LibGuides: Knowledge Syntheses: A How-To Guide: Methods & Training Resources

Selected upcoming training opportunities

Upcoming Covidence training (general)
Live Webinar (not Dalhousie-specific):
Covidence 101 - Get to know Covidence
February 19, 2025 12:00 PM GMT
The Covidence 101 webinar provides an overview of the systematic review workflow including a live demo. It is aimed at novice users of Covidence, or those who haven’t used the software for a while and want to familiarise themselves with recent changes and updates.
In this session, we will cover:
✔️ Settings
✔️ Importing
✔️ Title and Abstract Screening
✔️ Full Text Review
✔️ Extraction tools
✔️ Export
✔️ PRISMA
Bonus: Learn valuable tips and tricks to accelerate your review workflow, as well as the opportunity to get your specific questions answered by our experts.
Even if you can't attend live, register today to receive the full recording within 24 hours of the session!

Videos

"A systematic review aims to comprehensively locate and synthesize research that bears on a particular question, using organized, transparent, and replicable procedures at each step in the process."

(Littell, Corcoran, & Pillai 2008) [1]

Introductory video from Yale University's informative video series on systematic reviews:

Systematic Review Videos - Yale University
This comprehensive video series outlines the process of completing a systematic review

Intro to Systematic Reviews & Meta-Analyses

Helpful Resources

Guidance for conducting reviews

JBI Reviewers' Manual
The JBI, based out of the University of Adelaide (Australia), is an organisation dedicated to the promotion and support of evidence-based practice. The manual includes chapters on mixed methods reviews, scoping reviews, qualitative reviews, and effectiveness (therapy) reviews, among other resources.
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions
This handbook provides guidelines for producing Cochrane reviews, some of the most highly regarded systematic reviews in the world.
IOM Standard 2.6
Rapid Review Guidebook
The NCCMT has developed a Rapid Review Guidebook that details each step in the rapid review process, with notes on how to tailor the process given resource limitations. The Guidebook also includes a guide to writing the final report, with details on how to structure the report and what to include in each section.
RAMESES Standards for Realist and Meta-Narrative Reviews
Publication and quality standards for both realist reviews and meta-narrative reviews produced by the leading experts in these methodologies.
Systematic Reviews: CRD's guidance for undertaking reviews in health care
Compiled by the Center for Reviews and Dissemination, this digital handbook outlines the entire systematic review process.
JBI Reviewers' Manual: Scoping Review Chapter
Citation: Peters MDJ, Godfrey C, McInerney P, Munn Z, Tricco AC, Khalil, H. Scoping Reviews (2020). Aromataris E, Lockwood C, Porritt K, Pilla B, Jordan Z, editors. JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis. JBI; 2024. Available from: https://synthesismanual.jbi.global. https://doi.org/10.46658/JBIMES-24-09
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Diagnostic Test Accuracy
The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Diagnostic Test Accuracy is the official guide that describes in detail the process of preparing and maintaining systematic reviews of test accuracy for Cochrane. The Handbook has been produced by the Cochrane Screening and Diagnostic Test Methods Group. It is a guide for those conducting systematic reviews of test accuracy and a reference for more experienced authors. The Handbook will be updated regularly to reflect advances in systematic review methodology and in response to feedback from users.
Citation of Handbook via PDFs: Deeks JJ, Bossuyt PM, Leeflang MM, Takwoingi Y (editors). Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Diagnostic Test Accuracy. Version 2.0 (updated July 2023). Cochrane, 2023. Available from https://training.cochrane.org/handbook-diagnostic-test-accuracy/current.
Cochrane-Campbell Handbook Chapters on Qualiative Evidence Synthesis
Chapters on methods for conducting synthesis of qualitative research. Available by creating or logging into a free Cochrane Account.
Evidence synthesis for health policy and systems: a methods guide
From the WHO, this document provides guidance on reviews related to policy and health care systems research.
The Campbell Collaboration
Offers standards and support for authors of systematic reviews. The Campbell Collaboration also publishes their own library of systematic reviews.
Guidelines and Standards for Evidence Synthesis in Environmental Management
V. 5 2018 author guidance from Collaboration for Environmental Evidence

Review Reporting Guidelines

PRISMA (Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses)
PRISMA extension of Scoping Reviews (PRISMA - ScR)
Tricco AC, Lillie E, Zarin W, O'Brien KK, Colquhoun H, Levac D, et al. PRISMA Extension for Scoping Reviews (PRISMA-ScR): Checklist and Explanation. Ann Intern Med. [Epub ahead of print ] doi: 10.7326/M18-0850
ROSES Reporting Guidelines for Environmental Research
RepOrting standards for Systematic Evidence Syntheses in environmental research

Standards

Searching

Chart for tracking search terms
Search Syntax Guide
Use this quick reference when translating searches between databases.

The Yale MeSH Analyzer
This useful tool allows you to copy and paste any block of text that includes PubMed ID numbers (PMIDs). The tool scans the PMIDs and provides each article's metadata, including a list of MeSH terms used.
Systematic review accelerator
Tool to help translate searches between syntax used in various databases

General Tips

PubMed tips and tricks handout
PubMed Cheat Sheet from CADTH
handout highlights important features of PubMed

Guidelines and checklists article
Lockwood, C., and Oh, E. G. (2017) Systematic reviews: Guidelines, tools and checklists for authors. Nursing & Health Sciences, 19: 273–277. doi: 10.1111/nhs.12353.
Searching for studies: A guide to information retrieval for Campbell systematic reviews
MacDonald, H., Comer, C., Foster, M., Labelle, P. R., Marsalis, S., Nyhan, K., Premji, Z., Rogers, M., Splenda, R., Stansfield, C., & Young, S. (2024). Searching for studies: A guide to information retrieval for Campbell systematic reviews. Campbell systematic reviews, 20(3), e1433. https://doi.org/10.1002/cl2.1433

Registering Your Systematic Review

Why register?

