LibGuides: Teaching and Learning in Higher Education Resources Guide (Centre for Learning & Teaching): Find journals

Selected journals

Active Learning in Higher Education
An international, refereed publication for all those who teach and support learning in Higher Education and those who undertake or use research into effective learning, teaching and assessment in universities and colleges. The journal has an objective of improving the status of teaching and learning support as professional activity and embraces academic practice across all curriculum areas in higher education.
Arts & Humanities in Higher Education
Publishes articles, reviews and scholarly comment relating to the arts and humanities in higher education serving the community of arts and humanities educators internationally. Expertly edited, rigorously peer-reviewed and with a truly international outlook and application, the journal publishes significant opinion and research into contemporary issues of teaching and learning critical to all educators and researchers in this far-ranging area.
ASHE Higher Education Report
The ASHE Higher Education Report series is published in cooperation with the Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE). Each monograph is the definitive analysis of a tough higher education problem, based on thorough research of pertinent literature and institutional experiences. Noted practitioners and scholars write the reports, with experts providing critical reviews of each manuscript before publication.
Canadian Journal of Higher Education
The Journal is a publication of the Canadian Society for the Study of Higher Education. It intends to publish manuscripts on topics that address and are relevant to the Canadian higher education system and its structures, processes, and community; and to promote research with international and comparative dimensions in relation to Canadian higher education.
Excellence in Higher Education
EHE is the first English language academic journal in the field of higher education in Indonesia and is sponsored by the Consortium of Indonesian Universities–Pittsburgh (KPTIP: Konsorsium Perguruan Tinggi Indonesia–Pittsburgh). EHE encourages diverse points of view with international perspectives, creating a forum for the sharing of research on issues pertaining to higher education. The goal of EHE is to enable readers around the world to explore Indonesian and global higher education traditions and contemporary patterns in a global context, thereby promoting mutual dialogue and enriching the theory, policy, and practice of higher education.
Higher Education: The International Journal of Higher Education Research
Recognized as the leading international journal on higher education studies, this publication examines educational developments throughout the world in universities, polytechnics, colleges, and vocational and education institutions. It reports on developments in both public and private higher education sectors.
Higher Education Quarterly
Higher Education Quarterly publishes international articles concerned with policy, strategic management and ideas in higher education. A substantial number of papers report research findings in ways that highlight their relevance to senior managers and policy makers at institutional, national and international levels, and to academics who are not necessarily specialists in the academic study of higher education. The journal places particular emphasis on comparative material as opposed to single institution or local case studies.
Higher Education Research & Development
Higher Education Research & Development informs and challenges researchers, teachers, administrators, policy-makers and others concerned with the past, present and future of higher education. The journal publishes scholarly articles that make a significant and original contribution to the theory, practice or research of higher education.
International Journal of Teaching & Learning in Higher Education
The International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education provides a forum for higher education faculty, staff, administrators, researchers, and students who are interested in improving post-secondary instruction. The IJTLHE provides broad coverage of higher education pedagogy and the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) across diverse content areas, educational institutions, and levels of instructional expertise. The specific emphasis of IJTLHE is the dissemination of knowledge for improving higher education pedagogy. Electronic distribution of IJTLHE maximizes global availability.
Journal of Higher Education
Founded in 1930, The Journal of Higher Education is the leading scholarly journal on the institution of higher education. Articles combine disciplinary methods with critical insight to investigate issues important to faculty, administrators, and program managers.
Journal of Learning & Development in Higher Education
Learning Development is a field of practice concerned with how students learn and how they make sense of academic conventions. JLDHE is published by the Association for Learning Development in Higher Education (ALDinHE).
Journal of Professional, Continuing, and Online Education
As an international journal supported by the Canadian Association for University Continuing Education, JPCOE has three main aims:
- to attract scholarly papers from around the world from writers and teams of writers engaged in the practice and research of professional and continuing education in higher education settings
- to attract scholarly papers from around the world from writers and teams of writers who use online technologies to support professional and continuing education in higher education settings
- to establish itself as an academic and practice-based venue that builds a culture of collegiality and scholarship among those who work in the PCO field of professional, continuing, and online education
Review of Higher Education
The Review of Higher Education provides a forum for discussion of varied issues affecting higher education. The journal advances the study of college- and university-related topics through peer-reviewed articles, essays, reviews and research findings, and by emphasizing systematic inquiry--both quantitative and qualitative--and practical implications.
Studies in Higher Education
Studies in Higher Education is a leading international journal publishing research-based articles dealing with higher education issues from either a disciplinary or multi-disciplinary perspective. Empirical, theoretical and conceptual articles of significant originality will be considered.

