Skip to Main Content

Newspapers

Dalhousie University Libraries have a good collection of newspapers. They are arranged by title, by searchable databases, and by indexes.

What is a newspaper index?

A newspaper index is an alphabetical list of news articles - classified by subject, name, personal notices, advertising, illustrations, or other items – found in a newspaper or group of newspapers.  

At Dalhousie Libraries, users have access to physical indexes in our collection, and a variety of online indexes. Ways to find those are outlined in the pages linked below. 

  • Online indexes
  • Physical indexes

    • Canadian news index 
      v.1(1977)-v.16(1992) 
      Killam Library General  AI 3 C315 

    • Index to the Financial post 
      1907-1948 
      Killam Library General HG 1 F48 1907-48 

    • New York times index  
      1851-2012 
      Killam Library Basement Storage AI 21 N53 

    • The Times index (London)

      • 1785-1789 
        Killam Library Basement Storage 
        AN 4 T58 P299 

      • Palmer's index to the Times newspapers 1790-1940/1941 
        Killam Library Basement Storage
        AN 4 T58 P3 

      • Official index to the Times 1941-1957:Feb. 
        Killam Library Basement Storage 
        AN 4 T58 P31 

      • Index to the Times 1957:Mar.-1972 
        Killam Library Basement Storage 
        AN 4 T58 P31 

      • The Times index 1973- 
        Killam Library Basement Storage
        AN 4 T58 P31 

    • Wall Street journal index 
      1955-1994
      Killam Library General HG 1 W26