Dentistry and Dental Hygiene

Provides bibliographic access to 4600 biomedical journals indexed at the National Library of Medicine. Coverage is international and dates from the early 1950's.

Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Records start in the early 1800's and go all the way to our daily updates. Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine.

Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source provides fulltext access to over 250 journals and a number of ebooks. Subject coverage includes: Cosmetic Dentistry, Dental Anesthesiology, Dental Public Health, Endodontics, Forensic Odontology, General Dentistry, Geriatric Dentistry, Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopaedics, Pediatric Dentistry, Periodontics, Prosthodontics.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, with a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases. Plain language summaries are also available.

All residents of Atlantic Canada have full access to The Cochrane Library. Visit the Libraries' blog to learn more.

CINAHL is a core resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982.

Thank you to the Dalhousie School of Nursing for partnering on this subscription. The JBI is a recognized leader in evidence based information, and contributes to improvements in the quality and outcomes of health care through promoting and supporting evidence based practice. The JBI database includes full text systematic reviews, protocols, evidence summaries, best practice recommendations and consumer information and more. In addition it provides a variety of tools to help appraise literature, develop systematic reviews, create journals clubs and more. Please use the LOG OFF button to EXIT.

There are over 17 million records indexed in EMBASE (1974-) and MEDLINE (1966-) with over 2,000 records added daily. All records are full indexed with EMTREE terms in 10-14 days. Each record contains the full bibliographic citation, indexing terms and codes; 80% of all citations in EMBASE include author-written abstracts. The EMBASE journal collection is international with over 6500 biomedical journals from 70 countries. EMBASE features comprehensive coverage of: Drug Research, Pharmacology, Pharmacy, Pharmacoeconomics, Pharmaceutics and Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental) Basic Biological Research Health Policy and Management Public, Occupational and Environmental Health, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science, Biomedical Engineering and Instrumentation.