Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reserve Collection KB 24 .E57 M36a
Publication Date: 2003
This concise and comprehensive resource contains all the latest legislative developments as well as useful commentary on decisions that interpret the law. It's supplemented with numerous Editor's Notes and case annotations, including new annotations.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reserve Collection KB 24 .E57 D581
Publication Date: 1995
Together with the United States and Australia, Canada is one of the great immigrant-receiving countries. However, Canada's immigration patterns have changed dramatically since 1967. This document takes a look at the economics of Canada's recent immigration policy. It presents studies written on the issue and focusing precisely on the following points: new issues, new evidence, and new immigration; a comparison of Canadian and US immigration policy in the 20th century; family reunification multipliers; asset demand of immigrant and Canadian-born households; the impact of immigrants on Canada's treasury, circa 1990; the British Columbia experience with immigrants and welfare dependency, 1989; Canadian immigrant earnings, 1971-86; labor market outcomes and the participation of immigrant women in Canadian transfer programs; immigration and trade; business immigration to Canada; immigration and unemployment; and, intended and actual occupations of immigrants.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reference Collection ; KB 24 .E57 G17 2015 and online via Novanet
Publication Date: 2015
Canadian immigration and citizenship law has been subject to frequent and seemingly frenzied revision and reformulation by the government of the day as it attempts to identify the country’s social, economic, and demographic needs and to respond to perceived threats to its sovereign control over Canada’s borders. This book builds upon the first edition as an introductory guide to immigration, refugee, and citizenship law. Its aim is to provide an overview, or a starting point, both for those who want to investigate the mechanics of Canada’s immigration regime and for those who want to assess, critique, or question the aims and impacts of the law.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library KB 24 .E57 F77 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Canadian Immigration and Refugee Law for Legal Professionals guides readers through the complex principles and processes of Canada’s immigration, refugee protection, and citizenship systems. Unlike other resources in this area, this text provides a clear and comprehensive overview of the Canadian immigration process, from eligibility criteria to decision-making, in a student-friendly format.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library KB 24 .E57 W16 C21
Publication Date: 2003
Canadian Immigration & Refugee Law Practice provides readers with an overview of the new legislative framework of Canadian immigration and refugee law along with guiding principles for the exercise of discretion by the Immigration and Refugee Board. The book captures the latest legislative updates and case law, with extensive commentary on the implications of both the recent and pending changes. This invaluable reference for immigration law practitioners and consultants also provides close to 2000 thematically organized case digests from the IRPA and the Citizenship Act, and key sections of the regulations, rules, and related legislation. Plus, the book also includes an unannotated version of the Act in double-column English and French, making it easy to locate a section of legislation when representing a case.
Immigration and Refugee Law: Cases, Materials, and Commentary, 3rd Edition explores the current state of Canada’s evolving immigration system, surveyed in historic, social, and comparative contexts. Authored by Canada’s leading scholars in the field, this casebook equips students with the key building blocks of immigration, refugee, and citizenship law. Each chapter presents a multi-faceted approach to the subject, including insightful commentary on race, gender, and class.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library JX 4255 D24 and online via Novanet
Publication Date: 2008
This book examines the relationship between illegal migration and globalization. Under the pressures of globalizing forces, migration law is transformed into the last bastion of sovereignty. This explains the worldwide crackdown on extra-legal migration and informs the shape this crackdown is taking. It also means that migration law reflects key facets of globalization and addresses the central debates of globalization theory. This book looks at various migration law settings, asserting that differing but related globalization effects are discernible at each location. The 'core samples' interrogated in the book are drawn from refugee law, illegal labor migration, human trafficking, security issues in migration law, and citizenship law. Special attention is paid to the roles played by the European Union and the United States in setting the terms of global engagement. The book's conclusion considers what the rule of law contributes to transformed migration law.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library KB 24 .C6 L41 and online via Novanet
Publication Date: 2006
Long confined to the study of nationality, citizenship was not always considered a major concern of social scientists. In recent decades, however, the concept of citizenship has generated significant interest and intellectual debate in a variety of academic contexts. Globalization is changing the relationships between actors on the national and international stage and shifting the balance of power between them. These changes have spawned a wealth of scholarship across social science disciplines. The essays in Law and Citizenship add to this lively discourse and provide a framework for analyzing citizenship in an increasingly globalized world.
This book considers the legal obligations countries have to people who do not meet the legal definition of a ‘refugee’, but who have been forcibly displaced from their homes. This is known as ‘complementary protection’, because it complements the central international instrument in this area, the 1951 Refugee Convention. Chapter 1 identifies pre-1951 examples of complementary protection, demonstrating how the content of the status afforded to extended categories of refugees was historically the same as that granted to ‘legal’ refugees. It traces unsuccessful attempts at the international and European levels to codify a system of complementary protection, prior to the EU's adoption of the Qualification Directive in 2004 and international support for an ExCom Conclusion in 2005. The Qualification Directive, examined in Chapter 2, represents the first supranational codification of complementary protection, but is hampered by a hierarchical conceptualization of protection that grants a lesser status to beneficiaries of ‘subsidiary protection’ vis-à-vis Convention refugees. Chapters 3 to 5 examine a number of human rights treaties (CAT, ECHR, ICCPR, and CRC) to identify provisions that may give rise to a claim for international protection. Chapter 6 illustrates why all persons protected by the principle of non-refoulement should be entitled to the same legal status as refugees, demonstrating the Refugee Convention's role in providing a rights blueprint for beneficiaries of complementary protection.
Call Number: DAL Killam Library JV 7225.2 I55 2008
Publication Date: 2008
The "two-way street" of successful integration requires commitment from both government institutions and individuals. Immigration and Integration in Canada in the Twenty-first Century looks at the social, cultural, economic, and political integration of newcomers and minorities and establishes measures for assessing the success of integration practices.