Skip to main content

Agricola Collections

A guide to the MacRae Library's Archives & Special Collections

Agricola Collections Hours

Academic Term & Summer Hours

Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Closed Weekends & Holidays

*By appointment only (please allow 24hr notice)*

MacRae Library Hours

Academic Term Hours:

Monday-Thursday: 8:30am-10:30pm

Friday: 8:30am-6:00pm

Saturday: 12:00pm-5:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-10:30pm

Summer Hours (April 16-September 3)

Monday-Friday: 8:30am-4:30pm
Closed Weekends and Holidays

Other Collections

Other Collections

 John Edward McIntyre Fonds:

The archival fonds of John Edward McIntyre was donated to the MacRae Library by his daughter, Mrs. Patricia Kluepfel in 1992. The fonds consists of letters, journals, business records, photographs and artifacts relating to his career as an agriculturalist between 1920 and 1974. He worked for the New Brunswick Department of Agriculture, the Potash Company of Canada, Canadian National Railways and for many years was Secretary / Treasurer of the Maritime Fertilizer Council.

Catalogued: Yes
Interlibrary Loan: No
Restricted use: Use restricted to supervised consultation only.

Jean Mason Pell Collection:

In 1950 Jean Pell began writing radio scripts for the CBC for the popular farm radio broadcast, The Gillans of Sunnybrae Farm. Over the next twenty years she wrote over 6,500 scripts for the daily broadcast. Each was carefully researched to accurately depict the issues of the day faced by farmers and rural communities. With technical assistance of staff of the Nova Scotia Department of Agriculture and Marketing she also documented farm production problems and introduced new technologies. The collection contains carbon copies of the original typed manuscripts, now lost.

Catalogued: Yes
Interlibrary Loan: No
Restricted use: Use restricted to supervised consultation only.
Finding Aid: Finding Aid for Jean Mason Pell Collection (PDF 34KB)

Endel A. Karmo Beekeeping Collection:

Endel A. Karmo was the Nova Scotia Provincial Apiarist for many years, working closely with the blueberry researchers and producers in the early years of the industry. His collection contains textbooks, two of which date from the 1860's. The collection has been augmented by the office collections of those who succeeded Mr. Karmo in the position of Provincial Apiarist.

Catalogued: No
Interlibrary Loan: No
Restricted use: Use restricted to supervised consultation only.

Fred C. Sears Collection of Photographs:

This collection of about 200 glass negative and lantern slides was recently discovered in the basement of Harlow Institute, NSAC, Truro, NS. Most of the photographs depict apples and orchard practice. Notes on some of the sleeves of the negatives suggest that they date from the period 1906-1907. Fred C. Sears taught at the Horticultural School in Wolfville which operated from 1894-1904. Sears took up a position as Professor of Horticulture at NSAC from 1905-1907. In 1907 he accepted a position as Professor of Pomology at the Massachusetts Agricultural College. It was there in 1914 that he wrote a textbook entitled Productive Orcharding. The book is illustrated with photographs akin to those in this collection. One photo is the same as one in the collection, but from a different angle. It seems likely that many photographs illustrating the book were taken in Nova Scotia, probably Wolfville. Sears dedicated his book to Robert W. Starr, a close friend and former president of the Nova Scotia Fruit Growers Association. We have been unable to document who actually took the photographs, which show considerable skill and an artistic flair for composition. There is also a collection of Fred C. Sears manuscript materials which are housed separately.

Catalogued: No
Interlibrary Loan: No
Restricted use: Copy negatives have been made.