Classics

The key database for Classical Studies. L’Année philologique covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics—which includes early Christian texts and patristics—Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. Abstracts of journal articles are in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. Books entries often include tables of contents and book review information.

Dalhousie subscribes to JSTOR's Arts and Sciences I-VII, Business, Ecology and Botany, Language and Literature, and Life Sciences collections. These databases cover hundreds of journal title backfiles from 41 academic disciplines. It is a unique digital archive of journals, starting with the very first issues. The collection covers material from the 1800s up to a 'moving wall' of between zero and 8 years before current publication.

A fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations. Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and, those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture. Users can browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a Special Research Program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG® represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. All users must create their own personal accounts in order to access.

Taken from the renowned Cambridge Companions series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts in the field and used by students, scholars and non-specialists for twenty six years. Covers literature, philosophy, religion, classics, cultural studies, and music, ensuring a complete reference for all those working in the humanities. Includes over 500 titles, from Austen to Yeats, Martin Luther to Feminist Theology, Locke to Wittgenstein. Offering over 5000 essays in total; all fully searchable by author, title, topic or theme.

The DLD dictionary project has high aims: to present new techniques of research for consulting dictionaries and various lexica, both modern and ancient. The project covers both single-language dictionaries and multilingual ones. Further, it links the dictionaries to databases of texts and tools for analysing them.

Search for academic sources using the Google search engine.

Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.

Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Includes more than 300,000 articles published 1967- , all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location.

Iter's bibliography covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies are included. Also included are citations for monographs, and material published in monographs and collections of essays.

Iter Italicum, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Originally published in six volumes, between 1963 and 1992, it is an essential tool for any scholar working in the fields of classical, medieval and Renaissance studies.

A collection of digitized editions of texts concerning economic, political, legal, and ecclesiastical history, such as treasury accounts, chronicles, papal registers, etc. Most are from England, Ireland, and Scotland, although some are from Milan and the New World.

For over 100 years Oxford World’s Classics have brought readers closer to the world’s great literature, and for the first time they are being brought together on a single online resource.

*Key database for Philosophy* Indexes and abstracts the books and over 300 journals in the field of philosophy.

Search across all Project Muse titles for citations and articles of interest. Full-text of articles is available to only Dalhousie users

TOCS-IN allows searches of the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Search for selected references using Novanet to acquire full text.