LibGuides: Writing Centre Online Resource Guide: Grammar

Sentence Structure

Sentence types
This handout defines and explains four types of sentence (simple, compound, complex, and compound-complex) and presents examples of each.

Dependent Clauses: Adverbial, Adjectival, Nominal (Towson University)
This page, from Towson University, describes the many types of dependent clause and how they are typically used in sentences.

Last updated June 4, 2019 by KP Power, Dalhousie Writing Centre

A run-on sentence is a sentence that contains two independent clauses that are not separated by appropriate punctuation. A comma splice is a type of run-on sentence in which two independent clauses are joined by a comma. For more information on how to spot, avoid, or correct a run-on sentence, please see the following documents:

Run-on Sentences
A run-on sentence is a sentence that contains two independent clauses that are not separated by appropriate punctuation. This document contains advice on identifying, avoiding, and correcting this kind of error.
The Comma Splice
A comma splice is a kind of run-on sentence in which two independent clauses are incorrectly joined together by a comma. This document provides more information on how to spot and fix comma splices in your writing.
Avoiding Awkward Phrasing
A handout describing how to deal with wordy, confusing, or convoluted phrases in your writing

Last Updated June 5, 2019 by KP Power, Dalhousie Writing Centre

Active vs. passive voice
Active and passive voice are different ways of constructing clauses. In active voice, the subject of the clause performs the action. In passive voice, the subject of the clause receives the action. This document contains information on when/where it is appropriate to use active and passive voice in your writing.

University of Toronto- How to Use Active Voice in the Sciences
Sources indicating that passive voice is universally preferred in academic science writing are out of date. Scientific writers in many, but not all, fields/disciplines are increasingly encouraged to use the active voice where possible and where it is context appropriate. See this excellent resource from the University of Toronto Writing Centre.

Parallel structure involves using a consistent pattern of words when:

providing a list of ideas or examples
showing that two arguments have a similar level of importance
highlighting the difference(s) between two arguments

For more details on parallel structure, please visit this guide from the Purdue Online Writing Lab:

Purdue OWL: Parallel Structure

Parts of Speech

Singular or plural?
Nouns can be either singular or plural. A verb must always agree with the subject noun (i.e. a plural form of a noun requires the plural form of the verb).This document contains more information on how to distinguish between singular and plural.

Kinds of Verbs

Modal verbs
Modal verbs, including words such as “can”, “could”, “will”, and “would", express likelihood, ability, permission, and obligation. This handout features a guide to using modal verbs in your writing, as well as many examples.

Reporting Verbs (University of Adelaide)
Academic writing focuses heavily on the use of verbs to convey action. This document from the University of Adelaide (especially the chart on the second page) gives you advice on "choosing your verbs carefully".
British Council--'to' infinitives
A verb in infinitive form usually starts with the word 'to'. This resource provides a guide to when this verb form is best used

Verb Tense

Verb tenses
A verb's tense indicates the point in time when the action takes place. This chart provides examples of English verb tenses and describes the situations in which they are most appropriately used.

Active Verb Tenses
from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University

Verb Agreement

Singular or plural?
A verb must always agree with the subject noun (i.e. a plural form of a noun requires the plural form of the verb).This document contains more information on how to distinguish between singular and plural.

Last updated June 5, 2019 with contributions from Kate Power, Dalhousie Writing Centre

Prepositions
A preposition is a word that modifies nouns, pronouns, adjectives, or verbs to provide information about time, space, or direction. This document provides more information and specific examples.

Articles
Articles are words that come before a noun and indicate whether the noun is specific/non-specific, as well as singular/plural. This document provides information about using articles in your writing along with specific examples.

Articles, Determiners and Quantifiers
from Capital Community College in Hartford, Connecticut

The Gerund-Participle
Gerunds and participles are words derived from verbs which express action but do not function as verbs in a sentence. A gerund is a verb that functions as a noun in the context of a sentence. A participle is a verb which functions as an adjective or adverb. This handout gives an overview of how to use these kinds of words in your writing, as well as examples of common errors.

British Council--Adjectives
A comprehensive guide to adjectives and their use
Purdue OWL--Adjectives with Countable and Uncountable Nouns
Purdue OWL: Adjectives and Adverbs
A guide to distinguishing adjectives and adverbs

Capital Community College: Conjunctions
A comprehensive guide to different kinds of conjunction from the Capital Community College in Hartford, Connecticut

Online Grammar Resources

Useful Links

Grammar Instruction from Purdue OWL
Grammar Bytes
Interactive, online grammar exercises
Grammar for Academic Writing
workbook from the English Language Teaching Centre at the University of Edinburgh (94 p.)

Writing Centre Online Resource Guide

Contact us: