LibGuides: Environmental Science: Home/Databases

Key Databases

These databases will help you to identify journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports and other documents related to Environmental Science topics.

Note (May 2017): "Environmental Science and Pollution Management" database is now known as "Agricultural and Environmental Science".

Agriculture Science Database This link opens in a new window
Previously known as Agricultural & Environmental Science database. This database contains the leading agricultural journals published in North America. ProQuest Agriculture Journals offers the complete text as well as complete images from such journals as Agricultural Research, Forest Products Journal, Journal of Animal Science, Journal of Soil and Water Conservation and Plant Physiology. Environmental content can be found at this link- Environmental Science Database
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and books in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book chapters, government reports and general-interest material covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of biology (1926 to present).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
One of the largest databases of peer-reviewed literature, it indexes scientific journals, books and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text science journal articles back to 1995, and indexes pre-1995 articles back to the first issue of each journal.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Covers the world's literature in geology and the geosciences.
USDA SEARCH This link opens in a new window
Indexes the collections of the National Agricultural Library (US), as well as international sources of agricultural information. Coverage includes agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries
Federal Science Library (Canada) This link opens in a new window
The Federal Science Library (FSL) is a one-stop, self-serve portal where you can search the collections and repositories of seven Canadian science-based departments and agencies from a single place. Wherever possible, departmental publications, reports, data sets and other content are freely available to access or download.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ's goal is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. Aims to be the one-stop-shop for users of open access journals.
OAIster This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to theses, journal articles, conference proceedings, and many other resources that are freely available from electronic collections around the world.

Browse other databases...

Additional Databases

Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Provides fulltext of documents published by Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.

Can't find what you need? The following databases may assist you in identifying books, government documents and hard-to-find, gray literature. Once you have identified an item of interest, you may wish to order it via Dalhousie's Document Delivery service:

EIS, digest of environmental impact statements This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of environmental impact statements issued by departments of the US federal government. (1985 to present). To locate the full documentation for items found, search the US Federal Register site.

US Federal Register
TRAIL - Technical Report Archive and Image Library (USA)
An initiative to digitize and provide access to the fulltext of US federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.
Voilà - Canadian National Catalogue
Voilà, the National Union Catalogue, is a single point of access to the collections of libraries across Canada. Included are books, magazines, maps, music, and more, including works in special format (e.g., braille, large print, talking books, captioned videos, etc.), for persons who are print- or hearing-impaired.

Database Tutorials

How to Search a ProQuest database (5 min. video)
ProQuest databases include Agricultural & Environmental Science, ASFA, GeoRef, PAIS, ERIC and Sociological Abstracts.
How to Find Journal Articles by using Biological Abstracts (pdf)
The screenshots in this handout show you how to use the Biological Abstracts database to find journal articles for your assignments. A topic from the field of evolution is used as an example, but the search process is similar for any other biology topic you may happen to have.

Libraries Search

Plan / Search

Assignment Calculator
Course eReserves
Instructions for placing eReserves via Dalhousie Libraries.
Scholarly Articles vs. Popular Press Articles
GIS Centre

Library Orientation

Video - Welcome to Dal Libraries!

Print from Laptop to Campus Printers
Available to current Dal staff, students and faculty.
The LibVine - Dal Libraries blog