LibGuides: Holistic Evaluation of Teaching Resource Guide: Further your research on teaching evaluation

Not finding what you're looking for?

This guide offers some examples of existing work on the uses of evidence of teaching. However, there is much more out there to explore! If you would like to find more resources, search our available databases for more teaching and learning literature.

Recommended databases for teaching and learning research

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Centre) - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
PROQUEST VERSION *Key database for Education* ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 775 periodicals in the discipline of education.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses available. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world (from 1861 to the present day) together with 1 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. Not all Dalhousie theses are indexed in ProQuest Dissertations & Theses. Please refer to Novanet for access to Dalhousie theses.
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Over 1,600 scholarly journals spanning all areas of the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for academic sources using the Google search engine.
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many databases purchased from EBSCO including: Academic Search Premier, America: History & Life, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, EconLit, Film & Television Literature Index, Gender Studies, GreenFILE, Historical Abstracts, International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, and SPORTDiscus.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
This link provides access to the databases purchased from Proquest: ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Canadian Periodicals Canadian Research Index CBCA Complete ComDisDome Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) Dissertations & Theses @ Dalhousie University Environmental Science and Pollution Management ERIC GeoRef Index Islamicus International Index to Music Periodicals Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) PAIS Philosopher's Index ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source ProQuest Research Library Social Services Abstracts Sociological Abstracts
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dalhousie subscribes to JSTOR's Arts and Sciences I-VII, Business, Ecology and Botany, Language and Literature, and Life Sciences collections. These databases cover hundreds of journal title backfiles from 41 academic disciplines. It is a unique digital archive of journals, starting with the very first issues. The collection covers material from the 1800s up to a 'moving wall' of between zero and 8 years before current publication.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Search across all Project Muse titles for citations and articles of interest. Full-text of articles is available to only Dalhousie users
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis

Google Custom Search: Canadian academic sources
Created by Mount Royal University, this Google custom search will help target grey literature associated with Canadian academic institutions.

SoTL searching tips

Be open to reading and engaging with literature that is different from that of your discipline. You might have to search differently than you have in the past, use different terms, and be open to new methods and article styles.
Make use of the "Cited by" function in Google Scholar to find more relevant information
Remember that "not all SoTL work makes it into scholarly literature" (MacMillan, 2016), so don't forget to search the public web for grey literature.
- pairing allintitle: with your keywords in Google can help narrow your results
- try regional domain names, e.g. "undergraduate research" site:edu (for U.S.), "undergraduate research" site:ac.uk (for U.K.), "undergraduate research" site:edu.au (for Australia). Try this Google custom search (created at Mount Royal University) for Canadian academic content.

Credit: Margy MacMillan (cited in Chick, 2016)