Some of the recommended databases for Veterinary Medicine include:
Academic Search PremierComprehensive academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis
Biological Science DatabaseCovers topics relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology.
Biological & Agricultural IndexBiological & Agricultural Index Plus™ provides full text of articles from over 100 journals dating back to 1997, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
CAB Abstracts 1973-presentProduced by CABI Publishing, CAB Abstracts (1973 to Present), covers the significant research and development literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment. Coverage dates back to 1973.
CAB Abstracts ArchiveCAB Abstracts covers the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment. Includes some links to full-text. 1973 - present. Hosted by OvidSP.
PubMed - MEDLINE with Dal journal linksProvides bibliographic access to 4600 biomedical journals indexed at the National Library of Medicine. Coverage is international and dates from the early 1950s. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. Search OldMEDLINE for citations from 1951-1965; citations earlier than 1951 can be found in the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index located at the Kellogg Library.
ScienceDirectCollection of over 2200 full text journals covering Agriculture, Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, Finance, Energy, Engineering, Environmental Science,Health Sciences, Immunology, Materials Science, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Physics, Psychology and the Social Sciences. Search across all journals or subsets of journals, abstracts, databases, and reference works. Dalhousie users may register for free "alerts" services and other customizable options. Also included in ScienceDirect are over 500 full text books.
ScopusScopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science Citation DatabasesIncludes: Science Citation Index Expanded covering over 5,600 journals, Social Sciences Citation Index covering 1,700 journals and selectively covering relevant items from over 5,600 leading science and social sciences journals and Arts & Humanities Citation Index covering over 1,140 journals and selectively covering relevant items from over 7,000 leading science and social databases.
Wiley Online LibraryWiley Online Library offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals, more than half of which are published in partnership with international scholarly and professional associations. Wiley covers the full spectrum of science, medicine, technology, business, social sciences, and the humanities, and includes many titles ranked at the forefront of their fields. Dalhousie subscribes to most Wiley journals but only selected books. Look for the "unlocked" icon which signals access.
VetMed ResourceOver 60,000 full text documents (journal articles, conference papers, reports) Over 1.5 million bibliographic records with detailed keyword (metadata) tagging CAB Reviews, timely analysis written by subject experts Datasheets on diseases and pathogens of pigs, poultry and ruminants Breaking news Events calendar of veterinary conferences/meetings Unique features Bibliographic database: CAB Abstracts is recognised as THE ESSENTIAL place for veterinary literature searches. VetMed Resource contains key records on all aspects of verterinary medicine from 1972 to the present. It is updated weekly. Full text documents from conferences, journals and bulletins, including: Acta Veterinaria Scandinavica Journal of Public Veterinary Health Veterinary Practitioner World Congress Proceedings North American Veterinary Conference
Sustainable Development Goals OnlineSustainable Development Goals Online (SDGO) is an interdisciplinary collection of digital content, including Taylor & Francis’ books and journals across all disciplines, themed around the SDGs. SDGO includes more than 12,000 selected articles and chapters in an online library covering the 17 SDGs, plus teaching and learning materials (presentations, videos, case studies, teaching guides, and lesson plans). It was created in partnership with United Nations agencies and guided by an international Advisory Board comprised of academics, policy-makers, government, NGOs and more. It has major updates twice yearly in April and September.
Veterinary Education in VideoVeterinary Education in Video is carefully cultivated to deliver high-caliber content relevant to veterinarians, vet techs, assistants, and other team members, and features demonstrations from many of the field’s most respected experts. All content in the collection comes from content partners approved by the Registry of Approved Continuing Education (RACE), an accreditation that demonstrates a dedication to high standards of quality and accuracy.
An academic database is a collection of information that can be searched and used for research and writing. Databases include articles, journals, reports, magazines, newspapers, books, and more. Some databases are subject specific and some cover many areas of interest.