Pharmacology & Toxicology

Thank you to Dr. Dale Dauphinee for partnering on this subscription. E-therapeutics+ includes the following products: Therapeutics, based on the publication "Therapeutic Choices", edited by Jean Gray, e-CPS Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties, Lexi-Interact Online, a drug interactions program, patient information and e-Therapeutics Mobile offering two applications for your handheld devices.

Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) is a source of evidence-based drug and medical information. Its collection include a drug identifier, patient education resources, drug dosing calculators, interaction and compatibility tools, and more.  

Summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, alternative medicine, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and acute/emergency care. Includes access to Martindale and RED book. Clinical use not permitted

Stahl Online presents the fundamentals of psychopharmacology and includes the ability to search within Stahl’s Essential Psychopharmacology and the Essential Psychopharmacology Prescriber’s Guide plus a Prescriber's Guide, illustrations and tables to download, drug interaction information, and more.

NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines) provides access to information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.

Provides bibliographic access to 4600 biomedical journals indexed at the National Library of Medicine. Coverage is international and dates from the early 1950s. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. Search OldMEDLINE for citations from 1951-1965; citations earlier than 1951 can be found in the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index located at the Kellogg Library.

There are over 17 million records indexed in EMBASE (1974-) and MEDLINE (1966-) with over 2,000 records added daily. All records are full indexed with EMTREE terms in 10-14 days. Each record contains the full bibliographic citation, indexing terms and codes; 80% of all citations in EMBASE include author-written abstracts. The EMBASE journal collection is international with over 6500 biomedical journals from 70 countries. EMBASE features comprehensive coverage of: Drug Research, Pharmacology, Pharmacy, Pharmacoeconomics, Pharmaceutics and Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental) Basic Biological Research Health Policy and Management Public, Occupational and Environmental Health, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science, Biomedical Engineering and Instrumentation.

Please sign up for a free personal account in order to access TRIP. Click on “Full Text: Dalhousie University" to view fulltext. Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Searches hundreds of evidence-based resources simultaneously: · Evidence Based Synopses · Clinical Questions · Guidelines · E-Textbooks · Medical Images · Patient Information Leaflets · Systematic Reviews · Core general medical journals · Specialist Journals ·

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, with a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases. Plain language summaries are also available.

All residents of Atlantic Canada have full access to The Cochrane Library. Visit the Libraries' blog to learn more.