Skip to main content

Guide to Archival Research

A guide on using archival materials held in the University Archives

Citing Archival Digital Materials

Citing a digital object

The program, shown on the left, from the Dalhousie University Reference Collection, is found in the Dalhousie University Archives. It is both a paper document in the collection and a digital object in the online catalogue. To cite this document as a digital object using any citation format—APA, MLA, or Chicago Manual of Style—simply add the Reference URL at the end of the citation.

Munro Day program. 13 March 1951. MS-1-Ref, Box 29, Folder 30, Item 6. Dalhousie University Reference Collection. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. http://findingaids.library.dal.ca/munro-day-program-5

Modern Languages Association

In-text Citations with MLA

MLA follows an author-page format for in-text citation. You should provide enough information within the text to enable readers to locate the full source in the Works Cited page and to differentiate between multiple works by the same author. Usually the author’s surname is sufficient, and/or the date and/or title when citing multiple works by an author or an item with no known author.

... in his letter to the electorate (Hicks, 1956). Voting patterns are  treated in later reports (Annapolis County Chamber of Commerce) ....

Reference-page Citations with MLA

General format: Author (last name, first name). Title/description of material. Date (day month year). Call number, identifier or box/folder/item number. Collection name. Name of repository, location.

Letter

Hicks, Henry Davies. Letter to the Annapolis County electorate. 24 October 1956. MS-2-511, Box 15, Folder 9. Henry Davies Hicks fonds. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

Textual document

Wilson, Budge. Typescript of short story Brothers and Sisters. 2000. MS-2-650.2013-070, Box 3, Folder 9. Budge Wilson fonds. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

Photograph

Wamboldt-Waterfield Photography Studio. Photograph of Andy MacKay installed as President of Dalhousie. February 1981. MS-4-250, Box 74, Folder 7. Wamboldt-Waterfield Photographic Collection. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

Graphic material

Creighton, Catherine. Watercolour painting. [197-]. MS-2-656, Box 12, Folder 6. Catherine Creighton and family fonds. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

Ephemera

Dalhousie Student Union. "In Search of the Supernatural" [poster]. 1986. MS-1-Ref, Box 16, Folder 27. Dalhousie University Reference Collection. Dalhousie University Archives, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.