The al-Sabah collection began in 1975 when Sheikh Nasser Sabah al-Ahmed al-Sabah purchased the collection’s first object, a mid-14th century enameled glass bottle he found in a London art gallery. The collection has now grown to more than 20,000 objects representing different chronological and geographical points from the Islamic world.
This exhibition highlights the richness and diversity of Islamic art through a range of artworks held in the collections of the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. These reveal how the visual arts help envision and implement a harmonious order of living in various Islamic cultures from the seventh century until the present day.
AMEEL is a Web-based portal and a digital collection of information for the study of the Middle East, including its history, culture, development, and contemporary face. Within this portal, Yale University Library integrates existing scholarly digital content with newly digitized resources to make such materials easier to find and use efficiently and freely.
Based at the University of Halle in Germany, the Middle East Virtual Library (MENALIB) is an information portal for Middle East, North African, and Islamic Studies. It provides access to electronic fulltext materials or electronic bibliographical records of printed materials and manuscripts.
The University of Jordan is both a modern as well as old institution of Higher Education in Jordan. Established in 1962, the University has, since then, applied itself to the advancement of knowledge no less than to its dissemination. In its capacity as a comprehensive teaching, research and community-service institution, the University of Jordan enables its students to choose from a wide range of programs- more than 3500 different courses are offered by some 18 faculties.
Oriental Studies has a long history in Oxford. The Bodleian and other libraries have acquired magnificent collections. The Oriental Institute, Institute for Chinese Studies, Bodleian Japanese and Indian Institute Libraries offer loan collections in their respective fields. Adjacent to the Oriental Institute is the Ashmolean Museum, which houses superb collections. The Sackler Library includes the principal library for Egyptology and Ancient Near Eastern Studies.
SOAS, University of London is the only Higher Education institution in Europe specialising in the study of Asia, Africa and the Near and Middle East -- The SOAS Library – recently refurbished – has more than 1.5 million items and extensive electronic resources for the study of Africa, Asia and the Middle East, and attracts scholars from all around the world
Our vision is for a Canadian society that is inclusive and respectful of all. Our mission is to promote Canadian interests by articulating the potential of Canadian Arabs and advancing their contributions to society. Part of our work aims to educate Canadians about Canadian Arab culture, heritage, and contributions to society.