Skip to Main Content

Nursing (Undergraduate)

Recommended nursing resources and services from the Dalhousie Libraries and beyond.

Key Databases to help you to identify journal articles in health & medicine

Canadian Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Consists of Canadian Publishers Collection, Canadian Public Policy Collection, and Canadian Health Research Collection.
CINAHL Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is a core resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982.

PubMed
Indexes over 4000 biomedical journals. Dates covered: late 1950's-present. Features MeSH, a powerful controlled vocabulary.
more...less...
Links to fulltext are incomplete, consult Novanet and E-Journals for holdings.
Circumpolar Health Bibliographic database

Indigenous Studies Portal (USask) This link opens in a new window
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

Native Health Database (University of New Mexico)
Health Professions library guides at the Dal Libraries
The above link will lead you to more extensive lists of Health-related databases and resources.

How to select Search Words to represent Indigenous communities

Creating Provincial and Territorial Search Filters to Retrieve Studies Related to Canadian Indigenous Peoples from Ovid MEDLINE

Featured Books, Reports, and Documents

Strong helpers' teachings :the value of Indigenous knowledges in the helping professions by Cyndy Baskin
Call Number: GN 476 B315s 2016 (Kellogg Library); HV 40 B38 2016 (Killam Library)
ISBN: 9781551309422
Publication Date: 2016
Indigenous Healing: exploring traditional paths by Rupert Ross
Call Number: E 78 DC2 R825i 2014 (Kellogg Library); E 78 C2 R6858 2014 (Killam Library)
ISBN: 9780143191100
Publication Date: 2014-05-20
The Path of the Medicine Wheel by Kathy L. Callahan
Call Number: WB 890 C156p 2010 (Kellogg/CHEB Reserve Readings)
ISBN: 9781426916281
Publication Date: 2010-02-01

Medicine unbundled :a journey through the minefields of Indigenous health care by Gary Geddes
Call Number: WX 11 DC2 G295m 2017 (Kellogg Health Sciences Library)
ISBN: 9781772031645
Publication Date: 2017
A Cree Healer and His Medicine Bundle: revelations of Indigenous wisdom ; healing plants, practices, and stories by David E. Young; Robert Dale Rogers; Russell Willier
Call Number: E 99 C88 Y68 2015 (Killam Library); WZ 100 Y69c 2015 (Kellogg/CHEB Reserve readings
ISBN: 9781583949030
Publication Date: 2015-06-09
Introduction to Aboriginal Health and Health Care in Canada: bridging health and healing by Vasiliki Douglas
Call Number: A 300 DC2 D736i 2013 (Kellogg Library)
ISBN: 9780826117977
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Aboriginal Health in Canada: historical, cultural, and epidemiological perspectives by D. Ann Herring; James B. Waldram; T. Kue Young
Call Number: RA 449 W35 2006 (Killam Library); WA 300 W167 2006 (Kellogg Library))
ISBN: 9781442687288
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Clearing the Plains: disease, politics of starvation, and the loss of Aboriginal life by James W. Daschuk
Call Number: E 78 C2 D37 2013
ISBN: 9780889772960
Publication Date: 2013-05-13
Determinants of Indigenous peoples' health in Canada: Beyond the social by M. Greenwood et al.
Call Number: RA 450.4 I53 D48 2015 (Killam Library); WA 300 DC2 D479 2015 (Kellogg Library).
ISBN: 9781551307329
Publication Date: 2015
Globalization and the health of Indigenous peoples :from colonization to self-rule by Ahsan Ullah
ISBN: 9781317587316
Publication Date: 2017
Sounding the Alarm: Remote Area Nurses and Aboriginals at Risk by Jennifer Cramer
Call Number: WY 106 C889s 2005 (Kellogg Library)
ISBN: 9781920694364
Publication Date: 2005-03-29
Aboriginal primary health care :an evidence-based approach by Sophie Couzos, Richard Murray
Call Number: W 84.6 C872a 2008 (Kellogg Library)
ISBN: 9780195551389
Publication Date: 2008

Yatdjuligin: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander nursing and midwifery care by Odette Best; Bronwyn Fredericks
Call Number: WA 300 KA8 Y31 2018 (Kellogg Library)
ISBN: 9781316642177
Publication Date: 2017-12-06
Birth on the land :memories of Inuit elders and traditional midwives by Beverley O'Brien
Call Number: E 99 E7 O13 2012 (Kellogg Library)
ISBN: 9781897568101
Publication Date: 2012

