This treatise, now in its 30th year of publication, sets out the most recent statutory and regulatory amendments to the Canada Labour Code and includes all newly rendered case law to assist in the interpretation and application of the Code’s legislative Parts. This treatise also references jurisprudence applicable to the Code's subordinate C.I.R.B. Regulations. This 2022 Edition digests 94 new decisions that have been rendered by the C.I.R.B., the O.S.H. Appeal Board, adjudicators, referees, and the courts since the publication of last year's edition, resulting in updates to approximately 114 areas of this treatise.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library KB 60 I19 and online via NovaNet
Publication Date: 2011
Labour law is widely considered to be in crisis by scholars of the field. This crisis has an obvious external dimension - labour law is attacked for impeding efficiency, flexibility, and development; vilified for reducing employment and for favouring already well placed employees over less fortunate ones; and discredited for failing to cover the most vulnerable workers and workers in the "informal sector". These are just some of the external challenges to labour law. There is also an internal challenge, as labour lawyers themselves increasingly question whether their discipline is conceptually coherent, relevant to the new empirical realities of the world of work, and normatively salient in the world as we now know it. This book responds to such fundamental challenges by asking the most fundamental questions: What is labour law for? How can it be justified? And what are the normative premises on which reforms should be based? There has been growing interest in such questions in recent years. In this volume the contributors seek to take this body of scholarship seriously and also to move it forward. Its aim is to provide, if not answers which satisfy everyone, intellectually nourishing food for thought for those interested in understanding, explaining and interpreting labour laws - whether they are scholars, practitioners, judges, policy-makers, or workers and employers.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library KB 60 .L3 S21 2013
Publication Date: 2013
A practical, working manual for effective arbitration preparation and presentation, Labour Arbitrations and All That, Fourth Edition discusses arbitration in a pragmatic and practical manner to bring clarity to the process and provides clear objective advice. This fourth edition, published four decades after the first edition, remains true to the original publication as it sets out in a logical sequence the complete arbitration process from filing a grievance to proceeding through the arbitration process to seeking judicial review.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library KB 60.I4 A79 L12 2002
Publication Date: 2001
For a clear understanding of the legal protections and remedies available to employers and workers in Canada, this convenient survey and analysis is ideal. Although it may be said that there are eleven distinct systems of labour law in Canada - encompassing ten provinces and the Federal government - the authors ensure depth of treatment by focusing on common policy themes and typical legal solutions, with significant departures noted in whatever province or area of law they may arise. However, the relevant law of the three most populous and influential provinces - Quebec, Ontario, and British Columbia - is covered in particular detail, as is Federal labour legislation and case law.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reserve Collection KB 60 B18 and online via NovaNet
Canadian Employment Law is a one-stop reference that provides a thorough survey of the law and analysis of developing trends, suggesting potential avenues of attack as well as identifying potential weaknesses in the law. Canadian Employment Law has been cited by the Supreme Court of Canada, in superior courts in every province in Canada, and is used in law schools throughout Canada.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reserve Collection KB 60 .L3 B88 2006 and online via NovaNet
Widely recognized as the "bible" of Labour Arbitration in Canada, known as "Brown and Beatty", is synonymous with reliability. It offers a concise and comprehensive record and analysis of the whole body of arbitration developments in Canada over the past 40-plus years. It is available online in LabourSource™ and also in print.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reserve Collection KB 60 A19 1993 and online via NovaNet
Available online in Labour Source and in print, Canadian Labour Law, Second Edition offers a complete and current analysis of collective bargaining laws as they apply to non-government employees across Canada. Labour relations statutes, labour board decisions, and judicial cases for all jurisdictions are analyzed, covering a broad range of topics you normally wouldn't find in one resource, including: bargaining rights, the collective agreement, unfair labour practice proceedings, the construction industry, regulation of industrial conflict, the impact of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms on labour law, the internal affairs of trade unions, and the effect of judicial review on board decisions.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library KB 60 C55 E55 2005
Publication Date: 2005
This national publication reviews and analyzes the general trends in Canadian employment along with the underlying forces that are determining the future development of the law. Employment Law in Canada, 4th Edition specifically examines a multitude of issues surrounding the "employer and employee", and the "master and servant" relationship and in so doing, analyzes the application of common Law of the employment contract, Provincial and Federal Employment/Labour Standards legislation, Human Rights Codes that prohibit discrimination on specified grounds in the employment context, and more.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reserve Collection KB 60.A7 G671 1991
Publication Date: 1981
This is the second edition of the well-respected original 1981 edition. Completely revised and updated, it provides thorough coverage of all the procedural and evidentiary issues pertaining to labour arbitration in Canada. It is written to be used by labour and employment lawyers representing unions, management, union officers involved in arbitration, and human resources professionals.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reserve Collection KB 60 D17
Publication Date: 1995
Illness and Disability in the Workplace: How to Navigate Through the Legal Minefield features a wealth of case law, arbitral decisions, precedent letters and pleadings, sample collective agreement clauses, and a table of statutes organized by jurisdiction. It is designed to help you understand legal risks pertaining to illness and disability and to find practical solutions for managing workplace illness and disability effectively, ethically and legally.