LibGuides: Clinical Specialties Guide: Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

Opthalmology Links

Key Databases

Lexi-Comp Online with AHFS (Medicine) This link opens in a new window Lexi-Comp Online is a comprehensive drug information source and clinical, point-of-care tool. Lexi-Comp®ONLINE™ offers access to the following clinical databases: Lexi-Drugs®, Lexi-Drugs®International, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs®, Geriatric Lexi-Drugs®, Lexi-Natural Products, Lexi-Pharmacogenomics, Lexi-Infectious Diseases, Lexi-Poisoning & Toxicology Lexi-NBCA Exposures, Lab Tests & Diagnostic Procedures, Clinician’s Guide to Diagnosis Clinician’s Guide to Internal Medicine, Clinician’s Guide to Laboratory Medicine and Clinical Modules: Interactions (Lexi-Interact), Patient Care Module: Printable Patient Leaflets, (Lexi-PALS ) providing Drug, Disease, Condition and Procedure information for your patients, Drug Identification (Lexi-Drug ID), I.V. Compatibility (Lexi-I.V. Compatibility), Calculations (Lexi-CALC) and Web Search (Health Search Portal)
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, with a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases. Plain language summaries are also available. All residents of Atlantic Canada have full access to The Cochrane Library. Visit the Libraries' blog to learn more.
TRIP Database This link opens in a new window Please sign up for a free personal account in order to access TRIP. Click on “Full Text: Dalhousie University" to view fulltext. Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Searches hundreds of evidence-based resources simultaneously: · Evidence Based Synopses · Clinical Questions · Guidelines · E-Textbooks · Medical Images · Patient Information Leaflets · Systematic Reviews · Core general medical journals · Specialist Journals ·
PubMed - MEDLINE with Dal journal links This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic access to 4600 biomedical journals indexed at the National Library of Medicine. Coverage is international and dates from the early 1950s. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. Search OldMEDLINE for citations from 1951-1965; citations earlier than 1951 can be found in the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index located at the Kellogg Library.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window There are over 17 million records indexed in EMBASE (1974-) and MEDLINE (1966-) with over 2,000 records added daily. All records are full indexed with EMTREE terms in 10-14 days. Each record contains the full bibliographic citation, indexing terms and codes; 80% of all citations in EMBASE include author-written abstracts. The EMBASE journal collection is international with over 6500 biomedical journals from 70 countries. EMBASE features comprehensive coverage of: Drug Research, Pharmacology, Pharmacy, Pharmacoeconomics, Pharmaceutics and Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental) Basic Biological Research Health Policy and Management Public, Occupational and Environmental Health, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science, Biomedical Engineering and Instrumentation.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window BioMed Central publishes peer reviewed research across all areas of biology and medicine, with immediate, barrier-free access for all. Dalhousie University has a Supporter Membership to BioMed Central which may provide a 15% reduction in Article Processing Fees for Dalhousie authors. This fee reduction applies to articles accepted for publication in fully open access BMC or SpringerOpen journals but not hybrid journals.
CPS (formerly called RxTx) This link opens in a new window Thank you to Dr. Dale Dauphinee for partnering on this subscription. E-therapeutics+ includes the following products: Therapeutics, based on the publication "Therapeutic Choices", edited by Jean Gray, e-CPS Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties, Lexi-Interact Online, a drug interactions program, patient information and e-Therapeutics Mobile offering two applications for your handheld devices.

Books

Albert and Jakobiec's Principles and Practice of Ophthalmology by Daniel M. Albert; Joan W. Miller; Dimitri T. Azar; Barbara A. Blodi
Call Number: WW 100 A333 2020 Vols. 1-4
Visual Development, Diagnosis, and Treatment of the Pediatric Patient by Robert H. Duckman
Available online
Visual Development by Nigel Daw
Available online
Walsh and Hoyt's Clinical Neuro-Ophthalmology by Neil R. Miller; Prem S. Subramanian (Editor); Vivek R. Patel (Editor)
Available online
Difficult and Complicated Cases in Refractive Surgery by Jorge L. Alió y Sanz (Editor); Dimitri T. Azar (Editor); Alessandro Abbouda (Editor); Jorge L. Alio´ (Editor); Amr El Aswad (Editor)
Available online
Advanced Glaucoma Surgery by Ahmad A. Aref (Editor); Rohit Varma (Editor)
Available online
Intravitreal Steroids by Albert J. Augustin (Editor)
Available online
Studies on the Cornea and Lens by Mark A. Babizhayev (Editor); Jorge L. Alió (Editor); Anne Kasus-Jacobi (Editor); David Wan-Cheng Li (Editor); Lepsa Zoric (Editor)
Available online
Dry Eye by Colin Chan (Editor); Kenny Blades; Sudi Patel
Available online
The Lacrimal System by Adam J. Cohen (Editor); Michael Mercandetti (Editor); Brian Brazzo (Editor)
Available online

Vaughan & Asbury's General Ophthalmology by Paul Riordan-Eva; John Whitcher; Daniel Vaughan; Taylor Asbury
Available online
Clinical ophthalmology: a systematic approach by Jack J. Kanski
Call Number: WW 140 K166 2011
Evidence-Based Eye Care by Peter J. Kertes; T. Mark Johnson
Available online
Ophthalmology by Anthony Pane & Peter Simcock.
Call Number: WW 140 P191f 2006
Part of the Fast Facts series.
The Sankara Nethralaya atlas of neuro-ophthalmology by Satya Karna [et al.]
Call Number: DAL Health Sciences Library: WW 17 S2273 2008
Shields Textbook of Glaucoma
Available online
Age-related Changes of the Human Eye by Carlo Cavallotti; Luciano Cerulli
Available online
Drugs in Ophthalmology by Rike Michels (As told to); Hasan Syed (As told to); Amani A. Fawzi (As told to); U. M. Schmidt-Erfurth (Editor); Donald S. Fong (Editor); Simon K. Law (Editor)
Available online
Handbook of Nutrition and Ophthalmology by Richard D. Semba
Available online
Evidence-Based Approach in Cataract Surgery by Jay Bhopi
Available online
Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus by Creig S. Hoyt; David Taylor
Call Number: WW 100 B299 Sect. 6 2011

EyeWiki
EyeWiki, a collaboration of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and other societies. Content is written by ophthalmologists and covers the vast spectrum of eye disease, diagnosis and treatment in the field of ophthalmology.
Eye Smart
American Academy of Ophthalmology. Written for the lay person.
Encyclopedia of surgery
Information is aimed at patients and caregivers.

Clinical Specialties Guide

Contact Us

Helpful Information

Opthalmology Links

Key Databases

Books