Seven Fallen Feathers: racism, death, and hard truths in a northern city by Tanya Talaga
Call Number: E 98 S67 T35 2017
ISBN: 9781487002268
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
Calling our families home: Métis peoples' experience with child welfare by Carrière and Richardson, eds.
Call Number: HV 745 A6 C14 2017
ISBN: 1926476107
Publication Date: 2017

Spirit Bear Plan

Struggles, Strengths and Solutions: Exploring Food Security with Young Aboriginal Moms by Cyndy Baskin
Publication Date: 2008

Decolonizing trauma work: Indigenous stories and strategies by Linklater, Renee
Call Number: WA 305 DC2 L756d 2014 (Kellogg Library); RC 451.5 I5 L55 2014 (Killam Library)
ISBN: 9781552666586
Publication Date: 2014
Journey to healing :Aboriginal people with addiction and mental health issues : What health, social service and justice workers need to know by P. Menzies & L. Lavallée, Eds. ; foreword by Elder Vern Harper.
ISBN: 9781771141604
Publication Date: 2014
Aboriginal healing in Canada: Studies in therapeutic meaning and practice by James B. Waldram, ed.
Call Number: RC 451.5 I5 A26 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Healing Traditions: The mental health of Aboriginal peoples in Canada by Laurence J. Kirmayer (Editor); Gail Guthrie Valaskakis (Editor); Georges Erasmus (Foreword by); Georges Henry Erasmus (Foreword by)
Call Number: WA 305 DC2 H434 2009 (Kellogg Library)
ISBN: 9780774815239
Publication Date: 2008-12-05

Journey to healing: Aboriginal people with addiction and mental health issues : what health, social service and justice workers need to know by P. Menzies & L. Lavallée, Eds. ; foreword by Elder Vern Harper.
ISBN: 1771141603
Publication Date: 2014

Health glossary for Nunavut educators =Tukisigiaruti timittiaringnirmut by Burry, Andrea.
Call Number: W 15 B972h 2015 (Kellogg/CHEB Reserve Readings)
ISBN: 9781897568316
Publication Date: 2015

Aboriginal Health - Sources of Reports/Statistics

Anishinaabe Bimaadiziwin Research Program - Report 2013-2015
An initiative of the Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre, and Sioux Lookout First Nations Health Authority.
First Nations Child and Family Caring Society of Canada - Indigenous Knowledge Portal
Aboriginal peoples in Canada: Key results from the 2016 Census
Diverse family characteristics of Aboriginal children aged 0 to 4
The housing conditions of Aboriginal people in Canada
Aboriginal Health Research - Reports and Publications (Health Canada)
Aboriginal Health and Well-being (Statistics Canada)
Nutrition North Canada Program - Reports
"...Government of Canada subsidy program to provide Northerners in isolated communities with improved access to perishable nutritious food."

Raven's Children IV: Aboriginal Youth Health in BC by Tourand, Smith, Poon, Saewyc, & McCreary Centre Society
Publication Date: 2016
Social Determinants of Health for the Off-reserve First Nations Population, 15 years of age and older, 2012. by Christine R. Rotenberg
Publication Date: 2016
Statistics Canada.
Inuit Health: Selected Findings from the 2012 Aboriginal Peoples Survey by Susan Wallace
Publication Date: 2014
Statistics Canada.

Tanya Talaga, author of "Seven Fallen Feathers".

"Rights Before We Talk Reconciliation: Reporting on Indigenous Issues in Canada"

News / Websites

Indigenous Health Research Advisory Committee
Committed to facilitating the development of authentic partnerships and enhanced understanding between Indigenous communities and researchers.
More than One in 100 Nunavut Infants have TB
Canada guilty of forging crisis in Indigenous foster care
Appointment of New Vice Chair, Institute Advisory Board on Indigenous Peoples’ Health.
Funding announcement - Atlantic Indigenous Mentorship (AIM) Network
Institute of Aboriginal Peoples' Health
First Nations Child and Family Caring Society of Canada
Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami

Last Updated: Apr 11, 2024 1:35 PM
URL: https://dal.ca.libguides.com/nursing
Print Page

Subjects: Health

Tags: distance_services, nursing