Skip to main content

Citation Management

This Subject Guide is designed to help your research by getting the most use out of citation managers

Welcome to the Citation Manager Libguide

This guide is designed to familiarize users with the basics of citation management, and some common products.

If you have questions about a Citation Style, consult the Citation Style Subject Guide.

Comparison Chart of Citation Managers

This table has been slightly modified from UNB Libraries.

REFWORKS

ENDNOTE

ZOTERO

MENDELEY

Cost

  • Not supported by Dalhousie after April 2020
  • Cost for full version
  • Limited version freely available
  • Free
  • Optional cost for upgraded storage2
  • Free
  • Optional cost for upgraded storage and collaborative features2

Mac and PC Compatibility

  • Fully compatible1
  • Fully compatible
  • Fully compatible1
  • Linux compatible
  • Fully compatible1

Web-Based

  • Fully web-based
  • Web-based component optional
  • Available with purchase (EndNote Web)1
  • Web-based
  • Desktop standalone client available (browser independent)
  • Web-based
  • Optional desktop component available1

Mobile Compatibility

  • Mobile compatible website1
  • Apple iPad app available1
  • Non-Zotero apps with Zotero compatible (third-party)
  • Apple iPhone and iPad apps available 1
  • Non-Mendeley apps with Mendeley compatibility available (third-party)1

MS Word Integration

  • Full integration with MS Word with download of Write-N-Cite utility1
  • Full integration with MS Word1
  • Full integration with OpenOffice1
  • Full integration with MS Word1
  • Full integration with OpenOffice1
  • Full integration with MS Word1
  • Full integration with OpenOffice1

Duplicate Record Detection

  • Available1
  • Available1
  • Coming in future version1
  • Available, but with limited functionality1

Web-Page Capture

  • Capture web-pages with download of RefGrab-It utility1
  • Captures web-pages1
  • Captures web-pages and retrieves available citation information1
  • Captures web-pages and retrieves available citation information1

Sharing Enabled

  • Sharing possible via database and folder sharing1
  • Sharing possible with purchase of EndNote Web1
  • Sharing possible via groups and database sharing1
  • Extensive sharing options available (some at a cost)1

Journal Title Abbreviation Recognition

  • Recognition and/or implementation of title abbreviations available for many journal titles
  • Title recognition available in paid version only2
  • 12 publishers’ lists available to all users2
  • Additional lists can be imported as needed2
  • Recognition of titles abbreviations listed in Medicus (MEDLINE)2
  • Title recognition available in recent versions2

Links to PDFs and Other Materials

  • Links to open URLs
  • Links to URLs of articles available through UNB as long as access is maintained
  • Links to up to 45 files per record2
  • Allows 1 image (in ‘Figure’ field)2
  • Links to open URLs2
  • Attachment enabled
  • Web snapshots enabled2
  • Links to open URLs2
  • Attachment enabled (up to 2GB per account)2

PDF Citation Retrieval

  • Retrieves citation information from some PDFs
  • Limited Success
  • Retrieval available in paid version only2
  • Retrieves citation information from DOI and PubMed PDFs only2
  • Limited success2
  • Retrieves citation information from PubMed PDFs only2
  • Limited success2
  • Retrieves citation information from PubMed PDFs only2
  • Limited success2

Allows Annotation of PDFs

  • Does not allow annotations of PDFs
  • Annotation available in paid version only
  • Annotation enabled in ‘notes’ field2
  • No annotation in-software2
  • Will sync PDFs annotated in other software2
  • Annotation enabled2

Full-Text Search of PDFs

  • Full-text PDF search available as option during searches
  • Search available in paid version only2
  • Full-text PDF search available in recent versions2
  • Full-text PDF search available in recent versions2
  • Full-text PDF search available in recent versions2

Citation Export (from databases)

  • Export available
  • Export available2
  • Export available
  • Export available2

Record Sorting Options

  • Records may be sorted by many of the available fields
  • Free version: Sort records by author, title, or year2
  • Paid version: Sort records by any field2
  • Sort records by any available field2
  • Sort records by any available field2

Record Searching Options

  • Search record by any available field
  • Free version: Search records by author2
  • Paid version: Search records by any field2
  • Search records by any available field
  • Search records by author, title, publication name, year, and notes

Software Difficulty Level

  • Average3
  • Average
  • Relatively easy3
  • Some ‘quirks’3
  • Relatively easy3

Best Features

  • Highly collaborative4
  • Good for management of large record sets4
  • Highly customizable4
  • Good for management of large records sets4
  • Very user-friendly
  • Web-capture of citation data
  • Ease of resource adding
  • Very user-friendly
  • Orientation towards frequent use of PDFs
  • Ease of resource adding

Disadvantages

  • Login protocols more complicated than Zotero and Mendeley4
  • Importing resources is complicated4
  • Favours ‘traditional’ resources4
  • Search of record sets is strong, but in-text searching is not enabled4
  • High dependence on the ‘home’ computer4
  • Initially hard to learn
  • Importing resources is complicated4
  • Favours ‘traditional’ resources4
  • Somewhat difficult to manage large records sets4
  • Does not recognize non-PDF resources (like books and audio-visual materials)4

 

References

1  Sheldon Margen Public Health Library. (2014). EndNote, RefWorks, Zotero, Mendeley Help. University of California Berkeley Library. Retrieved September 23, 2014 from: http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/PUBL/endnote.html#Compare

2  UW-Madison Libraries. (2014). Comparison Chart. University of Wisconsin-Madison. Retrieved September 23, 2014 from: http://www.library.wisc.edu/services/citation-managers/comparison-chart/

3  Giustini, D. (2013). RefWorks, Zotero & Mendeley: Three Way Comparison 2013. University of British Columbia. Retrieved September 23, 2014 from: http://www.slideshare.net/giustinid/refworks-mendeley-zotero-2013

4  Georgetown Law Library. (n.d.). Detailed Feature Comparison. Georgetown Law. Retrieved September 23, 2014 from: http://www.law.georgetown.edu/library/research/citation-tools/features.cfm