LibGuides: Bioethics: Databases

Core Databases

Below are the core databases for topics in bioethics and health care ethics.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
PubMed - MEDLINE with Dal journal links This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic access to 4600 biomedical journals indexed at the National Library of Medicine. Coverage is international and dates from the early 1950s. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. Search OldMEDLINE for citations from 1951-1965; citations earlier than 1951 can be found in the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index located at the Kellogg Library.
CINAHL Full Text This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health database. Good for more patient-centered research.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
European biomedical database
CBCA complete This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. With more than 1,600 titles, CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in current event

Additional Databases

Depending on your topic, below are some other databases that you might consider.

Environment databases
Sources of information on the environment.

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts from 6,000 international journals in most life science disciplines, including agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, and toxicology.
Compendex: Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. Consult this database for articles on bioethics and genetic engineering and/or biomedical engineering.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles
Index to legal periodicals & books This link opens in a new window
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, documents, reports, and statistical compilations about public policy, social policy and international development.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers the academic, research and practice literature in psychology.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts 2300+ journals and newspapers in many subject areas including: arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's studies.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Key database for Sociology Provides access to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied.