Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library KB 22 CAN L88 and online via NovaNet
Publication Date: 2007
In Canada's Eastern Arctic and Greenland, the Inuit have been the majority for centuries. In recent years, they have been given a promise from Canadian and Danish governments that offers them more responsibility for their lands and thus control over their lives without fear of being outnumbered by outsiders. The Arctic Promise looks at how much the Inuit vision of self-governance relates to the existing public governance systems of Greenland and Nunavut, and how much autonomy there can be for territories that remain subordinate units of larger states.
This collection meets the need for an authoritative reference work to help researchers and students navigate and make better sense of an abundance of scholarship in comparative constitutional law. The collection is made up of four volumes which bring together the best and most influential canonical and cutting-edge thinking. Topics include constitution-making and amendment; the different structural components of constitutional governance (such as the relationship of legislatures to courts and the effects of different methods of judicial oversight); the interaction of constitutional law with transnational sources of law; and theoretical and practical aspects of constitutional legitimacy.
In our globalized era it has become impossible to deal effectively with constitutional law and related subjects such as fundamental rights, administrative law and political science without knowledge of foreign systems. A wealth of literature is available on practically all constitutional systems and the intricacies of their application. This, however, presents the constitutionalist with a formidable problem: Which foreign systems should I explore in order to make relevant comparisons, and how should I go about it? This book addresses the core problems of comparability and appropriate comparative methodology in the realm of contemporary constitutionalism.
The outcome is, however, not mere theorizing. Most of the text is devoted to an incisive application of the chosen comparative method to four geographically, historically, and culturally divergent, but thoroughly comparable, constitutional systems. In the course of the comparative exercise, contemporary constitutional dogma and constitutional mechanics are analyzed and explained, in many instances in their historical contexts, making the book itself a useful source of comparative and historical information.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library KB 22 CAN H71s and online via NovaNet
Publication Date: 2007
The definitive work on Canadian constitutional law, written by a respected constitutional law scholar. All aspects of the subject are thoroughly analyzed, including basic constitutional concepts, distribution of powers, civil liberties, and practice related issues.
This handbook provides a user-friendly introduction to comparative constitutional law. For each area of constitutional law, a general introduction and a comparative overview is provided, which is then followed by more detailed country chapters on that specific area. The subjects covered are: the origins and main features of constitutions * federalism and related concepts * governments, their parliaments, and their heads of state * judicial review, including the role of European law and human rights. The country chapters cover the constitutional systems of the US, the UK, Germany, France, and the Netherlands. Now in its third edition, the book is a helpful guide for students who are exploring comparative constitutional law, and it is a solid foundation for more advanced graduate-level courses. The book includes a table giving an overview of the systems discussed, a glossary and an index, model exam questions, fresh translations of the relevant constitutional texts, and a selection of important international treaty provisions.
Contains the English translations of some of the constitutions, accompanied by the original texts. Includes unnumbered supplement volume and Historic constitutions volumes. Also includes bibliographies.
Call Number: DAL Killam Library JF 51 D46 2006 and online via NovaNet
Publication Date: 2006
The variety of constitutional designs found in democratic governments has important effects on policy choices and outcomes. That is the conclusion reached in Democratic Constitutional Design and Public Policy, in which the constitutional procedures and constraints through which laws and public policies are adopted—election laws, the general architecture of government, the legal system, and methods for amendment and reform—are evaluated for their political and economic effects. Leading scholars, many of them pioneers in the new field of constitutional political economy, survey and extend recent empirical evidence on the policy effects of different constitutional procedures and restraints. Their findings are relevant not only to such dramatic changes as democratic transition throughout the world and the development of a European constitution but also to the continuing process of constitutional reform in established democracies. Using the tools of rational choice analysis, the contributors approach the question of constitutional design from public choice, new institutionalist, and new political economy perspectives. Drawing on empirical evidence largely from the OECD countries, the book analyzes such issues as the policy effects of direct (as opposed to representative) democracy, democratic accountability in presidential as compared to parliamentary government, bicameralism and its relation to stable policies, the relative effectiveness of centralized and decentralized governments, the civil and legal regulatory system as a nation's "economic constitution," and the link between constitutional stability and the amendment process.
Call Number: DAL Dunn Law Library Bibliography K 20 .A1 R46
Publication Date: 1989
This comprehensive, encyclopedic work is designed for the practitioner, scholar, & researcher & provides essential information on primary & secondary sources of foreign law- what it is, where to find it, & how to use it. The 6-book set contains information on over 200 jurisdictions around the world, from major nations to crown colonies, semi-independent states & supra-national regional organizations. The work is comprehensive in content & global in scope. Volumes 1 & 1A cover the Western Hemisphere (except the United States). Volumes 2 & 2A cover Western & Eastern Europe & the European Union. Volumes 3 & 3A cover Africa, Asia, & Australasia.
Perspectives and Limits of Democracy provides a summary of the third Vienna Workshop on International Constitutional Law. The first part of the book focuses on perspectives of the democratic concept beyond the nation state. In an international constitutional law perspective, the evolving concepts of democracy at an international level are a matter of particular interest. The so-called 'democratic deficit' of supranational and international organizations such as the EU, WTO, or other standard setting bodies beyond the state is ever more evident and has become a constant challenge. In the second part of the book, limits and challenges of democracies are discussed. The proceedings focus on aspects of traditional democracies like India, as well as on instruments to make new democratic systems more effective by using election observation missions. A special focus is laid on the influence of the European democratic concept on the states in southeastern Europe.