College Teaching
An interdisciplinary forum on issues related to teaching at the undergraduate and graduate levels. This journal is interested in articles that explore: (1) aims and outcomes of teaching philosophy and practices that have significance beyond a specific discipline, including teaching of techniques, new classroom procedures, evaluations of innovative programs, and examination of contemporary developments; (2) teachers' roles, education, professional development, preparation to teach, and evaluation; and (3) incentives that encourage good teaching and ways good teaching is evaluated and rewarded.
Currents in Teaching & Learning
a peer-reviewed electronic journal that fosters exchanges among reflective teacher-scholars across the disciplines. Published twice a year, Currents seeks to improve teaching and learning in higher education with short reports on classroom practices as well as longer research, theoretical, or conceptual articles, and explorations of issues and challenges facing teachers today.
Enhancing the Learner Experience in Higher Education
The journal seeks to explore innovations which impact on student learning, and to share effective practice across different contexts. It aims to enhance the student experience of learning by an engaged commitment to the student voice. Enhancing the Learner Experience in Higher Education thus has a unique mission. It aims to bring together a developing body of pedagogic research investigating the theories and practices associated with learning opportunities (in their broadest interpretation) in HE, with an emerging interest in the learner experience as elicited through the student voice.
International Journal of Teaching & Learning in Higher Education
The International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education provides a forum for higher education faculty, staff, administrators, researchers, and students who are interested in improving post-secondary instruction. The IJTLHE provides broad coverage of higher education pedagogy and the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) across diverse content areas, educational institutions, and levels of instructional expertise. The specific emphasis of IJTLHE is the dissemination of knowledge for improving higher education pedagogy. Electronic distribution of IJTLHE maximizes global availability.
Journal of Effective Teaching
The Journal of Effective Teaching is an electronic journal devoted to the exchange of ideas and information about undergraduate and graduate teaching. Articles are solicited for publication which address excellence in teaching at colleges and universities. We invite contributors to share their insights in pedagogy, innovations in teaching and learning, and classroom experiences in the form of a scholarly communication which will be reviewed by experts in teaching scholarship. Articles which draw upon specific-discipline based research or teaching practices should elaborate on how the teaching practice, research or findings relates across the disciplines.
Journal of Experiential Education
The JEE provides a forum for the empirical and theoretical study of issues concerning experiential learning, program management and policies, educational, developmental, and health outcomes, teaching and facilitation, and research methodology.
Journal of Learning & Development in Higher Education
Journal of Learning Design
The Journal of Learning Design is a peer reviewed open-access multidisciplinary forum. Its focus is on the systematic study and investigation of pedagogy and learning design in higher education, with a focus on the innovative use of technology.
The scope is unlimited in terms of discipline areas addressed and in technologies investigated.
Journal of the Learning Sciences
JLS provides a multidisciplinary forum for research on education and learning that informs theories of how people learn and the design of learning environments. It publishes research that elucidates processes of learning, and the ways in which technologies, instructional practices, and learning environments can be designed to support learning in different contexts.
Teaching in Higher Education
An international, interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal that addresses the roles of teaching, learning and the curriculum in higher education in order to explore and clarify the intellectual challenges which they present. The journal aims to open up discussion across subject areas by involving all those who share an enthusiasm for learning and teaching.
Transformative Dialogues: Teaching & Learning Journal
TD facilitates the multi-disciplinary intellectual debate and inquiry, exchange of ideas, actions, and results of innovative and professional practice in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning.

