LibGuides: Pharmacy: Professional Library Requirements for Community Pharmacies in NS

Standards of Practice: Professional Library Requirements for Community Pharmacies in Nova Scotia

The Nova Scotia College of Pharmacists requires that Nova Scotia community pharmacies have ready access to a number of databases and publications. Resources available at the Kellogg Library are listed on this page.

View the standards here: https://www.nspharmacists.ca/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/SOP_ProfessionalLibraryRequirements.pdf

Canadian Drug Reference

CPS (formerly called RxTx) This link opens in a new window
Reference database maintained by the Canadian Pharmacists Association.

General Drug Information Reference

Lexi-Comp Online with AHFS (Medicine) This link opens in a new window
Lexi-Comp Online is a comprehensive drug information source and clinical, point-of-care tool.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Includes subscription to DrugDex. Summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, alternative medicine, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and acute/emergency care. The publisher provides the University with free access to Micromedex for educational purposes with the understanding that access be restricted to computers located on the Dalhousie campus. On-campus only.

Foreign Drug Reference

Drugs.com - International
An international directory of drugs found around the world, including names in different languages
Lexi-Comp Online
Lexi-Comp Online is a comprehensive drug information source and clinical, point-of-care tool.

Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference
Available online via Micromedex

Therapeutics Reference

Applied Therapeutics: the Clinical Use of Drugs by Caroline Zeind; Michael Carvalho
Call Number: WB 330 A651 2018
2018
Pharmacotherapy Handbook by Barbara G. Wells; Joseph T. DiPiro; Terry L. Schwinghammer; Cecily V. DiPiro
ISBN: 9781259586439
Publication Date: 2017
Textbook of Therapeutics: Drug and Disease Management by Richard A Helms
Call Number: WB 330 H544 2006
2006
Therapeutic Choices by Jean Gray; Carol Repchinsky
Call Number: WB 300 T398 2011
2011
Please ask for the book by call number at the Circulation desk.
Up-to-date online version available through CPS

Harrison's Online This link opens in a new window
The online version of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. It provides a comprehensive review about the science and care of the adult patient that incorporates new advances in biomedical research and clinical practice. Included are revisions, data from clinical trials, updated therapy, references, self-assessment questions, and more. Funded by the Faculty of Medicine, Dalhousie University.

Compounding References

General:

IWK Compounding Formulas
This free resource from the IWK Pharmacy Department includes a list of the most common non-sterile compounding formulas prepared by the IWK Pharmacy.
SickKids Compounding Service
This free resource from the Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) includes a compounding recipe index.

Sterile:

Handbook on Injectable Drugs by Gerald K McEvoy

Non-Prescription Medication Reference

CPMA 2019 - Compendium of Products for Minor Ailments by Various
Call Number: QV 57 C212c 2018
ISBN: 9781772410112
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
2018 Reference Collection
CTMA 2019 - Compendium of Therapeutics for Minor Ailments by Various
Call Number: QV 57 C2122c 2014
ISBN: 9781772410105
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
2019

Special Populations

Geriatrics:

Lexi-Comp Online with AHFS (Medicine) This link opens in a new window
Lexi-Comp Online is a comprehensive drug information source and clinical, point-of-care tool.

Geriatric Dosage Handbook : Including Clinical Recommendations and Monitoring Guidelines by Todd Semla; Judith Beizer; Martin Higbee
Call Number: QV 748 S472 2016
2016

Obstetrics:

Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, alternative medicine, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and acute/emergency care. Includes access to Martindale and RED book. Clinical use not permitted

Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation: A Reference Guide to Fetal and Neonatal Risk by Gerald G. Briggs; Roger K. Freeman; Craig V. Towers; Alicia B. Forinash
ISBN: 9781975162375
Publication Date: 2021
2021
Available online
Hale's Medications & Mothers' Milk 2021 by Thomas W. Hale
ISBN: 9780826189257
Publication Date: 2020-07-28
2020

Pediatrics:

IWK Compounding Formulas
This free resource from the IWK Pharmacy Department includes a list of the most common non-sterile compounding formulas prepared by the IWK Pharmacy.
SickKids Compounding Service
This free resource from the Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) includes a compounding recipe index.

Lexi-Comp Online with AHFS (Medicine) This link opens in a new window
Lexi-Comp Online is a comprehensive drug information source and clinical, point-of-care tool.

Pharmacy

Medical Dictionaries

Evidence Based Medicine

Drug Interaction Reference

Natural Health Products Reference