Skip to Main Content

Pharmacy

A guide to library resources for students, faculty & staff at the College of Pharmacy

Quick Links

Micromedex clinical use not permitted	LexiDrug (formerly Lexicomp)	CPS (formerly RxTx)
BMJ Best Practice	Dynamed	Minor Ailment and Self-Care Guidelines (MedSask) clinical use not permitted
Cochrane Library	Embase	PubMed
NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines)	VisualDx	ASHP Injectable Drug Information (Trissel's)
Current ACP Journal Club Issues, ACP Journal Archives (1991-2008)	CINAHL

Helpful Resources by Topic

Related resources to this topic are:

ASHP Injectable Drug Information
IWK Formulas for Compounding
Compounding Recipes Index (The Hospital for Sick Children Compounding Service)
Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference (available via Micromedex)
Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients
Handbook on Injectable Drugs
Compounding Sterile Preparations

Related resources to this topic are:

Related resources to this topic are:

CPS (formerly RxTx)
Lexidrug
Micromedex
DynaMed
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference (available via Micromedex)
AHFS Drug Information is available via Lexidrug
Drugpoints System

Related resources to this topic are:

MedLine Plus (Consumer health and drug information)
Drugs and Supplements (Mayo Clinic)

Related resources to this topic are:

Pharmacotherapy and Pathophysiologic Approach (DiPiro. 12th ed. 2023)
CPS (formerly RxTx)
Best Practice
DynaMed
AccessMedicine (eResource collection)
Harrison's Online
Applied therapeutics : the clinical use of drugs.
Patient Assessment in Pharmacy Practice

Related resources to this topic are:

NatMed Pro
The Cochrane Library
Licensed Natural Health Products Database (Health Canada)
Dietary Supplements (Mason, 4th ed. 2012)
Herbal Products: Toxicology and Clinical Pharmacology (Tracy & Kingston, 2nd ed. 2007)
Review of Natural Products
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center: About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products
NIH Office of Dietary Supplements Health Information

Related resources to this topic are:

Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation: A Reference Guide to Fetal and Neonatal Risk
Drugs During Pregnancy and Lactation: Treatment Options and Risk Assessment (Schaefer et al. 3rd ed. 2015)
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMED)
Medications and Mother's Milk (Hale, 20th ed. 2023)
Micromedex

Related resources to this topic are:

Drug Prescribing in Renal Failure (Aronoff et. al., 5th ed., 2007)
CPS (formerly RxTx)
Micromedex
Lexidrug
The Renal Drug Handbook (Ashley & Currie, 5th ed. 2018)
Clinical Nephrotoxins: Renal Injury From Drugs and Chemicals (de Broe & Porter, 3rd ed. 2008)

Further Drug and Health Information Sources

Laboratory Values Tables

Clinical Laboratory Tests - Adult Normal Values (Medical Council of Canada)
Tables of Normal Lab Values (CCPE, January 2013)

Alerting Services

Peer Resources (Alberta College of Family Physicians)
Newsletters and Alerts (NICE)
Evidence Alerts (BMJ & McMaster University)
Advisories, Warnings and Recalls (Health Canada)
Therapeutics Education Collaboration
Medsquares BETA
CADTH (Canada's Drug and Health Technology Agency, requires account creation for newsletter summaries)
Therapeutic Initiatives (UBC)

Risk Assessment/Calculators

Beers List (Drugs to avoid in geriatrics)
FRAX (Fracture Risk)
Framingham Risk Score PDF (Cardiovascular Risk)
CHADS2 (Atrial Fibrillation Stroke Risk)
CHA2DS2-VASc (Atrial Fibrillation Stroke Risk)
SPARC tool (Stroke and Atrial Fibrillation Risk)
HAS-BLED (Major Bleeding Risk)
HFMedChoice (Heart Failure Therapy)
PEER Diabetes (Diabetes Medication Decision Aid)
PEER Pain (Pain Calculator)

Clinical Practice Guidelines

In 2023, the Canadian Medical Association stopped producing clinical guidelines. A list of alternative sources is supplied on their website.
Government of Canada: Public Health Agency of Canada
The College of Family Physicians of Canada: Clinical Practice Guidelines
NICE: National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (UK)
American College of Physicians: Clinical Practice Guidelines (US)
GIN: The Guidelines International Network (International)
TRIP: Turning Research Into Practice (International)
World Health Organization (WHO) Guideline Summaries
PEER Guidelines

*For clinical practice guidelines that relate to specific topics, please see Course Based Resources

Dalhousie Libraries Youtube Tutorials

Minor Ailment Prescribing

Minor Ailment and Self-Care Guidelines (MedSask, clinical use not permitted)
CPS

E-Resource Collections

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine is your go-to Access collection of medical learning resources featuring hundreds of books, review questions, cases, videos, podcasts, infographics, interactive 3D modules and more across the basic sciences and clinical specialties.
STATRef This link opens in a new window
Collection of core textbooks and dictionaries. Our license for STAT!Ref allows for a limited number of users on certain titles. To facilitate access for other users, please use the "log off" button to exit when you are finished. Access information for titles-

Unlimited Access- ASHP Injectable Drug Information, Primal Premier Human Anatomy Package, BoardVitals: Medical Student package.

7 Concurrent Users- Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations.

2 Concurrent Users- NANOS Examination Techniques (NExt) with Walsh & Hoyt's Clinical Neuro-Opthalmology, NANOS Illustrated Curriculum for Neuro-Ophthalmology with Walsh & Hoyt's Clinical Neuro-Ophthalmology (2022).

1 Concurrent User- Adolescent Medicine: State of the Art Reviews (AM:STARs), AJCC Cancer Staging System, APhA DrugInfoLine, Clinical Checklist Lab Adviser & DrugPoints system, Decker: Medicine, Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer, Review of Natural Products.
Premium Pharmacy Collection This link opens in a new window
Part of LWW Health Library. Uncover searchable Lippincott textbooks always updated with the latest edition across every area of healthcare. Great for residents, students and fellows.

Related Library Guides

Encyclopedias for the Health Sciences
by Kellogg Library Last Updated Aug 8, 2024 502 views this year
Media Resources in Health Sciences
by Kellogg Library Last Updated May 12, 2025 1660 views this year
Mobile Access, Apps, and eBooks
by Geoff Brown Last Updated May 12, 2025 432 views this year
Pharmacology & Toxicology
by Louise Gillis Last Updated May 5, 2025 300 views this year
Quick Reference for the Health Sciences
by Kellogg Library Last Updated Mar 18, 2025 443 views this year
Knowledge Syntheses: A How-To Guide
by Robin Parker Last Updated May 7, 2025 3913 views this year

Last Updated: May 12, 2025 10:45 AM
URL: https://dal.ca.libguides.com/pharmacy
Print Page

Subjects: Health

Tags: pharmacy