Skip to Main Content

Economics Research Guide

Welcome! This guide will point you to research resources for a variety of economics related topics.

ECON 3800 Financial Economics Research: Introduction

This guide was prepared by the Economics subject specialist for students taking ECON 3800 Financial Economics. This is designed as a gateway to the research you will need to do to complete your course assignments. For further research assistance, please contact Dr. Joyline Makani.

Listed on this page are resources for research on:

Related Guides: Finance, Company Research, Industry Research, Statistics & Data

Companies (Financials & Analysis)

Stocks/Equities data

Please note: Only compatible with Internet Explorer 8 or lower. Access to corporate financial research, investment analysis, Reuters market news, real-time global market data and authoritative content from industry-leading sources.
 

Access to quotes and Market data charts going back 5 years available from the Companies/Markets tab. Using the pull-down menu you can search for the following instruments: stocks, delisted/merged stocks, funds, historical corporate bonds, currencies, market indexes, market indexes by name, unit trusts, U.S. Government Debt, capital changes and delisted/merged capital changes.

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, JJ Stewart Room and Rowe)

Offers real-time trading data, detailed historical data, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds,commodities, and other major markets all in one place. To access company information Type [ticker], hit EQUITY, and hit GO to browse main menu OR type a shortcut to go directly to specific information (e.g. ANR for analyst recommendations, BQ for equity summary and Bloomberg quote providing overview of key price data, fundamentals, and news on selected equity; and FA for financial analysis).

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, South Learning Commons, JJ Stewart Room.)

Great source for downloading time series data. Provides access to equities, stock markets, commodities, futures, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials, and economic data. Please note some data is also available remotely through Thomson ONE .

Futures data

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Hit the yellow CMDTY button. The commodity sector includes all exchange listed futures and options contracts of underlying financial and physical products. You can also search for specific commodity market functions if you know the commodity’s code: e.g. GCA <CMDTY> <GO> to find information on Gold Futures. Extremely limited downloading capabilities.

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

Provides access to up to date as well as historical international data on futures. Currently has futures data from the following countries: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Russia, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK, and the United States.

  • Eikon

From Refinitiv, provides access to extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates.  (Access Details: Single-User license. Available only on campus on specific PCs in the Killam North Learning Commons and Rowe).

Options data

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Historical international data on options. Frequency varies. Intradaily data is typically kept 30 to 90 days only.

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

Select options data from the following countries and exchanges: Austria (OTOB), France (MATIF, Euronext.liffe), Germany (EUREX), Netherlands (Euronext.liffe), Switzerland (EUREX), U.K. (Euronext.liffe), and United States (AMEX, CBOE, CBOT, CME & PHLX).

Bonds

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Offers real-time trading data, detailed historical data, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, for stocks, bonds,commodities, and other major markets all in one place. Hint: For quick access use the GOVT or CORP yellow keys and for yield curves, type FMCI, then hit GO

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

Provides access to significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bonds & convertibles, futures, options, and economic data.To access bond yields (Yield - To Redemption), use the datatype code RY.

  • Eikon

From Refinitiv, provides access to extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates.  (Access Details: Single-User license. Available only on campus on specific PCs in the Killam North Learning Commons and Rowe).

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Searching for articles or investment reports

To retrieve the best results think about what your key words are before searching the following databases, e.g. Derivatives AND "Securities markets"

Market/Industry

Commodities data

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)
Hit <CMDTY> <GO>  to display a list of submenus for commodity market functions. You can also search for the contract table menu by typing CTM and then pressing <GO> and this will give you access to multiple commodities by section.
 
  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

Provides daily, monthly and annual commodity prices data. Great downloading capabilities.