LibGuides: Oceanography: Grey Literature

Grey Literature

According to the Grey Literature International Steering Committee, grey literature is:

Information produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing i.e. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body.

This kind of literature can include:

Reports
Presentations
Government Documents and Reports
Newsletters
Emails or Letters
Policy Briefs
Theses
Conference Proceedings

Government Documents

Waves: The Catalogue of the Libraries of Fisheries and Oceans Canada. This link opens in a new window
Union catalogue of Fisheries and Oceans Canada libraries. References published and unpublished literature on fisheries, aquatic sciences, and nautical sciences with an emphasis on Canada.
Federal Science Library (Canada) This link opens in a new window
The Federal Science Library (FSL) is a one-stop, self-serve portal where you can access library services and search the print collections and repositories of seven science-based departments and agencies from a single place. Wherever possible, departmental publications, reports, data sets and other content are freely available for anyone to access or download.
Sustainable Development Goals Online This link opens in a new window
Sustainable Development Goals Online (SDGO) is an interdisciplinary collection of digital content, including Taylor & Francis’ books and journals across all disciplines, themed around the SDGs. SDGO includes more than 12,000 selected articles and chapters in an online library covering the 17 SDGs, plus teaching and learning materials (presentations, videos, case studies, teaching guides, and lesson plans). It was created in partnership with United Nations agencies and guided by an international Advisory Board comprised of academics, policy-makers, government, NGOs and more. It has major updates twice yearly in April and September.

TRAIL - Technical Report Archive and Image Library (USA)
An initiative to digitize and provide access to the fulltext of US federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.

Finding Dissertations and Theses (tabs are listed by location of completion)

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global database
Includes citations for theses and dissertations from Canadian and US institutions, as well as the United Kingdom and Ireland. The full-text of many dissertations and theses is available from 1996 onwards. If the full-text is not available, try Googling the title; the pdf may be freely available in the online repository of the degree candidate’s university. Another option is to order a copy of the thesis through the Dalhousie Libraries' document delivery service.
Theses Canada Portal
This site from Library and Archives Canada allows you to identify theses written in Canada from 1965 onwards.

Many Dalhousie masters theses and doctoral dissertations are available for electronic download through the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database (see "Canada / US/ UK" tab). Recent Dalhousie content (2010 onwards) is more likely to be available in the DalSpace repository (see link below).

Print copies of Dalhousie theses are available for viewing in the Special Collections department on the 5^th floor of the Killam Library. For more information regarding copies of Dalhousie masters and doctoral theses, refer to the "Special Collections" link below:

DalSpace Repository Thesis Collection
To view full list of thesis titles, click on Browse by Titles.
Dalhousie Thesis Collection (University Archives & Special Collections)

OAIster
Full-text access to theses, journal articles, conference proceedings, and many other resources that are freely available from electronic collections around the world.
Australia Trove
To limit the search results to theses, scroll down the page, and from the Format dropbox, select "Theses". The results wil include theses produced by postgraduate research students as well as Honours students at Australian & New Zealand universities.
DART-Europe E-Theses Portal
Full-text theses from universities in numerous European countries.
TEL: Theses en Ligne Database
Full-text theses from post-secondary institutions in France and several other countries.

Graduate Thesis Regulations - Dalhousie Faculty of Graduate Studies

Graduate Thesis Information
The Faculty of Graduate Studies SharePoint site has information about formatting, submission, and deadlines regarding graduate theses. Login required.
Graduate Study Room Bookings (4th floor Killam Library)