Conducting a systematic review is a lengthy and work-intensive project that can have lasting effects on the health research community. That is why it's important to be sure no previous systematic review work has already been completed on your topic. Registering your systematic review extends this courtesy to the community by alerting them about your research plans and progress.

PROSPERO - International prospective register of systematic reviews
Run by the National Institute for Health Research (NHR) and the University of York, PROSPERO offers free registration for prospective systematic reviews.
Cochrane Review Groups
Cochrane reviews must be registered under the appropriate Review Group. Each Group covers a specific subject area within the health sciences.
The BEME Collaboration
Run by the Best Evidence Medical Education (BEME) Collaboration, an international group dedicated to promoting the latest evidence-based educational research.

Review Management Software

Review management software tools are specifically tailored to the needs of knowledge synthesis teams. In addition to reference management, some of these tools can also help with data extraction, perform meta-analysis, track team progress, and facilitate communication between members. As indicated below, some of these tools are fee-based. You should also bear in mind that not every tool is appropriate for every kind of synthesis or review - be sure to choose the right fit for your project.

Covidence
Subscription to unlimited reviews provided by Dalhousie Libraries. Tiered fee structure for those not affiliated to an institutional account; Supports screening on mobile devices. Recommended by Cochrane.
COLANDR
Free; requires registration and login. Includes review planning and project management tools as well as collaborative screening.
Rayyan
Rayyan is a Free web application to help systematic review authors and has a mobile app (works offline and then syncs back to servers when online).
CADIMA
Free; Includes training material and offers online training. Developed for syntheses in environmental sciences, but works for reviews across disciplines.
EPPI-Reviewer 4
Fee-based; offers one-month free trial. Features include data extraction, coding, and meta-analysis.
Distiller
Fee-based; offers special pricing for students (free for 4 months; $15USD/mo after that) and Cochrane Review Groups. Available in two versions (DistillerSR and DistillerCER) with varying features.
JBI SUMARI tool
Free with JBI subscription; requires login. JBI SUMARI supports the entire review process, from drafting your protocol, study selection, critical appraisal, data extraction and synthesis.
Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR)
Free; requires login. This systematic review repository also acts as a data extraction tool.
Systematic Review Toolbox
Database of tools and software to assist with a variety of evidence synthesis projects

Review Management Software Articles

Article comparing SR management tools by Kohl et al. (2018)

Covidence and Rayyan product review

Article comparing SR management tools by van der Mierden et al. (2019)

Review of JBI SUMARI tool

Principles and Practice of Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis by Sanjay Patole (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021
Available online
Systematic Reviews in Educational Research by Zawacki-Richter, Kerres, Bedenlier, Bond, & Buntins, eds.
Publication Date: 2020
Open Access book

Literature Review Matrix Templates
Walden University guide on using a literature review matrix to take notes on relevant papers for a general literature review (also applicable for the intro section of a research synthesis, such as systematic or scoping review).

Advanced Research Skills: Conducting Literature and Systematic Reviews
A short OER-based course for graduate students to increase their proficiency in conducting research for literature and systematic reviews. After taking the mini course students will understand how to conduct their review, how to execute appropriate searches, manage their results and demonstrate strategic reading skills.
Systematic Review and Systematic Mapping Online Course
Open education resource provides certificate upon completion
Cochrane Tutorials
Learning tutorials for individuals interested in conducting, editing or reading a systematic review. Good for both novices and experts to the systematic review process.
John Hopkins MOOC
Free MOOC offered several times per year.
JBI YouTube channel
Includes playlists with videos and recorded seminars on various types of review methods
JBI Scoping Review YouTube Playlist
JBI leads in providing methods for scoping reviews, and in the provision of support for scoping review authors.
For guidance to conduct a scoping review, go to Chapter 11 in the JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis at synthesismanual.jbi.global
For more resources go to jbi.global/scoping-review-network
Evidence Synthesis Institute Canada
Pressbook with presentation slides and resources from ESI Canada. The Institute is aimed at library staff supporting evidence syntheses in topics outside of the health sciences and will cover:
- overview of systematic reviews and similar methodologies,
- guidelines and standards,
- search strategy development,
- software tools,
- quality assessment, and
- systematic review services.
Rapid appraisal of systematic reviews tutorial
Three short modules on using a framework to critically assess published systematic reviews. Produced by the Institute for Evidence-Based Healthcare at Bond University.
Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis: A Campbell Collaboration Online Course
Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis: A Campbell Collaboration Online Course provides an overview of the steps involved in conducting a systematic (scientific) review of results of multiple quantitative studies. These steps include: problem formulation, searching for relevant literature, screening potentially eligible studies, coding and critically appraising studies, synthesizing results across studies using meta-analysis, reporting and disseminating results, and updating or re-analysis of data.

The Research Camp includes Modules on Evidence Synthesis Methods, Covidence, and Advanced searching. Self-enroll in the Online Community - Research Camp 2023 - 2024 for the current offering of these asynchronous modules hosted through BrightSpace.

Research Camp for Research Assistants, Teaching Assistants, and Grad Students
by Lindsay McNiff Last Updated Apr 10, 2025 1568 views this year

Knowledge Syntheses: A How-To Guide