LibGuides: Costume Studies: Databases

Databases

The databases listed here are largely full-text journal sites. Some are indexes that search for and list references but do not contain a pdf of the article. Use the Get It At Dal button to see if the article is held by another database at Dalhousie, if it is available in print, or you can order a copy through Document Delivery.

Some platforms, such as EBSCO, host multiple databases. It is possible to search in several databases at once by clicking on Choose Databases (top right) on the EBSCO interface.

Databases such as the International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance are subject specific, while others such as Academic Search Premier are broad and can contain references from thousands of journals spanning many disciplines. Databases also contain references to books and videos, have dictonary definitions, and contain historical full texts of plays or literature.

ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world (read the full list here: http://www.artstor.org/collections). The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more (find sample subject guides here: http://www.artstor.org/subjectguides).
Design & Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes English and foreign language journals on architecture, city planning, interior design, & historic preservation.

Interdisciplinary Databases

The databases listed below cover a wide range of humanities topics and will include information on costume-related topics. There is not a database in our collection devoted exclusively to Costume Studies.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of more than 8,500 journals.
Perform a search using the basic or advanced search, or use the Visual Search function to view a hierarchy of articles related to your search term.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2300+ scholarly and popular journals on a multitude of topics, many available full text
IngentaConnect This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collections of academic and professional research articles online
Early Canadiana Online (ECO) This link opens in a new window
Early Canadiana Online (ECO) is a collaborative research project to provide Web access to a digital full-text library of 2600+ primary sources in Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of literature, women's history, travel and exploration, native studies and the history of French Canada.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
*Key database for History* Indexes and abstracts articles in 2000+ journals, plus books and dissertations on the history of all parts of the world from 1450 to the present.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with full text This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 50 books & monographs.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Includes more than 300,000 articles published 1967- , all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location.
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Opera in Video will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors.