LibGuides: Internal Medicine: PDA & Mobile

Mobile links

The following links are to webpages specifically designed to be viewed on a mobile device.

PubMed Handheld
Search PubMed from a hand-held device.
Breast Cancer Risk Assessment - Mobile
Use the National Cancer Institute's BCRA tool from your mobile phone.
Journal Abstracts
Read journal abstracts (via PubMed) on a hand-held device.
Medical Images Database
Search the Medical Images Database from your hand-held device.
PICO Handheld
Search PubMed via PICO on a hand-held device.
Pneumonia Severity Index Calculator
Calculate the Pneumonia Severity Index from your hand-held device.

PDA tools and software

The Department of Medicine has created a comprehensive website with reviews of a variety of programs for hand-held devices. It includes both free and commercial software.

Archimedes Medical Calculator
Archimedes provides you with 70 preprogrammed formulas that include specialties such as Cardiology, Pharmacology, Hematology, FEN, Pediatrics, Pulmonary and Renal. Free registration required.
Diagnosaurus
Decision support tool with 1000+ differential diagnoses, searchable by disease, symptom or organ system.
To access this tool as a mobile app, download the Access Medicine app and sign in with your personal Access Medicine account. Free registration required.
Epocrates Rx
Free software compatible with several hand-held devices. Includes continual free updates and medical news. Software provides dosage information, interactions and adverse reactions, pharmacology, etc. for over 3,300 drugs. Requires free registration.
Geriatrics at Your Fingertips
Geriatric-specific information for your PDA. Free registration required.
The Johns Hopkins POC-IT (Point of Care Information Technology) Antibiotic (ABX) Guide
Antibiotic information database for your PDA. Available for Palm, PocketPC and Blackberry. Free registration required.
Medical Mnemonics
A free PDA download containing 1500 medical mnemonics from around the world.