Architecture Reference Books - Including Time Savers and Cost Data - Architecture Research Guide

Using the Sexton Reference Collection

The Sexton Library has many architecture books in the Reference Collection. These books cannot be borrowed, but they are an excellent starting place for built heritage research. Typical items in the reference collection include:

Encyclopedias
Dictionaries and thesauri
Major architectural publications
Large-format books

When you use reference books, remember to cite individual entries if possible and to use the indexes to search for your keywords.

Time Savers and Graphic Standards @ Sexton Library

Architectural Graphic Standards
Call Number: Available in the Reference collection at: TH 2031 A84 2016 REF
Time Saver Standards for Architectural Design, Technical Data for Professional Practice
Call Number: Available in the Reference collection at: TH 151 T55 2005 REF
Time Saver Standards for Architectural Design, Technical Data for Professional Practice: ONLINE version
Publication Date: 8th ed., 2005
Time Saver Standards for Building Types
Call Number: Available in the Reference collection at: NA 2760 T56 2001 REF

Construction/Building Terminology @ Sexton Library

Dictionary of Architecture and Construction
Call Number: Available in the Reference collection at: NA 31 H32 2006 REF
Dictionary of Architecture and Construction: ONLINE version
Publication Date: 2006
Illustrated Glossary of Architecture, 850-1830
Call Number: NA 31 H34 1966
A Visual Dictionary of Architecture
Call Number: Available in the Reference collection at: NA 31 C44 2012 REF

Encyclopedia @ Sexton Library

Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture
Call Number: Available in the Reference collection at: NA 680 E53 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture: ONLINE version
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of World Architecture
Call Number: Available in the Reference collection at: NA 200 S47 1994 REF
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects
Call Number: Available in the Reference collection at: NA 40 M25 1982 REF, 4 volumes

E-Reference

You can find encyclopedia entries, images, biographies, and concise histories using electronic reference sources. Try checking the following resources.

E-Reference sources and reference sources in general are excellent places to start your research. Use them to identify keywords and search terms.

ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than 1 million images, with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists and artists' estates from around the world.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An excellent general knowledge and general research alternative to Google and Wikipedia. Search 882 sources -- videos, animations, images included.

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
Oxford English Dictionary
An electronic version of the OED, 2nd edition, published in 1989 and updated quarterly with new entries and revisions.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Dalhousie users have access to parts of this collection of Oxford reference materials. After searching for your topic in Oxford Reference Online, tick the boxes beside "Unlocked" and "Free" on the left side of the page to see full text results.

Visual Dictionary Online
20,000 terms with contextual definitions; 6,000 full-color images of a wide variety of objects rom all aspects of life;

Cost Estimating @ Sexton Library

Building Construction Cost Data
Call Number: Available in the Reference collection at: TH 435 B84 2016 REF
Heavy Construction Cost Data
Call Number: Available in the Reference collection at: TH 435 R76 2016 REF
RSMeans Estimating Handbook: ONLINE
Publication Date: 3rd edition, 2009
Site Work & Landscape Cost Data
Call Number: Available in the Reference collection at: TH 435 M43 2016 REF