Criminal Law

(WestlawEdge Canada - Law student password required)
Legislation, criminal digests, annotated codes (Tremeear's, Crankshaw's, and Cournoyer & Ouimet), articles, and newsletters.

(Lexis + - Law student password required)
Statutes, digests, encyclopedias, and netletters.

The official Canadian government website for legislation. Includes up to date versions, consolidations, and revisions of statutes in both web and PDF formats.

The legislative website for the province of Nova Scotia, containing digital versions of provincial bills, statutes, and proclamations. It also includes legislative debates and other information.

A website providing an overview of Parliamentary events, debates, and documents. Includes texts of bills and debates that are helpful in researching the history of legislation and legislative intent.

A database published by Lexis containing caselaw, noting up tools, and related resources. Password restricted (law students and practitioners only).

A database published by Thomson Reuters containing caselaw, noting up tools, and related resources. Password restricted (law students and practitioners only).

Run by the Canadian Legal Information Institute, this database contains legislation, case law, and commentary on Canadian law.

Justis gives you access to hundreds of thousands of case judgments and legislation from common law jurisdictions around the world.

A database containing treaties, cases, and related publications for International Law and arbitration.

LLMC is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. LLMC provides libraries with a reliable and budget-friendly source of digital replacement when their older, physically deteriorating books became too burdensome to store given diminished use. While aiding libraries in their preservation and space recovery programs, it also provides an economical way to complete retrospective collections.

Run by the Canadian Legal Information Institute, this database contains legislation, case law, and commentary on Canadian law.

A database published by Lexis containing caselaw, noting up tools, and related resources. Password restricted (law students and practitioners only).

A database published by Thomson Reuters containing caselaw, noting up tools, and related resources. Password restricted (law students and practitioners only).

A stripped down and publicly available version of Lexis Advance. A database published by Lexis containing caselaw and related resources

Justis gives you access to hundreds of thousands of case judgments and legislation from common law jurisdictions around the world.

A database containing treaties, cases, and related publications for International Law and arbitration.

LLMC is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. LLMC provides libraries with a reliable and budget-friendly source of digital replacement when their older, physically deteriorating books became too burdensome to store given diminished use. While aiding libraries in their preservation and space recovery programs, it also provides an economical way to complete retrospective collections.

Subjects include: correctional services, crimes and offences, justice system spending, and victims and victimization.

These reports contain statistics and analyses regarding the justice system in Canada.

As part of Halifax Regional Municipality’s commitment to improving citizen engagement and enhancing transparency and accountability to its residents, the municipality is pleased to provide public access to its data. Open Data is a permanent service provided to citizens and businesses to access data free of charge in machine readable format.

An interactive site which is updated daily at midnight with incidents of five specific crime types-- robberies, assaults, break and enters, thefts of vehicles, and thefts from vehicles. These crime types were selected given that people can take steps to protect themselves rom becoming a victim if armed with information about what's happening in the community.

Since 1981, the Federal, Provincial and Territorial Deputy Ministers Responsible for Justice and Public Safety in Canada have been working together, along with the Chief Statistician of Canada, in an enterprise known as the National Justice Statistics Initiative (NJSI). The mandate of the NJSI is to provide information to the justice community and the public on the nature and extent of crime and victimization and the administration of criminal and civil justice in Canada. As the operational arm of the NJSI, the Canadian Centre for Justice and Community Safety Statistics (CCJCSS), a division of Statistics Canada, is responsible for the development, collection, integration and analysis of data that reflect trends in Canada and on the development of national- and jurisdictional-level indicators.

The dataset includes crime statistics at the provincial and police service levels. It is based on police reported incidents of crime reported through the Uniform Crime Reporting Survey (UCR). Statistics include the crime severity index, violent crime severity index, and non-violent crime severity index overall for provincial and police service levels. The Youth Crime Severity Index is based on the same principles as the overall Crime Severity Index, which reflects the seriousness of offences, but uses the number of youths accused instead of an incident count. Statistics included are: youth crime severity index, youth violent crime severity index and youth non-violent crime severity index for provincial level data only. This data is sourced from Statistics Canada through CANSIM.