Environmental Law

For more than a century, Black's Law Dictionary has been the gold standard for the language of law. This edition contains more than 50,000 terms, including more than 7,500 terms new to this edition. It also features expanded bibliographic coverage, definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms, and reviewed and edited Latin maxims.

This expanded & updated reference source reflects all recent changes in Canadian law. A new appendix provides a concise guide to legal citation & information on legal source materials, particularly cases & statutes. This book defines virtually every term that applies to Canadian national, provincial, & local laws. The Canadian Charter of Rights & Freedoms is also presented complete in this edition. Here is an exceptionally useful reference source for Canadian law students, practitioners, legal secretaries, & anyone seeking general information on details of Canadian law.

2nd floor, aisle 34 and online via WestLaw Edge (law students only)
The Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (CED) is published by Carswell and is divided into a Western volume and an Ontario volume. Both include references to other provinces but there is a higher number of references to sources from Ontario, British Columbia, and Alberta. The Sir James Dunn Law Library has print copies of the Ontario volumes only. The titles are organized topically into broad areas of law and broken down into subheadings for easy navigation and context. Entries provide brief summaries of the law as well as key authorities.
Relevant Volumes: Environmental Law, Vol 23; Fish & Wildlife, Vol 29

2nd floor, aisle 34 and online via Lexis Advance Quicklaw (law students only)
Halsbury’s Laws of Canada, often referred to as simply Halsbury’s, is published by LexisNexis. The print version is published in editions that are updated approximately every 5 years, though some titles are updated more frequently. The titles are organized topically into broad areas of law and broken down into subheadings for easy navigation and context. Entries provide brief summaries of the law as well as key authorities.
Relevant Volumes: Environment; Wildlife, Livestock and Pets; Natural Resources;

2nd floor, aisle 33 and online via WestLaw Edge (law students only)
The Canadian Abridgment is a key research tool for identifying cases. It is a digest service that arranges the abstracts of cases reported by topics in alphabetical order. Each volume includes a list of all the abbreviations used, a list of all the cases cited, and then a detailed table of contents. If you have identified your topic areas, you should be able to locate cases indexed under that topic. If the abstract seems useful, you may use the citation information to locate this case in print or a database.
Relevant Volume: Environmental Law- Vol 79, Natural Resources- Vol 84