Your approach to research for this course, and the sources you use, will depend entirely on your topic. However, Novanet is a great place to start because it searches broadly across many of the resources that the Dal Libraries offer. After you enter your keywords, use the "Resource Type" filter on the left side of the page to explore what types of resources are available for your topic.
Databases are collections of information that are searched through an interface. Some databases are subject-specific (e.g., History) and others are multidisciplinary. Use the link below to access the full A-Z list of databases Dalhousie Libraries offer. You can use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu at the top of the screen to select a subject area and locate databases specific to that area.
You can definitely use Google to find free current news, but these databases offer more!
You can find many government resources on the internet. Here are a few options and tips.
Search for government information on Google using domain limiters. For example:
For a full list of domains for Canadian provinces, visit Wikipedia's .ca page and scroll down to find the table.
A primary source is any document, book, or artifact created at the time of an event. They may describe an experience or thought about the event. Some examples include: diaries, journals, letters, photographs, maps, recorded film or audio, interviews, speeches, sculptures, some newspaper and magazine articles, to name just a few.
Dal Libraries offer many databases that you can use to search for primary sources. Which database you use will depend on what you're looking for. Check out the full list of primary sources databases here.
You can also search for primary sources in Novanet. Check out the video below for an explanation.
Check out some of our specialized image collections! Here are just a few.
Dalhousie Libraries offer streaming video through several services. Click on any of the links below to see what is available. You can also search for specific films using Novanet.
If so, just ask! You can email me with questions or book an appointment.