Links added to Rich Text/HTML content are not checked by the LibGuides link checker, which makes it challenging to fix dead links before our users attempt to use them
While you can create links to Rich Text/HTML content, we recommend that you do so sparingly and intentionally.
How?
Click Add/Reorder
Select Link
Whenever possible, reuse your Link assets
Why?
If you link to the same sites from several of your LibGuides, creating a new Link asset for every page creates more work when you need to change or update information about that link - if you reuse your Link assets, you do not need to create a new description and grab a URL when you link to a site or resource you've linked to before
If you reuse an asset, you can more easily and reliably gather statistics and information on how often that asset is being used
How:
After selecting Link as the type of content you want to add to your page, click on the Reuse Existing Link tab
Begin typing the name of the link you want to reuse - this should create a list of links that include the letters you've typed
If the link you want to reuse appears in the list, click on it
Click Save to add the link to your page
After you've added the link to your page, you can edit the link - This allows you to customize the way the link appears on your page and change the description if you want
Databases
Use a Database asset when adding databases to your LibGuide
Why?
All of the databases from the Databases A-Z list are in the LibGuides Database asset bank, with links that should work for on-campus and off-campus library users
This list is maintained by Resources so that it is easy to identify and fix dead links
The Database asset bank also makes it possible, when there are changes to database URLs, names, and descriptions, for Resources to update the Database asset so that every guide using that asset will have the updated information
How?
Click Add/Reorder
Select Database
Book from the catalog asset
Don't forget about the Book from the catalog asset!
Why?
This feature in LibGuides allows you to easily add books, link to them from Novanet, add call number and author information, and even a cover image
Book covers add some useful colour to the guides.
How?
Click Add/Reorder
Select Book from the catalog
Enter the ISBN for the book you want to add and click on Get book info. In most cases, LibGuides will find the title information (including a cover image)
