Skip to Main Content

Architecture

A Guide to Library Resources for Studies in Architecture

Welcome!

Hi!

This is a Library Guide for Architecture. You will find on these pages those resources most helpful to you when researching subjects in architecture. Please never hesitate to contact me if you need any kind of assistance. I am very happy to help!  

A tip! Attend Library Instruction Sessions coming up. Registration is free:

Three Architecture Database Trials this November!

The Dalhousie Libraries is trialing three exciting architecture databases. Two of the databases contain photos, drawings, plans, sections, and elevations, information crucial to architecture students. The third database is a collection of illustrated talks with the ‘greatest minds in modern architecture’.

** Please give these databases a try and let me know what you think!

Inspiration from DETAIL Verlag is an online image and reference database for architects. It is a full-text database with photos, drawings, plans, and technical information sourced from DETAIL print magazine. The database, fully optimized for mobile devices, currently contains 3700+ projects that are completely downloadable as PDF files. The database is updated monthly; each year more than 156 new projects/references are added. You can access Inspiration here: https://dal.ca.libguides.com/inspiration

Building Types Online comes from Birkhäuser, a leading publisher for architecture materials based in Switzerland, and from Bauwelt, Germany’s leading architectural journal. The database includes 1,400 case studies and thematic articles, 6,300 floor plans, sections, elevations and other drawings, plus 2,700 photographs. Building types include housing, schools and kindergartens, offices, industrial buildings, research and technology buildings, museums, churches, libraries and hospitals. The database has a strong focus on residential buildings with many international examples. New case studies and building types are added annually. You can access Building Types here: https://dal.ca.libguides.com/btonline

Pidgeon Digital began in 1979 as a series of tape/slide talks created by Monica Pidgeon, the editor of Architectural Design from the mid-1940s to the 1970s. She wanted students of architecture and design to have the opportunity to share the thinking of world leading members of the architectural community, to whom they would not otherwise have access. In 2006 the illustrated talks were digitized. Pidgeon Digital is fully searchable and currently consists of 265+ illustrated talks and 200+ transcripts. New talks are added regularly. Notable speakers include 17 Pritzker Prize Winners and 15 RIBA Royal Gold Medal Winners. You can access Pidgeon Digital here: https://dal.ca.libguides.com/pidgeon

 

The Very Basics: Getting Started @ the Dal Libraries

1. Your DalCard is also your library card. Image of a DalCard.Before you can use your DalCard to sign out books or to use different library services, you must register your DalCard. Registering is very easy. Go to the Library you will use most often and register in person, or, register online.


2. You can borrow as many books as you like, there is no limit. There is also no charge to borrow books from the Dal Libraries.


3. There are 5 Libraries at Dalhousie University. You can use any of these libraries. You do not have to use the library that corresponds to your field of study.


4. Your Banner number is your unique Student Identification (ID) number while at Dalhousie. You also have a unique Library ID -- it starts with the numbers 21264, and can be found at the bottom of your DalCard (the highlighted area in the DalCard shown above). You also have a Library password -- it will automatically be the last 4 numbers of the phone number you used when you registered your DalCard. 

If ever you are asked to 'sign-in' to your Library Account, you need to use your Library ID and password -- the long number on the bottom of your DalCard starting with 21264, and the last 4 digits of your phone number. When you sign-in to your Library Account, you can renew your books, see what books you have on loan, among other functions.


5. You do not have to be in one of the Dal Libraries to use electronic resources like e-books, e-journals, and databases. You can access e-resources from your residence room, study areas, office, or anywhere on the Dal campus, just as if you were in one of the Libraries. If you are at home -- off campus -- you will need to login to access Dal Libraries' e-resources (once you click this link, scroll down the page to see this info!)

Quick Links

♦ Sign into your Novanet Library Account

Sign in to view your Novanet library account. See books you have out on loan and renew your books. Login is the 14-digit barcode number on the bottom of your DalCard starting 21264. The password is usually the last 4 digits of your phone number, unless you have set a separate password.

 Information about Off-Campus Access to Dal Libraries' Electronic Resources

♦ Document Delivery

An excellent PDF summary of the main points of the 7th edition (2020) of the APA citation style.

♦ Citation Style Guides

Links to the most common style guides: APA, MLA, Chicago, NLM, IEEE

♦ Dalhousie University's Writing Centre

♦ Study Skills | Tutoring

♦ Academic Integrity at Dalhousie University

       Dalhousie's website to educate and to promote academic integrity.

The Chicago Style

The Chicago Manual of Style is used in many disciplines that prefer using footnotes or endnotes to cite sources.

Here are some resources to help you to use the Chicago Style:

1. Chicago Manual of Style Online, 17th Edition

2. OWL at Purdue: Chicago Style, 17th Edition 

4. Chicago Style Citation of Canadian Government Documents (from Simon Fraser University)

5. Chicago Style Videos (from Memorial University)