Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 105,890 CDs with more than 1,540,300 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 650 record labels, with more labels joining every month. Along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented. The contents can be searched by composer, work, genre and label; by keyword search; and by a sophisticated advanced search engine with up to 11 combined search criteria. In addition to allowing subscribers to listen to recordings, NML provides liner notes for many recordings. Listeners can create personalized playlists or use predefined Naxos Music Library playlists. Our license specifies that only 20 users may access Naxos at a time. If you are unable to gain access, the license user limit may have been exceeded, please wait a few minutes and try connecting again.
Naxos Music Library also provides background information, including:
Audio book transcriptions about the history of classical music and opera with listening examples
Pronunciation guide for composer and artist names;
Students can use this guide to access Naxos Music Library, create a “student/member playlist” account, install the Naxos app on an iOS or Android device, access course playlists, and create and update personal playlists.
The Great 78 Project is a community project for the preservation, research and discovery of 78rpm records. From about 1898 to the 1950s, an estimated 3 million sides (~3 minute recordings) have been made on 78rpm discs. While the commercially viable recordings will have been restored or remastered onto LP’s or CD, there is still research value in the artifacts and usage evidence in the often rare 78rpm discs and recordings. Already, over 20 collections have been selected by the Internet Archive for physical and digital preservation and access. Started by many volunteer collectors, these new collections have been selected, digitized and preserved by the Internet Archive, George Blood LP, and the Archive of Contemporary Music.
The AHRC Research Centre for the History and Analysis of Recorded Music (CHARM) is a partnership of Royal Holloway, University of London (host institution) with King's College, London and the University of Sheffield.
CHARM's website includes a library of nearly 5,000 ex-copyright sound recordings transferred from 78rpm discs held by the King's Sound Archive at King's College London. CHARM sound recordings have a special focus on Schubert songs and also aims to cover a broad range of performers in Classical repertoire, avoiding where possible tracks that were already widely available in CD or online reissues.
The CHARM audio download files are available only in the FLAC format.
These 16,000 BBC Sound Effects are made available by the BBC in WAV format to download for use under the terms of the RemArc Licence. The Sound Effects are BBC copyright, but they may be used for personal, educational or research purposes, as detailed in the license.
For commercial use, you can buy individual sound effects here.
Access dataset metadata by visiting our dedicated LOD site. If you have any queries regarding usage, please contact jake.berger at bbc.co.uk.
Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
Many musicians choose to release their songs under Creative Commons licenses, which give you the legal right to do things like use their music in your videos. This page includes links to websites that offer music published under Creative Commons’ flexible copyright licenses.
The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads directed by WFMU, the most renowned freeform radio station in America.
Every MP3 you discover on The Free Music Archive is pre-cleared for certain types of uses that would otherwise be prohibited by copyright laws that were not designed for the digital era. These uses vary and are determined by the rights-holders themselves who feel that allowing a degree of free cultural access is beneficial not only to their own pursuits, but to our society as a whole.
From the Musical Technology Group of the Universitat Pompeu Fabra in Barcelona, Spain comes Freesound, a collection of "audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps" that have all been released under Creative Commons licenses to allow their reuse. Intended for sound artists to use as they create songs and other works, this collection may also appeal to anyone looking to integrate sounds into a professional presentation or educational video. New users may want to start by checking out licensing information, available in the Frequently Asked Questions section of the Help page. Visitors can learn about how to properly attribute sounds to ensure that they use this service legally and fairly. Visitors can also browse a large collection of sounds, accompanied by descriptions, via the Sound section. Available sounds range from short instrumentals to the sound of heavy rain to a "windy farmland" recorded in the Netherlands.
etree.org is a community committed to providing the highest quality live concerts in a lossless, downloadable format. The Internet Archive has teamed up with etree.org to preserve and archive as many live concerts as possible for current and future generations to enjoy. All music in this Collection is from trade-friendly artists and is strictly non-commercial, both for access here and for any further distribution. Artists' commercial releases are off-limits. This collection is maintained by the etree.org community.
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. Recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment, which has granted the Library of Congress a gratis license to stream acoustical recordings.
At launch, the Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content will be increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles made by other Sony-owned U.S. labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others.