Skip to main content

Newspapers

Dalhousie University Libraries have a good collection of newspapers. They are arranged by title, by searchable databases & indexes and by historical collections.

Research Bootcamp for Research Assistants & Teaching Assistants

Register now for the 3rd annual Dalhousie Libraries Research Bootcamp! Bootcamp sessions are free to Dalhousie graduate students.

Sessions will run from May 15-June 13 and will cover library basics; literature reviews (searching & writing); citation tools; writing abstracts & grant proposals; copyright, open access & academic publishing; legal resources; engineering resources; Pubmed & other health sciences databases; humanities resources; Canadian data & stats; grey literature; research data management; Excel; data visualization; conference posters.

Full list of sessions and the schedule
Free registration

Getting started

Dalhousie University Libraries has a good collection of newspapers.

Most current newspapers are available via online searchable databases. Historical papers are in microfilm collections or individual newspaper databases.

The Killam Library receives two papers in print, the Chronicle herald (Halifax) and the Globe and mail (Toronto).

The Chronicle herald (Halifax) online archives is available from the Eureka (formerly Newscan) database, commencing with 1999. The microfilm backfile collection is held at the Halifax Public Library, Spring Garden Road and the Nova Scotia Archives Office, University Avenue .

The Killam Memorial Library retains online and  microfilm backfiles of: the Globe and Mail (Toronto), Le Devoir, Gazette (Montreal), New York Times and The Times (London) covering various dates. Other titles, which we hold, have been selected to support the teaching and research programs of the university.

Subject Guide

Joan Chiasson
Contact:
joan.chiasson@dal.ca
Killam Library

Dalhousie University

Finding Newspapers