Communication Sciences and Disorders

The international Campbell Collaboration (C2) is a non-profit organization that aims to help people make well-informed decisions about the effects of interventions in the social, behavioral and educational arenas. C2's objectives are to prepare, maintain and disseminate systematic reviews of studies of interventions. In December 2000, the Cochrane Collaboration transferred SPECTR to the Campbell Collaboration. SPECTR is a registry of over 10,000 randomized and possibly randomized trials in education, social work and welfare, and criminal justice. Augmentation of this registry by the Campbell Collaboration began immediately, and the database was renamed C2-SPECTR.

Consists of three separate collections: Canadian Publishers Collection, Canadian Public Policy Collection, and the Canadian Health Research Collection.

An excellent resource for rehabilitation-related journals, which are potentially relevant to communications issues.

"...a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration."

Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.

The purpose of the Disability Statistics Center is to produce and disseminate statistical information on disability and the status of people with disabilities in American Society and to establish and monitor indicators of how conditions are changing over time to meet their health, housing, economic and social needs. The Center currently holds files and supporting documentation on the National Health Interview Survey, the Current Population Survey, 1990 Census, the National Medical Expenditure Survey, Survey of Income and Program Participation, Current Population Survey, AIDS Cost and Services Utilization Survey, Health and Retirement Survey, and many others.

There are over 17 million records indexed in EMBASE (1974-) and MEDLINE (1966-) with over 2,000 records added daily. All records are full indexed with EMTREE terms in 10-14 days. Each record contains the full bibliographic citation, indexing terms and codes; 80% of all citations in EMBASE include author-written abstracts. The EMBASE journal collection is international with over 6500 biomedical journals from 70 countries. EMBASE features comprehensive coverage of: Drug Research, Pharmacology, Pharmacy, Pharmacoeconomics, Pharmaceutics and Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental) Basic Biological Research Health Policy and Management Public, Occupational and Environmental Health, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science, Biomedical Engineering and Instrumentation.

Primary database for education. Addresses issues on learning disabilities.

Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Records start in the early 1800's and go all the way to our daily updates. Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine.

This database provides full text articles on current issues in psychology spanning from 1987 to the present. PsycARTICLES includes more than 34,000 full-text articles from 43 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO.

*Key database for Psychology*. Covers the academic, research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages. PsycINFO includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior. It is an essential tool for researchers, practitioners, and students in psychology and related disciplines. Provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present.

Provides bibliographic access to 4600 biomedical journals indexed at the National Library of Medicine. Coverage is international and dates from the early 1950s. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. Search OldMEDLINE for citations from 1951-1965; citations earlier than 1951 can be found in the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index located at the Kellogg Library.

REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The main file, 1995-present, describes over 12,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The types of documents described in REHABDATA include research reports, books, journal articles, and audiovisual materials.