Books

Books, sometimes also called texts or monographs, are relatively lengthy works, often on a single topic. They may be print or electronic.

Search for books using the Library catalogue, called Novanet, and select the Books' tab. The Novanet search box can be found on the Libraries' homepage and is labelled: Search Library Resources.

What are Journals?

The words journal, serial, and periodical are often used to refer to the same type of resource -- a publication that is issued on a regular schedule, for example every week (like Newsweek), every month (like National Geographic), or every year (like the Annual Review of Anthropology).

Journals can be popular (like People, Psychology Today), or scholarly/academic. Scholarly or academic journals are collections of articles written by professors, researchers, or experts in a given field.

If articles in a journal undergo a review process by other experts in a particular field of study, prior to publication, these articles are known as peer-reviewed.

How to Find Journals at the Dalhousie Libraries

You can find print and electronic journals held at the Dalhousie Libraries, by doing a journal search on the Libraries' homepage, using the search box, and selecting the Journals' tab:

The Peer Review Process

Peer-reviewed journal articles go through a checking or verification process before they are published. Other experts in the same field of study as that of the article, examine the article's content to make sure it is valid and correct before the article is published. Articles can be accepted as is, sent back for revisions, or rejected outright. Published articles that have gone through this validation process are known as peer-reviewed articles.

This is a visual image of the peer-review process:

https://ucsd.libguides.com/CAT3/peerreview

What are Databases?

A database is a collection of information stored in an electronic format, that can be searched by a computer.

Quite often, students search a database to find journal articles. Databases can also contain:

conference proceedings/articles, technical reports, books, book reviews, theses, dissertations, and other types of information.

Some databases are full-text, which means you can find the full-text of your articles or other documents. Other databases are citation and abstract databases only, which means they give you citation information about your article, a summary of the contents, and quite often links to full-text. Citation and abstract databases do not contain the full-text within the database.

Databases can be general in nature and cover many different subjects. Or, databases can be subject specific, with information focused on certain subjects.

Some general databases are: EBSCO Academic Search Premier, CBCA Complete, Credo Reference, JSTOR, Research Library.

Subject specific databases at the Dalhousie Libraries include: Agriculture & Environmental Science, Anthropological Index Online, Biological Abstracts, Compendex (Engineering Village), Econlit, Food Science and Technology Abstracts, Historical Abstracts, Naxos Music Library, Opera in Video, Philosopher's Index, IEEE/IEE Electronic Library, The Avery Index (Architecture).

How to Find Databases at the Dalhousie Libraries

You can find databases held at the Dalhousie Libraries, by doing a database search on the Libraries' homepage, using the search box, selecting the Databases' tab:

If you need help deciding which database to use for your research, a good place to start is with the Research Guide for your specific program or area of study. Most guides have a tab for databases or finding journal articles. Also, do not hesitate to reach out to your subject librarian!

Search Google Scholar

Set up Google Scholar to Link to Dalhousie E-Resources

Google Scholar is easy to use and searching is familiar since most of us use Google.

You can set up Google Scholar to link to the Dalhousie Libraries' electronic resources so that you have access to fulltext.

Go to Google Scholar
Click on the Menu (the 3 horizontal lines) in the top left-hand corner :
Select Settings or the gear icon:
Click "Library Links"
Search for Dalhousie
Check the box beside:

Save your selection

Now when you do a search, you will see links like this next to entries, when full text is available: