LibGuides: Social Work: Find media (news) sources

Media sources

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos. Canadian publications include The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, the National Post, and many others.
Eureka This link opens in a new window
Eureka.cc gives you access to 2500 sources covering current events on the local, regional, national and international scenes. Formats include newspapers, trade publications, databases (corporate histories and profiles), news wires, radio and television program transcripts, selected blogs , indexed websites.
CBCA complete This link opens in a new window
Canada's largest current events database.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. Currently indexes over 250 sources. Over 500 sources in the database.

(a) Using Dalhousie's magazine and news subscriptions:

2. Select "Ejournals" from the dropdown menu. Type in the name of the news source (for example, Maclean's), and click the search button.

3. Select the title of the news source you are looking for.

4. Click the green GO button to access and browse through the issues.

Or (b) via a Google site search:

1. Determine the URL of the media source you would like to search (example: cbc.ca)

2. Determine the keywords for your search (example: dunkley human rights)

3. Construct a site search on Google. Example: site:cbc.ca dunkley human rights

News aggregators:

For current topics, news aggregators are good sources to find headlines, blog posts, and videos.