Cambridge Journal of Education
Cambridge Journal of Education publishes original refereed articles on all aspects of education, with a particular emphasis on work that contributes to a shared understanding amongst academic researchers, theorists, practising teachers, policy-makers and educational administrators. The journal also welcomes the submission of systematic review articles that summarise and offer new insights into specific areas of educational concern.
Comparative Education
Comparative Education is an international peer-reviewed research journal which, since its inception in 1964, has significantly contributed to the growing importance of comparative perspectives in the analysis of educational issues in national, international, and global contexts at all levels/sectors.
Curriculum inquiry
CI is a leading international journal in the field of curriculum studies. It is dedicated to studies of educational experience in schools, communities, families, and other local or transnational settings, using a range of theoretical and disciplinary approaches. CI brings together the work of both established and emerging scholars from a variety of academic fields and disciplines who theorize and examine curriculum and pedagogy, broadly defined, and whose work promotes conceptual debate and pushes beyond current understandings of educational research, theory, and practice.
Educational Researcher
ER publishes scholarly articles that are of general significance to the education research community and that come from a wide range of areas of education research and related disciplines. Published nine times a year, ER aims to make major programmatic research and new findings of broad importance widely accessible.
Harvard Educational Review
The Harvard Educational Review is a scholarly journal of opinion and research in education. Its mission is to provide an interdisciplinary forum for discussion and debate about education's most vital issues. Since its founding in 1930, the Review has become one of the most prestigious journals in education, with circulation to policymakers, researchers, administrators, and teachers.
International Journal for Academic Development
IJAD is the journal of the International Consortium for Educational Development. The purpose of IJAD is to enable academic/educational/faculty developers in higher education across the world to exchange ideas about practice and extend the theory of educational development, with the goal of improving the quality of higher education internationally.
Mind, Brain, and Education
Mind, Brain, and Education (MBE) provides a forum for the scholarly communication of basic and applied research on learning and development, including analyses from biology, neuroscience, cognitive science, and education.
Review of Educational Research
The Review of Educational Research (RER) publishes critical, integrative reviews of research literature bearing on education, including conceptualizations, interpretations, and syntheses of literature and scholarly work in a field broadly relevant to education and educational research.

British Journal of Educational Technology
BJET is a primary source for academics and professionals in the fields of digital educational and training technology throughout the world. It publishes theoretical perspectives, methodological developments and high quality empirical research that demonstrate whether and how applications of instructional/educational technology systems, networks, tools and resources lead to improvements in formal and non-formal education at all levels, from early years through to higher, technical and vocational education, professional development and corporate training.
Canadian Journal of Learning Technology
The Canadian Journal of Learning and Technology is a peer-reviewed journal that welcomes papers on all aspects of educational technology and learning. Topics may include, but are not limited to: learning theory and technology, cognition and technology, instructional design theory and application, online learning, computer applications in education, simulations and gaming, and other aspects of the use of technology in the learning process. Manuscripts may be submitted either in English or in French. There is no charge or fee to authors for article submission or processing.
Computers & Education
Computers & Education aims to increase knowledge and understanding of ways in which digital technology can enhance education, through the publication of high quality research, which extends theory and practice.
Educational Technology Research & Development
Educational Technology Research and Development is the only scholarly journal in the field focusing entirely on research and development in educational technology.
Electronic Journal of E-learning
EJEL provides perspectives on topics relevant to the study, implementation and management of e-Learning initiatives. The journal contributes to the development of both theory and practice in the field of e-Learning. The Editorial team consider academically robust papers and welcome empirical research, case studies, action research, theoretical discussions, literature reviews and other work which advances learning in this field. All papers are double-blind peer reviewed.
Interactive Learning Environments
publishes articles on all aspects of the design and use of interactive learning environments in the broadest sense, encompassing environments that support individual learners through to environments that support collaboration amongst groups of learners or co-workers.
The International Review of Research in Open and Distributed Learning
The International Review of Research in Open and Distributed Learning is a refereed, open access e-journal that disseminates original research, theory, and best practice in open and distributed learning worldwide.
The Internet & Higher Education
The Internet and Higher Education, a is quarterly journal devoted to addressing contemporary issues and future developments related to online learning, teaching, and administration on the Internet in post-secondary settings. It is a peer-reviewed journal intended to be a vehicle for scholarly presentation and dissemination of contributions, theoretical and applied, significantly addressing innovative deployments of Internet technology in instruction and reporting on research to demonstrate the effects of the Internet and information technology (IT) on instruction in various contexts in higher education.
Journal of Interactive Media in Education
a peer-reviewed open access online journal in educational technology that focuses on the implications and use of digital media in education.
Journal of Online Learning & Teaching
JOLT is a peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication that aims to promote scholarship in the use of the Internet and web-based multimedia resources in higher education.
Kairos: A Journal of Rhetoric, Technology, and Pedagogy
Kairos is a refereed open-access online journal exploring the intersections of rhetoric, technology, and pedagogy.
Learning, Media, and Technology
aims to stimulate debate on digital media, digital technology and digital cultures in education. The journal seeks to include submissions that take a critical approach towards all aspects of education and learning, digital media and digital technology - primarily from the perspective of the social sciences, humanities and arts.
Open Learning: The Journal of Open, Distance, and E-Learning
Open Learning a leading international journal in the field of open, flexible and distance learning. The Journal is widely subscribed to and read throughout the world by those in specialist distance education institutions, and also by those using distance, flexible and technology based forms of learning in conventional education and training contexts.

