Skip to main content

Agricola Collections

A guide to the MacRae Library's Archives & Special Collections

Agricola Collections Hours

Academic Term & Summer Hours

Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Closed Weekends & Holidays

*By appointment only, please allow 24 hours notice*

MacRae Library Hours

Academic Term Hours:

Monday-Thursday: 8:30am-10:30pm

Friday: 8:30am-6:00pm

Saturday: 12:00pm-5:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-10:30pm

Summer Hours (April 16-September 3)

Monday-Friday: 8:30am-4:30pm
Closed Weekends and Holidays

Introduction

Atlantic Canada Co-operative Archives

The Atlantic Canada Co-operative Archives was established at NSAC as part of the Agricola Collections in the summer of 2004, as a joint project of the Nova Scotia Co-operatives Council and the MacRae Library.

Introduction

The Co-operative Archives are meant to encompass co-operatives information covering the entire region of Atlantic Canada, including Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, as well as the Magdalen Islands. Currently, the majority of the material found in the Archives relates to Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, with plans to acquire more information from the rest of Atlantic Canada in the future.

The Archives contains information about many individual co-operatives and credit unions, as well as documents from larger region-wide co-operative organizations. There is also a large section of general co-operative literature that may be useful to those who would like to learn more about co-operation as a social movement, in Canada or around the world.

Most of the materials in the Archives have been donated by key individuals and organizations that have been active in the co-operative movement in Atlantic Canada. Major contributors have been George LaBelle, Paddy Moran, Fred Pierce, the NS Co-operatives Branch and the NS Co-operative Council.

 

*View Co-operative Finding Aid*

 

Atlantic Canada Co-operative