The 12th edition provides a valuable teaching tool for introductory courses on criminal law and criminal justice. Students are provided with an overview of the entire criminal process, from police investigation to sentencing.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reserve Collection KB 90 E94 1987
Publication Date: 1987
This is the definitive manual for analyzing and clarifying legal principles and rules in an accessible and comprehensive manner for the judiciary, Crown, and defence counsel. The resource provides extraordinary remedies and appeals to all levels of courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reserve Collection KB 92 B473 and online via Proview
Publication Date: 2000
This manual will assist the criminal law practitioner, whether defence counsel, Crown counsel, judge, law enforcement officer, or student, to quickly address problems commonly arising in the practice of criminal law. Whenever procedural or evidentiary issues arise in preparing for a trial or mid-way through a trial, the manual will be of great help, especially with the key principles, procedures, and practice points necessary for quick reference.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reference Collection KB 92 C851 2020 and online via NovaNet
Publication Date: 2008
This book sets out and examines the law governing criminal procedure in Canada. It explains the body of rules and principles that govern the investigation, prosecution, and adjudication of any offence enacted by Parliament for which an accused person would have a criminal record if found guilty by a court exercising jurisdiction under the Criminal Code. These include such things as police powers to search, detain, or arrest; the right to counsel; interim release; disclosure and production; informations and indictments; jury selection and deliberation; trial within a reasonable time; and appeals. This fourth edition updates the law in all areas of criminal procedure. Most notably, it incorporates significant discussion of Bill C-75, which has made changes to a great many areas of the Criminal Code, including powers of arrest, preliminary inquiries, and the jury selection process. In addition, it includes discussion of significant new Supreme Court of Canada cases, such as Le on arbitrary detention and racial profiling; Fleming v Ontario on powers of arrest; Saeed on search incident to arrest; Marakah, Jones, Reeves, and Mills on reasonable expectation of privacy; Antic on bail; and Jordan, Cody, and KJM on trial within a reasonable time.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reserve Collection JX 5415 B68 2018
Publication Date: 2018
This book examines how states must cooperate to tackle some of the greatest security threats in this century so far, analyses to what extent vested interests have determined the course of global policy and law enforcement, and illustrates how responding to transnational crime itself becomes a form of international relations which reorders global political power and becomes, at least in part, an end in itself. Arguing that transnational criminal law is currently geared towards suppressing criminal activity, but is not as committed to ensuring justice, Boister suggests that it might be more strongly influenced by individual moral panics and a desire for criminal retribution than an interest in ensuring a proportional response to offences, protection of human rights, and the preservation of the rule of law.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reserve Collection KB 91 L432 2021
Publication Date: 1982
This fifteenth edition continues to focus on tools students must acquire to be effective criminal lawyers, including critical skills. The aim is to explore substantive principles and the trial context: the adversary system, how elements of crime are proved, principles of act and fault, legal justifications and excuses, and sentencing principles. Integrated throughout is a consideration of the impact of the Charter. The focus is on major sources: the Criminal Code itself and key judicial decisions. Learning is facilitated by notes, questions, problems and general review questions.
Certain types of crime are increasingly being perpetrated across national borders and require a unified regional or global response to combat them. Transnational criminal law covers both the international treaty obligations which requires states to introduce specific substantive measures into their domestic criminal law schemes, and an allied procedural dimension concerned with the articulation of inter-state cooperation in pursuit of the alleged transnational criminal. This book provides a comprehensive overview of the system which is designed to regulate cross border crime.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reserve Collection KB 89 .J92 H31 2003 and online via Proview
Publication Date: 2003
The Youth Criminal Justice Act Manual offers a condensed, annotated, critical analysis of major youth topics in the Youth Criminal Justice Act (YCJA). The work contains find flow charts, overviews, and a sequential learning system that helps you quickly understand the law and develop practical, detailed positions efficiently and convincingly.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reserve Collection KB 90 C21m and online via Westlaw Edge (Dal Law students only)
Publication Date: 2012
An annotated edition of the Criminal Code and related statutes that incorporates commentary and relevant case law. It includes full annotations of the Criminal Code of Canada, the Canada Evidence Act, the Controlled Drugs and Substance Act, the Crimes Against Humanity and War Crimes Act, the Youth Criminal Justice Act and excerpts from the Constitution Act, 1982.
Criminal Statutes on Justice Laws
Key statutes relating to Criminal Law in Canada, available on Justice Laws Canada. Statutes can also be accessed on CanLII.