Large collection of original editions prepared from primary sources by Gordon J. Callon. Available for download as PDF. Some scores are also available for download as Sibelius files (.SIB) and PostScript files (.EPS).
Contains 4291 song sheets. Included among these American songs are ninety-seven British song sheets from Dublin and London. The collection spans the period from the turn of the nineteenth century to the 1880s, although a majority of the song sheets were published during the height of the craze, from the 1850s to the 1870s. Held by the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress.
"The Complete Marches of John Philip Sousa" is a multi-year recording project and is the Marine Band's first comprehensive collection of Sousa's marches since the 1970s. Initiated by Director Col. Jason K. Fettig, the collection is presented in chronological order.
The volumes are available for free download exclusively on the Marine Band website, along with scrolling videos and PDFs of the full scores that include historical and editorial notes about each piece. Each march has been carefully edited and corrected by Col. Fettig and Music Production Chief Master Gunnery Sgt. Donald Patterson using some of the earliest known publications and incorporate performance practices employed by the Marine Band that are modeled on those of "The March King" himself.
Published by the UCLA Music Library in eScholarship, the Contemporary Music Score Collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.
The Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music (DIAMM) contains more than 14,000 digital images of medieval and early modern manuscripts of polyphony, the simultaneous performance of multiple melodies. Combining high-quality images of music manuscripts alongside detailed metadata (including Description, Bibliography, Commentary, and Contributors), DIAMM is an extensive resource for scholars and librarians of medieval music and manuscripts. This vast collection of images not only facilitates musicological research, but digitally preserves the content of parchment manuscripts which are otherwise vulnerable to damage and illegibility over time. Visitors to the site may conduct a simple search from the homepage or perform an advanced search to further narrow results by Composer, Genre, Archive Location, and other filters. Recently Added Sources are listed on the homepage and currently include items from the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries. To get the most from this resource, visitors will need to register for a free account.
The Library of Congress classification number M1.A1 includes music printed or 'copied in manuscript' in the United States or the colonies through 1820. As an early record of musical life in America and the colonies, this classification number holds many interesting popular and topical pieces. Contemporary English composers such as Samuel Arnold, Charles Dibdin, and William Shield are well-represented as one would expect. There are also songs and arias of Mozart, Gluck, Schubert, and other European composers published in English translation. Perhaps most importantly, this classification number documents early American compositions such as the piano pieces of Alexander Reinagle (piano teacher to George Washington's step-granddaughter at Mount Vernon), the songs of Benjamin Carr (an important music publisher and composer), the music of Francis Hopkinson (signer of the Declaration of Independence), topical pieces such as "Battle of Trenton: a favorite historical sonata for the piano-forte" by James Hewitt, and collections of social dance music such as "Admired cotillions for balls and private parties: with new figures" published by G.E. Blake of Philadelphia.
Early Music Online has digitized over 320 volumes of 16th-century anthologies of printed music, from holdings at the British Library. These digitized volumes contain approximately 10,000 musical compositions, which have been individually indexed. The volumes mainly consist of partbooks of vocal polyphony, but also include some early printed tablatures for keyboard or plucked string instruments. They include music printed in Italy, Germany, France and England.
Kronos Quartet is commissioning a library of fifty works designed to guide young amateur and early-career professional string quartets in developing and honing the skills required for the performance of 21st-century repertoire. Each of the fifty works will be an artistically complete composition that will be premiered by Kronos with the entire Fifty for the Future body of work becoming a core component of its own repertoire over five performance seasons (2015/2016 through 2019/2020). Digital versions of the scores and parts, recordings, and other pedagogical materials for each work can be accessed on the Kronos Quartet website free of charge.
The International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) maintains the IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library, an online resource with public domain scores and some contemporary scores released to the public free of charge. The site contains 123,430 works, 405,950 scores, 46,745 recordings, 15,424 composers, and 446 performers.
The Music Treasures Consortium is an alliance of many libraries with holdings of unique music resources, including music manuscripts, prints, and first and early editions. The Library of Congress is hosting the consortium Web site which gives bibliographic information on each item; access to the digital items is provided through links to the holding library's own Web site. Since each library provides bibliographic information for its items, the amount of information in each record may vary according to each institution's practice. Similarly, the interface and tools for each digital item will vary according to institution.
The Open Music Library is a new initiative from Alexander Street to build the world’s most comprehensive open network of digital resources for the study of music.
Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections. Contains more than 200,000 scores.