LibGuides: Medicine: Home

Welcome to the Medicine Library Guide! This guide is maintained by the Dalhousie Medicine librarians in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, and contains resources such as books, databases, study tools, and more to help you with your coursework and research.

General Resources

Dynamed This link opens in a new window
Dynamed contains clinically-oriented, evidence-based summaries written by medical experts for point-of-care use by physicians, medical students, nurses, pharmacists, physical therapists and other health care professionals.
CPS (formerly called RxTx) This link opens in a new window
Thank you to Dr. Dale Dauphinee for partnering on this subscription. E-therapeutics+ includes the following products: Therapeutics, based on the publication "Therapeutic Choices", edited by Jean Gray, e-CPS Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties, Lexi-Interact Online, a drug interactions program, patient information and e-Therapeutics Mobile offering two applications for your handheld devices.
BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
BMJ Best Practice combines the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach and covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. BMJ Best Practice gives medical professionals the best available information for any clinical situation. Regularly updated, it draws on the latest evidence-based research to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.
Lexi-Comp Online with AHFS (Medicine) This link opens in a new window
Lexi-Comp Online is a comprehensive drug information source and clinical, point-of-care tool. It provides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, alternative medicine, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and acute/emergency care. Includes access to Martindale and RED book. Clinical use not permitted
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system which combines high-quality, peer-reviewed medical images and concise, actionable information to assist in the accurate recognition and management of disease. Health care professionals can input visual clues, symptoms, and patient history to help make the correct diagnosis.
The mobile app for VisualDx now includes a DermExpert AI feature that provides diagnosis support based on user-generated photos. These temporary photos are not stored in the app or mobile device, nor are they shared to any other server. It is still advised to not include any personally identifying features in images used with this feature.

Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference
Drug reference listing over 6,700 drugs and other substances of interest in medicine. Available in print from Dalhousie Libraries.

Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Formerly Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.

Guide to Diagnostic Tests
Includes descriptions of common laboratory & imaging tests, microbiology testing, diagnostic algorithms & differential diagnoses
Diagnosaurus
Decision support tool with 1000+ differential diagnoses, searchable by disease, symptom or organ system.

Dalhousie Libraries E-Journal Lookup
Use the Dalhousie Libraries catalogue to look up e-journals. Click the 'e-journals' tab, type in the name of the journal, and browse our subscription.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Created by Cochrane Collaboration designed to provide evidence to inform health care decision making. Comprised of six databases including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) and others.
Mobile Access: The Cochrane Library app is available for iOS / Android.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
International database of medical literature with coverage of drug research, pharmacology, human medicine (clinical and experimental), public health, psychiatry, biomedical engineering, and more. There are over 17 millions records indexed in EMBASE (1974-) and MEDLINE (1966-) with over 2,000 records added daily.
PubMed - MEDLINE with Dal journal links This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Provides bibliographic access to 4600 biomedical journals indexed at the National Library of Medicine. Coverage is international and dates from the early 1950s.
Mobile Access: PubMed has a mobile website intended for discovery of articles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary library of psychological sciences by the American Psychological Association (APA). PsycINFO includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behaviour. Provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present.
Mobile Access: PyscINFO can be accessed through the EBSCOHost mobile website or app for iOS / Android.
CINAHL Full Text This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature. CINAHL is a core resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982.
Mobile Access: CINAHL Full Text can be accessed through the EBSCOHost mobile website or app for iOS / Android.

Did you know we have a large collection of video tutorials to help you in your research? Here are some specific videos to get you started:

Welcome to the Kellogg Library

PubMed Searching

Evidence Based Practice Module 1: Asking an Answerable Clinical Question

Evidence Based Practice Module 2: Developing a Viable Search Strategy

Want more? Check out the complete list of videos at Dalhousie Libraries.

Media Resources in Health Sciences
A guide to the Kellogg Health Sciences Library's range of video and image sources, including study tools for medicine and nursing.
Board Vitals
Board Vitals are an effective, powerful exam review tool. After users create a personal account using their Dalhousie email address, they will have access to practice tests for the USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3 as well as Shelf Exams for seven medical specialties.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Because of its realism, simple language, and three-dimensional quality, this Anatomy video atlas has become popular with students and teachers in many fields
OSCEs Videos
Objective Structured Clinical Examinations (commonly called “OSCEs” oskees) are designed to test clinical skill performance and competence using real or simulated patients. Preparing for OSCEs is very different from preparing for a more traditional examination. This series of OSCE Clinical Skills Videos are designed to help students prepare for OSCEs by testing their clinical reasoning skills. In each video a clinical encounter is presented and the viewer is given the opportunity to develop an assessment, or differential diagnosis, and provide an appropriate diagnostic workup.
Stat!Ref & Anatomy.Tv
Collection of core textbooks and dictionaries, as well as Anatomy.Tv (3D images of anatomical structures). Our license for STAT!Ref allows for five concurrent users. To facilitate access for other users, please use the "log off" button to exit when you are finished.
AccessMedicine Study Tools
After users create a personal account using their Dalhousie email address, they can create multiple choice review questions, use flashcards, and play study games with Access Medicine's study tools section.

Fast Facts

These books are intended for looking up quick facts. All are available online.

The Secrets Series

These books provide quick information in a question-and-answer format for practice and review.

Frequently Used Links

DalMedix
DalOnline
Library off-campus login
Download Dal's VPN
My.Dal
One45
Brightspace
Book a Dal study room
Book a UNB study room
Activate your DalCard with the Library
You will need your DalCard to do this.
Security at UNBSJ
Information on how to get your UNB ID card and a parking permit
Upcoming events @ Dal Libraries

Medicine

Halifax Librarian

Robin Parker

Saint John Librarian

Jackie Phinney

Upcoming Library Events

Welcome to the Medicine Library Guide! This guide is maintained by the Dalhousie Medicine librarians in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, and contains resources such as books, databases, study tools, and more to help you with your coursework and research.

General Resources

Fast Facts

The Secrets Series

Frequently Used Links