First Year Law Guide

Schulich Law Scholars is an open access institutional repository for gathering, indexing, storing, and making widely available the scholarly output of the Schulich Law community. Reflecting the strategic direction, Schulich Law Scholars aims to promote the mission, vision, and values of Schulich Law. Schulich Law Scholars shares the exceptional works of Schulich Law faculty, staff, and students with a local, national, and global audience.

HeinOnline is a premier online research platform that provides more than 200 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more. Composed of fully searchable image-based PDFs and available at an affordable price, the wealth of material allows academic institutions, government agencies, law firms, court systems, corporations, and other organizations access to authoritative, true-to-print digital material without the hassle or cost of using multiple research databases.

An electronic collection of looseleaf titles published by Thomson Reuters.

A database of law books published by Irwin Law.

A collection of law titles published by Emond books. To access, select continue without account and agree to terms of use.

A database that allows researchers to find indexed citations for legal periodicals relevant to their research.

A database that allows researchers to find index citations for legal periodicals relevant to their research. This version focuses on historical resources published prior to 1981.

The Index to Canadian Legal Literature is a bilingual index and bibliography which includes both English and French Canadian legal literature, including journal articles, monographs, government publications, audio-visual materials, case comments, and annotations. It is published by Carswell in association with the Canadian Association of Law Libraries, and constitutes part of Canadian Current Law. It is available in print on the third floor of the Sir James Dunn Law Library. It is also available electronically through Westlaw Edge and Lexis Advance Quicklaw.

A collection of all Law associated databases accessible through Dalhousie Libraries.

LLMC is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. LLMC provides libraries with a reliable and budget-friendly source of digital replacement when their older, physically deteriorating books became too burdensome to store given diminished use. While aiding libraries in their preservation and space recovery programs, it also provides an economical way to complete retrospective collections.

​Theses Canada, launched in 1965 at the request of the deans of Canadian graduate schools, is a collaborative program between Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and Canadian universities. It strives to acquire and preserve theses and dissertations from participating universities, provide free access to Canadian digital theses and dissertations in the collection, and
facilitate access to non-digital theses and dissertations in the collection.

The official Canadian government website for legislation. Includes up to date versions, consolidations, and revisions of statutes in both web and PDF formats.

The legislative website for the province of Nova Scotia, containing digital versions of provincial bills, statutes, and proclamations. It also includes legislative debates and other information.

A website providing an overview of Parliamentary events, debates, and documents. Includes texts of bills and debates that are helpful in researching the history of legislation and legislative intent.

A database published by Lexis containing caselaw, noting up tools, and related resources. Password restricted (law students and practitioners only).

A database published by Thomson Reuters containing caselaw, noting up tools, and related resources. Password restricted (law students and practitioners only).

Run by the Canadian Legal Information Institute, this database contains legislation, case law, and commentary on Canadian law.

Justis gives you access to hundreds of thousands of case judgments and legislation from common law jurisdictions around the world.

A database containing treaties, cases, and related publications for International Law and arbitration.

LLMC is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. LLMC provides libraries with a reliable and budget-friendly source of digital replacement when their older, physically deteriorating books became too burdensome to store given diminished use. While aiding libraries in their preservation and space recovery programs, it also provides an economical way to complete retrospective collections.

Internet Archive Canada, with advice and assistance from government and university librarians across Canada, have digitized more than 20,000 Canadian Government publications and made them freely available online. This page is meant to serve as a portal for discovering publications digitized by Internet Archive Canada, to be a reference for future digitization initiatives and provide incentive to grow the list of titles that have been preserved and dedicated to the public domain.

Run by the Canadian Legal Information Institute, this database contains legislation, case law, and commentary on Canadian law.

A database published by Lexis containing caselaw, noting up tools, and related resources. Password restricted (law students and practitioners only).

A database published by Thomson Reuters containing caselaw, noting up tools, and related resources. Password restricted (law students and practitioners only).

A stripped down and publicly available version of Lexis Advance. A database published by Lexis containing caselaw and related resources

Justis gives you access to hundreds of thousands of case judgments and legislation from common law jurisdictions around the world.

A database containing treaties, cases, and related publications for International Law and arbitration.

LLMC is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. LLMC provides libraries with a reliable and budget-friendly source of digital replacement when their older, physically deteriorating books became too burdensome to store given diminished use. While aiding libraries in their preservation and space recovery programs, it also provides an economical way to complete retrospective collections.