Canadian Intellectual Property Law: Cases and Materials, 3rd Edition offers a comprehensive analysis of foundational concepts including copyright, patents, trademarks, industrial designs, passing off, and confidentiality. This casebook contains extracts from leading Canadian cases and IP legislation, paired with clarifying commentary and discussion questions. This approach allows students to test their comprehension and prepares them to engage in policy debates surrounding this important and evolving area of law.
In this new edition of Canadian Trademark Law, renowned intellectual property expert Teresa Scassa discusses how these amendments have changed the pre-existing legislative framework and, consequently, modified the basic principles of trademark law.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reserve Collection KB 159 C79
Publication Date: 2010
The primary purpose of this book is to inform the debate on the future of copyright in the digital age: a professional resource for those seeking information on the importance and value of Copyright to the UK's Creative Industries and to promote understanding of the importance of those industries and their reliance on their ability to 'own' intellectual property through copyright legislation. The book contains articles and submissions by leading industry practitioners, lawyers and academics with practical experience of the importance of Copyright in the UK as well as those at the 'sharp'end as publishers and producers. It reflects the challenges to be faced with the development of the digital usage of copyright material as well as tracking the stationers' 450 years of involvement in the development of copyright, enshrined in law by the Statute of Anne 300 years ago.
Intellectual Property: The Law in Canada, Second Edition covers all aspects of intellectual property law in Canada, including copyright, industrial designs, trademarks, and related torts such as misappropriation of personality, patents, confidential information, plant varieties, integrated circuit topographies, international intellectual property, and overlaps between intellectual property rights.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Reserve Collection KB 157 I622 and online via NovaNet
Publication Date: 2014
Over the past two decades, globalization, digitization, and the rise of the Internet have each contributed to a new prominence for intellectual property law in public policy debates around the world. Questions about how intellectual property is controlled, licensed, used, and reused are all part of a growing public discourse that now engages far more than an elite cadre of lawyers. Because intellectual property law now trenches so deeply on issues of economics, culture, health, commerce, creativity, and intellectual freedom, it is no surprise that there is also a burgeoning literature on intellectual property issues that comes, not just from legal academics or lawyers, but from those trained in other disciplines. In the spring of 2012, the Centre for Law, Technology, and Society at the University of Ottawa hosted a workshop that sought to bring together academics from different disciplines interested in intellectual property law in order to stimulate discussion across disciplines, to encourage the development of collaborative efforts, and to produce a body of research that explores intellectual property law issues from explicitly interdisciplinary perspectives. The collection of papers in this book is the product of this workshop.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library KB 159 I35 and online via NovaNet
Publication Date: 2005
From Grokster to Google, copyright has emerged as one of the Internet's most challenging legal issues. Once limited to a select group of scholars, copyright now captures front page headlines as millions of Canadians consider its impact on education, technology, communication, and culture. As Canada embarks on a new round of digital copyright reform, this collection of 19 essays from Canada's leading copyright experts provides context and analysis of the latest reform proposals. Edited by Professor Michael Geist, an internationally-regarded authority on Internet and technology law, the collection reviews international copyright norms, assesses dozens of specific Bill C-60 provisions, and identifies potential future copyright reform initiatives. Completed immediately after the introduction of Bill C-60, this timely volume provides policy makers, lawyers, judges, educators, and interested Canadians with the tools and knowledge they need to participate in a copyright debate that will shape the future of the Internet, culture, and education in Canada.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library KB 157 V38 2011 and online via NovaNet
Publication Date: 2011
Since the publication of the first edition in 1997, David Vaver’s Intellectual Property Law: Copyright, Patents, Trade-Marks has become one of the most important treatises on the subject in Canada. It has been relied upon by scholars, practitioners, policy analysts and students alike, as well as those who use or rely on intellectual property, and has been cited as a leading authority by all levels of courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada. Now, nearly fifteen years later, Professor Vaver has produced a new and greatly-expanded edition that not only takes account of developments that have occurred in domestic and international law, but also provides an in-depth and engaging discussion of the profound changes in the social, economic, and technological environments in which intellectual property law operates. A non-circulating copy is also available in the Reference Collection (2nd floor).
ROBIC Canadian Copyright Act Annotated is a comprehensive reference work that explains the Copyright Act and provides guidance through annotation of the Act along with interpretation of case law and authorities. The text of each section is reproduced followed by related regulations, legislative history, purpose, comments, case law and list of cases relevant to the section, and a list of authors.
Fox on Canadian Law of Copyright and Industrial Designs is the most influential text on copyright law in Canada. This comprehensive statement of Canadian law and practice has been the foundation of the Canadian copyright research and argument for more than half a century.