Family Law

The Annotated Divorce Act is a current and portable resource for commentary and legislation, offering an authoritative and detailed analysis of the federal Divorce Act. It includes authoritative section-by-section commentary and analysis of the background and practical application of each section of the Act, as well as clear and concise digests of all the relevant case law you need to understand the judicial application of the Act.

Canadian Child Welfare Law: Children, Families, and the State (2nd edition) provides students in social work and law with an introduction to child welfare law. This complex, demanding and important area of law and social work practice receives relatively little attention in professional schools and academic journals. For practicing lawyers and social workers who have not had the opportunity to study child welfare law, this book provides a useful overview of a complex area, as well as serving as a reference work for busy practitioners in the child welfare field. This second edition substantially updates material in the 1991 edition, including consideration of the impact of new legislation and the Charter of Rights. It also includes new chapters on liability issues for child welfare workers and agencies, and on the perspectives of social workers with respect to the legal process. The final chapter offers the personal views of four judges on the challenges that they face in dealing with child welfare cases.

A practitioner focused, classic national looseleaf that provides digests of thousands of divorce cases (organized under 300 specific subject headings), the full text of the Divorce Act and other related statutes, sample pleadings and precedents, forms, and rules of practice.

Formerly Child Custody Law and Practice, Parenting Law and Practice in Canada guides the practitioner through all aspects of law and practice related to custody and access in Canada. The expert commentary covers the stages of a custody access proceeding including interim proceedings, and decisions on the merits, enforcement, variation, and appeals. This work examines the substantive and procedural law as well as negotiation, tactical, and advocacy skills. Alternative dispute resolution methods are considered, as are other topics of current interest such as the expansion of access rights, including access for grandparents, child representation, mobility rights, and the effect of religion upon custody and access.

Child Support Guidelines Law and Practice, Second Edition is an all-inclusive, contemporary practice tool to help lawyers and scholars comprehend and implement important guidelines. This edition comes with a comprehensive collection of authoritative annotations to the Federal Child Support Guidelines. In order to accommodate the rapid growth of case law in this area, the publication now spans over two volumes supplemented with an in-depth section-by-section coverage.

Find out from leading practitioners, academics, and accountants how to best obtain, preserve and present evidence with Evidence in Family Law. This unique resource is structured to follow the evolution of a family law case through trial and appeal. It also examines specialized areas of family law such as Charter litigation and child protection proceedings, looking at how to establish the proper evidentiary framework.

A key book reflecting changes in family, divorce, and matrimonial law in Canada. It contains commentary on legislation and cases in this area of law, specifically in 1984. It offers a historical look at the development of family law.

This book provides up-to-date coverage of the main issues in family law, the laws governing marriage and divorce, property for both married and unmarried cohabitants, spousal support, child support, parenting, and domestic agreements. This edition includes coverage of emerging aspects of family law as well, such as evolving concepts of parentage, hearing the views of children, the impact of domestic violence, and social trends that affect family law in an increasingly diverse Canadian society.

In-depth treatment of the law of matrimonial property as it applies across the country. The work begins with an introductory section of general application to the provinces. Among the topics discussed in this section are conflict of laws, income tax as it relates to the settlement of matrimonial property and the valuation of the various kinds of property. An analysis of the legislation and case law pertinent to each jurisdiction is contained in individual chapters. Each chapter is written by a leading expert from the jurisdiction. For easy reference and comprehensiveness, the work also includes a Quantum Section featuring digests of both unreported and reported decisions, classified under the logical headings; an appendix of relevant matrimonial property statutes from each province; a concordance showing equivalent sections in the various statutes a detailed index.

An overview of and commentary on family law cases and legislation, specifically regarding divorce, by family law practitioner and scholar Julien D. Payne.

The Spousal Support Advisory Guidelines were developed to bring more certainty and predictability to the determination of spousal support under the federal Divorce Act. The Advisory Guidelines project has been supported by the federal Department of Justice. The Advisory Guidelines were released three years ago, in January 2005, in the form of a Draft Proposal and have been used across Canada since then. Comments and feedback were provided and some revisions made. These are advisory guidelines only and have not been legislated. They are intended as a practical tool to assist spouses, lawyers, mediators and judges in determining the amount and duration of spousal support in typical cases.