GIS - USGS
The Coastal and Marine Hazards and Resources Program is an innovator in mapping, field studies, data collection, and laboratory analyses, whose expertise is sought by other governmental agencies, educational institutions, and private companies. (...) Explore the data published by our scientists."
Geospatial Data Gateway - GIS, Data and Maps - US Department of Agriculture
"The Geospatial Data Gateway (GDG) provides access to a map library of over 100 high resolution vector and raster layers in the Geospatial Data Warehouse."
Shoreline Imagery for Hawaii - GIS and Images - University of Hawaii
Various resources including SOEST climate viewer, state of Hawai'i sea level rise viewer, Hawai'i shoreline study web app and more.
United States Board on Geographic Names - Data - US Department of Interior and US Geological Survey
"The U.S. Board on Geographic Names (BGN) is a Federal body created in 1890 and established in its present form by Public Law in 1947 to maintain uniform geographic name usage throughout the Federal Government."
United States Draught Monitor - GIS and Data - NDMC, USDA, and NOAA
"The U.S. Drought Monitor (USDM) is a map released every Thursday, showing where drought is and how bad it is across the U.S. and its territories." Click on "Data" and and GIS data for KMZ, shapefiles, and other formats.
US Data Catalog - GIS and Data - United States Government
"The United States Government's open data site is designed to unleash the power of government open data"

Tips for Citing Geospatial Data

Cartographic Material Citation - Waterloo Library
Best practices in citing cartographic material as recommended by the Association of Canadian Map Libraries and Archives.