Canadian Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning
the official, trans-disciplinary, peer-reviewed, electronic publication of the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education. CJSoTL seeks to advance the scholarship of teaching and learning in Canadian post-secondary institutions. It therefore provides an avenue for a wide range of educators, including faculty members, administrators, academic librarians, educational developers, learning resource specialists, and graduate students, to discuss ways of enhancing student learning experiences through systematic inquiry into teaching and learning in all disciplines.
InSight: A Journal of Scholarly Teaching
InSight: A Journal of Scholarly Teaching is a scholarly publication designed to highlight the work of postsecondary faculty. It is a refereed scholarly journal published annually by the Faculty Center for Innovation (formerly known as the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning) at Park University. InSight emphasizes the enhancement of post-secondary education through the professional exchange of scholarly approaches and perspectives applicable to the enrichment of teaching and learning.
International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning
Not affiliated with ISSOTL, IJ-SoTL is an international, peer-reviewed, open access eJournal that is published by the Center for Excellence in Teaching at Georgia Southern University (Statesboro, Georgia, USA). The Editorial Review Board is very international and issues contain research articles, essays, personal reflections, as well as invited essays on SOTL. IJ-SOTL has the vision of being a dynamic international SOTL journal by being an advocate, agent and crucible for international conversations, contacts and work on SOTL. There is an IJ-SOTL listserv for discussion of any and all things connected with SOTL.
Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning
Designed to encourage all instructors to engage in the discussion of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, and to become involved in the sharing of knowledge and learning about the teaching-learning process. Any report about an investigation into what works (or doesn't work) for a particular teaching-learning context will be considered for publication. Those submissions that include reflective commentary about the result of the investigation will be considered of greater value to our readership and more appealing for publication. The journal shall also consider submissions that offer opinion, thoughtful reflection, commentary, or theoretical ideas related to SOTL.
Teaching & Learning Inquiry: The ISSOTL Journal
ISSOTL's official and only journal, TLI publishes insightful research, theory, commentary, and other scholarly works that document or facilitate investigations of teaching and learning in higher education. TLI values quality and variety in its vision of the scholarship of teaching and learning. Its pages will showcase the breadth of the interdisciplinary field of SoTL in its explicit methodological pluralism, its call for traditional and new genres, and its international authorship from across career stages.

How to assess a journal

Looking for a specific journal?

Looking for a specific academic journal that's not on the list? You can track down electronic journals using the e-journals function. Here is a quick video (no audio - just text and visuals).

Video: Finding a specific journal