Skip to Main Content

Archival Research

A guide on conducting archival research. Includes instructions on finding archival material at the Dalhousie Libraries.

About APA citation for archival material

Archival material is not included in the APA Publication Manual, 7th Edition. Please consult the APA Style website for more details on standards and procedures. For more information on how to cite additional archival formats, consult the APA Style page on Archival Documents and Collections

Reference list basic format

Author last name, First Initial. (year month day). Title [Description of material]. Name of collection (Reference code). Name of repository, Location of repository. Retrieved from URL if applicable.

In-text citation basic format

(Author's Last Name(s) or Organization, Year)

In-text citations and references

I'm citing a...


Letter

Reference

Hicks, H.D. (1956, October 24). Correspondence from Henry Davies Hicks to the Annapolis County electorate. Henry Davies Hicks fonds (MS-2-511, Box 15, Folder 9). Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. https://findingaids.library.dal.ca/andy-mackay-installed-as-president-of-dal-3549.

In-text citation

Parenthetical citation: (Hicks, 1956)

Narrative citation: Hicks (1956)


Textual document

Reference

Wilson, B. (2000). Typescript of short story Brothers and Sisters by Budge Wilson. Budge Wilson fonds (MS-2-650.2013-070, Box 3, Folder 9). Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

In-text citation

Parenthetical citation: (Wilson, 2000)

Narrative citation: Wilson (2000)


Graphic material

Some examples of graphic material can include: drawings, posters, paintings, cartoons, comics, prints, and broadsides.

Reference

Doyle, R. (1992). Costume design for Andromache and son. Robert Doyle fonds (MS-3-18, Box 6, Folder 5, Item 5). Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. https://findingaids.library.dal.ca/costume-design-for-andromache-and-son

In-text citation

Parenthetical citation: (Doyle, 1992).

Narrative citation: Doyle (1992)


Ephemera

Some examples of ephemera can include: postcards, posters, pamphlets, and broadsides.

Reference

Dalhousie Student Union. (1986). In Search of the Supernatural [poster]. Dalhousie University Reference Collection (MS-1-Ref, Box 16, Folder 27). Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

In-text citation

Parenthetical citation: (Dalhousie Student Union, 1986)

Narrative citation: Dalhousie Student Union (1986)


Photograph

Reference

Wamboldt-Waterfield Photography. (1981, February 7). Andy MacKay Installed as President of Dal [photograph]. Wamboldt Waterfield Photographic Collection (MS-4-250, Box 74, Folder 7). Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. https://findingaids.library.dal.ca/andy-mackay-installed-as-president-of-dal-3549.

In-text citation

Parenthetical citation: (Wamboldt-Waterfield Photography, 1981)

Narrative citation: Wamboldt-Waterfield Photography (1981)