Latin American Studies

for country and subject directories, a search engine, and links to other search engines and web sites in Latin America

from Georgetown University, PDBA is a preferred source of political information on the region

a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population & to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative of partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides users with access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

improving access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America, this portal includes working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web"

From Harvard's Widener Library, Ttese pamphlets are valuable primary resources for students & researchers working on Latin American history.

The Cuban Heritage Collection at the University of Miami collects, preserves, and provides access to primary and secondary sources of enduring historical, research, and artifactual value which relate to Cuba and the Cuban diaspora from colonial times to the present.

Library of Congress' online collections encompassing Latin America, the Caribbean, Hispanics and Portuguese in the United States, the Iberian Peninsula, and other places where Iberian culture dominated and has survived

An archival collection at the University of Texas at Austin, Harry Ransom Center

an American organization devoted to changing U.S. policy toward the countries of the Americas by basing our relations on mutual respect, fostering dialogue with those governments and movements with which U.S. policy is at odds, and recognizing positive trends in democracy and governance

a London-based independent research and publishing organisation working to broaden public understanding of issues of human rights, development, culture and social & economic justice in Latin America and the Caribbean

The Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP) is a consortium of research libraries that seeks to increase free & open access to information in support of learning & scholarship in Latin American Studies.

An international forum for the scholarly discussion of Latin American History. It is a member of the H-Net Humanities & Social Sciences Online initiative and affiliated with the Conference On Latin American History (CLAH).

an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the US Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the USA.

a joint project from the University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries extensive collections and the Panama Canal Museum's rich collection of Panama and Canal Zone materials

The photographs in this online exhibition are a sample of 419 photographs at the Massachusetts Historical Society that were taken and collected by members of the Atkins family in Cuba between 1884 and 1958. This collection, the Atkins Family Photographs, is a unique visual record of life and work on sugar plantations in Cuba during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. In addition, these photographs also capture the changing face of Cuba before and after the Spanish-American War.

This exhibition provides insight into indigenous cultures, the drama of the encounters between Native Americans & European explorers and settlers, and the pivotal changes caused by the meeting of the American & European worlds

focusing on the digitization and study of colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts

the ancient Maya invented a calendar of remarkable accuracy and complexity