LibGuides: International Students' Guide to the Dalhousie Libraries: Dictionaries + Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias You May Find Useful

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

Fowler's concise dictionary of modern English usage
This e-dictionary offers the best available advice on English usage in an accessible quick-reference format. It provides clear, practical and up-to-date guidance on questions of grammar, spelling, style, and word choice.
Shorter Slang Dictionary
This e-dictionary brings together some 5000 contemporary slang expressions originating in all parts of the English-speaking world. It gives clear, concise definitions of each word, with examples of their use and additional information.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an online reference library that provides you with access to a selection of more than 1000 reference books and over 200,000 related images. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas. Subject categories include Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Sciences.